Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Connected to MP, but no pilots visible  Topic is solved

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby Isaak » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:48 am

Specs:
PC1:
- OS: Windows 10 Home
- CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00 GHz; 32 GB RAM
- GPU: 2x Nvidia GeForce GTX 780Ti (4screens)
- Flightgear 2017.2.1

PC2:
- OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
- CPU: Intel Core i5-3450 @ 3.10 Ghz; 8 GB RAM
- GPU: Nvidia GeForce 660 Ti (2 screens)
- Flightgear 2017.2.1

Commandline PC1:
Code: Select all
Options passed on the command line:
--launcher
Options set in the launcher:
--aircraft-dir=C:/Users/Isaak/Documents/FlightGear/Aircraft/777
--aircraft=777-300ER
--fg-scenery=D:/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/OMDB
--fg-scenery=D:/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/TNCM
--fg-scenery=D:/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/WSSS
--fg-scenery=D:/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/YSSY
--fg-scenery=D:/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/ZBAA
--fg-scenery=D:/Flightgear/Terrasync
--fg-scenery=D:/Flightgear/Scenery
--fg-scenery=D:/Dropbox/Flights/FMS
--fg-aircraft=D:/Flightgear/Aircraft
--fg-aircraft=C:/Users/Isaak/Documents/FlightGear/Aircraft
--fg-aircraft=C:/Users/Isaak/Documents/FlightGear/Addons/ATCChatter/sounds/UK
--fg-aircraft=C:/Users/Isaak/Documents/FlightGear/Addons/ATCChatter/sounds/BR
--airport=EGLL
--parkpos=A11111
--disable-auto-coordination
--console
--prop:/sim/multiplay/txhost=mpserver01.flightgear.org
--prop:/sim/multiplay/txport=5000
--callsign=OO-ISA
--enable-terrasync
--download-dir=D:/Flightgear/Terrasync
--disable-fullscreen
--geometry=640x480
--prop:/sim/rendering/multi-sample-buffers=true
--prop:/sim/rendering/multi-samples=4
--disable-rembrandt
--prop:/sim/rendering/shaders/skydome=true
--lon=4.487997
--lat=50.904647
--heading=155
--config=C:\Users\Isaak\Documents\Flightgear\Addons\ATCChatter\config.xml
--prop:string:/addons/ATCChatter/path=C:\Users\Isaak\Documents\Flightgear\Addons\ATCChatter
--fg-aircraft=C:\Users\Isaak\Documents\Flightgear\Addons\ATCChatter/sounds/UK
--native-fdm=socket,out,45,192.168.0.212,5510,udp
--native-ctrls=socket,out,45,192.168.0.212,5511,udp
--httpd=8080
--telnet=5401
--season=summer
--enable-real-weather-fetch


Commandline PC2:
Code: Select all
Options passed on the command line:
--launcher
Options set in the launcher:
--aircraft=org.flightgear.fgaddon.777-300ER-fo
--fg-scenery=C:/Users/Isaak/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/OMDB
--fg-scenery=C:/Users/Isaak/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/TNCM
--fg-scenery=C:/Users/Isaak/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/WSSS
--fg-scenery=C:/Users/Isaak/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/YSSY
--fg-scenery=C:/Users/Isaak/Dropbox/Flights/Custom Scenery/ZBAA
--fg-scenery=D:/Flightgear/terrasync
--fg-scenery=D:/Flightgear/scenery
--fg-aircraft=D:/Flightgear/Aircraft
--fg-aircraft=C:/Users/Isaak/Documents/FlightGear/Aircraft
--airport=EGLL
--parkpos=A1111
--disable-auto-coordination
--prop:/sim/multiplay/txhost=mpserver01.flightgear.org
--prop:/sim/multiplay/txport=5000
--callsign=OO-ISA1
--enable-terrasync
--download-dir=D:/Flightgear/terrasync
--disable-fullscreen
--prop:/sim/rendering/multi-sample-buffers=true
--prop:/sim/rendering/multi-samples=4
--disable-rembrandt
--native-fdm=socket,in,45,,5510,udp
--native-ctrls=socket,in,45,,5511,udp
--fdm=null
--season=summer
--enable-real-weather-fetch


Today I installed FG 2017.2.1, working fluently except for the multiplayer connection. I appear on mpmap and my flight is logged on FGtracker.ml, but I cannot see any other pilot: I see other pilots on mpmap, but they don't appear in the pilot list, nor can my pc's "see" each other. I use the 777-fo on PC2 for extra viewpoints (cockpit setup), but the model of PC1 is not loaded.

Did anybody else experience this issue? multiplayer compatibility is set to "visible to all". I 've experienced this issue since yesterday, when I installed 2017.2.1 on PC1. Before yesterday everything worked fine. Switching mpservers doesn't help.
Isaak
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby Octal450 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:41 pm

I have this issue constantly. Not sure why, but its not just you.

I've been using MPServer 14 since yesterday, and that works fine.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby Isaak » Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:27 pm

After multiple attempts, I 'm now able to connect to the mp-network, thanks for telling me mpserver14 is working! :)
Isaak
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby Clive2670 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:20 pm

I always tend to use mpserver15, North Point Hong Kong, which if I'm not mistaken is the direct server (Hazuki) to which all other mpservers send their data to, No doubt someone will correct me if I am wrong. But this server always seems to be the most reliable with very few "downtimes" out of all the servers. Bear in mind that mpserver15 has to be set within the settings on the GUI because if you look for it on multiplayer settings once flightgear is loaded and running it will not appear! Hope this helps?
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby PINTO » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:27 pm

@Clive2670, the hub server is mpserver01, not mpserver15. :)
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby drR0ckso » Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:12 am

This may be a bug in fgms 0.13.0. I have not tested 0.13.1. I noticed that two similar planes within a degree of latitude and longitude didn't show up in the pilot list to each other. I reverted mpserver51 to version of 0.12.1a1, and the clients were able to see each other again.

Clive, you are geographically closer to mpserver01. It should have the lowest latency for you.
I speak only for myself.
drR0ckso
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:14 am

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby J Maverick 16 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:49 am

Still not working fine...
Hope it get's fixed soon :?
Cheers, Maverick
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (current project: F-16).
Using Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack.
Follow me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16, Google+ and YouTube.
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, OPFOR96
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: macOS 10.12

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby Clive2670 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:46 am

PINTO wrote in Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:27 pm:@Clive2670, the hub server is mpserver01, not mpserver15. :)
I knew someone would correct me if I was wrong!!! But even so 15 seems more reliable overall!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby drR0ckso » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:55 pm

If you change the configured server, you may see the effects of different versions of fgms. The bug should be fixed in 0.13.2.

If they are different types of aircraft (i.e., not the same model), you may have another issue or AI traffic turned on.

https://fgtracker.ml/mpserverstatus/
I speak only for myself.
drR0ckso
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:14 am

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby J Maverick 16 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:26 pm

Why after nearly two weeks it hasn't been solved already? Are there any updates on the current status of the MP network and status?
I'm starting to get annoyed by this...
Regards, Maverick
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (current project: F-16).
Using Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack.
Follow me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16, Google+ and YouTube.
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, OPFOR96
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: macOS 10.12

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible  

Postby PINTO » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:01 pm

Looks like it got solved with this commit. Just gotta wait for the servers to update.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby J Maverick 16 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:12 pm

Sounds good, hope it gets back up soon.
Cheers, Maverick
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (current project: F-16).
Using Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack.
Follow me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16, Google+ and YouTube.
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, OPFOR96
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: macOS 10.12

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby Octal450 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:46 pm

WONDERFUL!

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Connected to MP, but no pilots visible

Postby drR0ckso » Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:34 am

I have updated mpserver19 and mpserver51 to version 13.2. As long as pilots are using 2017.2.1 and not 2017.1.x, the new servers should work as documented. Also disable AI Traffic (& Nimitz) under the AI menu and AI Traffic under the Multiplayer menu.

Another caveat when running multiple clients behind the same IP address is that the server can handle multiple connections to it's IP address and port, but the firewall may be confused.

Set PC 1 to:
--prop:/sim/multiplay/rxport=5000

Set PC 2 to:
--prop:/sim/multiplay/rxport=5001

This way, traffic coming back across the router/firewall/NAT will be distinct. Connection tracking on UDP streams in routers... last I checked, it didn't exist. The rxport may be an arbitrary number as long as it doesn't interfere with existing UDP/IP services (i.e.: 53 would be a very bad idea). If you have control of the firewall, it might also be advantageous to setup a single port mapping from the edge router doing NAT to the machine on the inside.

As for MPServer status, Hazuki has been nice enough to provide us with a page or two monitoring a few servers:

https://fgtracker.ml/mpserverstatus/ (deprecated)

https://fgtracker.ml/mpserverstatus2/

Oh, and Clive, mpserver19 is close to you.
I speak only for myself.
drR0ckso
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:14 am


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest