Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby unclesal » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:59 pm

Hi there.
fgfs version 2017.1.0, Revision: 2b1336cd39bc1dd08d031dde80411654063d0ef9
I try to connect to multiplayer server using .fgfsrc but can not to do it. I have follow:
Code: Select all
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000.
--multiplay=in,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000

causes an error Cannot enable multiplayer mode: binding receive socket failed. (errno 99)
If I will comment the "in" string and leave "out" only - there is no error, it seems to be ok, i see "Multiplayer mode active!" at the console,
but my plane does not appear at the world map. Using multiplayer dialog gives a good and right result, but I want to connect to local
fgms server. Internal FGFS multiplayer dialog does not allow me to specify a "localhost" address. Where is my mistake in the .fgfsrc parameters?

BTW, I would be very grateful if you tell a link to an example of how to create a few my own planes ( and ground vehicles) in the fgms server.
It is advisable to python if it's possible.
unclesal
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:23 am

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:10 pm

are you using the --launcher? if yes, why not just tick the MP check box there? then select your server and put in your call sign in the provided field boxes... these options are on the settings page...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5501
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby PINTO » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:18 pm

You can't bind both the in and the out ports to 5000. Try this:
Code: Select all
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5001
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby AndersG » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:38 pm

PINTO wrote in Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:18 pm:You can't bind both the in and the out ports to 5000. Try this:
Code: Select all
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5001


Well, I'm pretty sure the port in the out line refers to the port on the server (and, IIRC, will use whatever unbound port locally if it doesn't send using the in port).
However, there could be something else already using port 5000 locally.
Btw. the in line is normally not required. It is only useful in special use cases (and if you have to ask if you are in one - no, you most likely do not need it).
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2435
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby PINTO » Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:50 am

@AndersG, I don't think that's right.

If I omit the --in line, it doesn't let me connect.

Launching with:
Image

Here's the pilot list after launch, which doesn't include me:
Image

And even the MP gui options are greyed out:
Image

Including the --in line fixes all this.

As far as ports go, if I set them both to 5000, this shows up in the console:
Image
So, yes, the in and out ports need to be different.

(this is with 2016.4.1)
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby AndersG » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:51 am

PINTO wrote in Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:50 am:@AndersG, I don't think that's right.
...
(this is with 2016.4.1)


I see. It used to be correct but apparently the behaviour has changed since. I can understand the decision to require an in-line to enable receiving of MP data, but I can't see any reason why the out-line determines anything about the local port used to send MP data - it should be all about the destination.
Even further back (before the period when the in-line was optional) it was common practise to specify the same port in both the in- and out-lines.
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2435
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby unclesal » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:18 am

Thanks to all.

Code: Select all
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000.
#--multiplay=in,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5000


It seems to work fine, I saw me myself on the map.
I went to look for the documentation how to create their aircraft inside fgms.
unclesal
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:23 am

Re: connecting to multiplayer server via .fgfsrc

Postby AndersG » Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:05 pm

unclesal wrote in Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:18 am:Thanks to all.

Code: Select all
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000.
#--multiplay=in,10,mpserver01.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,,5000


It seems to work fine, I saw me myself on the map.
I went to look for the documentation how to create their aircraft inside fgms.


Ah, and I should have looked closer at the OP: the in-line should not contain the server IP address as the address there should denote a network interface on the local machine (or be omitted to bind to all local interfaces).
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2435
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron