Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:40 pm

I downloaded 2.8.0.5 from Download Central. And I have a problem with this:
When I am using some aircraft (DHC-2, Sikorsky 76C++, ec130, DC-3 and some others) I cannot be seen in Multiplayer. I am visible on MPMap, but in multiplayer nobody cannot see me. Tested by 2 people with 1.9.1 and 2.9, also by me with 2.8 (launching 2 instances on a single computer, this way usually works except the situation stated).
What can solve this problem?
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby polly » Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:15 pm

There is a default model, defined in preferences.xml, that is displayed for any multiplayer model not in the user's fgdata:
    <multiplay preserve="y">
    <chat type="string" preserve="y">Hello</chat>
    <transmission-freq-hz type="string">118500000</transmission-freq-hz>
    <chat-display type="bool" userarchive="y">true</chat-display>
    <chat-menu include="ATC/chat-menu-entries.xml"/>
    <write-message-log type="bool">false</write-message-log>
    <freeze-on-replay type="bool">true</freeze-on-replay>
    <default-model type="string">Models/Geometry/glider.ac</default-model>
    <callsign type="string" userarchive="y">callsign</callsign>
    <selected-server type="string" userarchive="y"/>
    </multiplay>



I'd guess people cannot see you because the glider, which is small, is being displayed. Maybe you can verify this on your two-instance system by replacing the default model in your preferences.xml with something larger. That won't help other people but then you can track down whick multiplyer models they are missing.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:00 pm

polly - I didn't mean that.
What I mean: I am not seen in FG Multiplayer at all - no pilot list record, no model (I know the thing about glider, that's not the case, many of the unseen models are standard ones, like beaver). What's strange - in AI/models my multiplayer instance exists. And I can usually be seen for a short time in the beginning, but then disappear.
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby polly » Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:03 pm

I'm sorry I couldn't help. My only other thought would be if there were nasal errors showing on the console, a nasal problem in an un-related area once caused me to have problems in multiplayer.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:29 pm

No nasal errors either in my or others' console, unfortunately for me - a weird thing. I may be unattentive, but didn't notice anything with log-level info (more I can't set since FG gets unresponsive).
But thanks anyway.
By the way, lots of really strange glitches opened in 2.8: if keyboard has been set to several trimming values (like 'a'' for 0.01 aileron trim left, q for 0.001 etc.), then only one of them works in each side, others give trim level 1 (quite unpleasant to find at cruising); in my scenery there appeared a hole instead of a taxiway - was no in 2.4, appeared in 2.8. Unexplainable things for me...
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby polly » Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:26 pm

I spent some time in Tallinn yesterday, watching for Alral. Sure enough when he starts up his dhc2 is visible but his plane vanishes after a minute or so while his icon remains visible on mpmap so I suppose his MP packets are getting to mpmap but are not getting to me. It isn't the 'glider' problem because I replaced by default with a 747 to make everything easily spotted and some MP Mig that I don't have was properly replaced with the 747.
I started up two dhc2 MP instances on my local machines and both stayed visible at the Tallinn location so I can't replicate this problem with my setups.
Can anyone offer hints why MPMap could still show a plane when other players cannot ? It's only certain models that are affected.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:44 pm

I would say it's rather not a problem with MPMap->Client, but with the handling on the client's side. Running two instances of FG showed me that the person who doesn't see the other still has the multiplay record in ai/models. Though it may be left from the time it was briefly shown, can't say for sure...anyway, the problem exists, and I fail to give any reasonable explanation. I would understand if I wasn't seeing other people, but vice versa...
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby polly » Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:04 pm

Yeah but No but ..
Then you'd expect the other clients to report not seeing people besides yourself ! I honestly don't know; I have seen orphan property tree items hang around until browser re-start ( when e.g. mis typing autopilot property names, etc ) . I'll try a packet sniffer if you want.
About the keyboard trim issue, I use the keyboard for trim adjustment but with incremental values rather than absolutes but if you want to post bits of your keyboard xml for your trim settings I could give it a try here, not that it would be an absolute proof since it's a different OS.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:57 pm

As I press q and e, it works OK, but if a or d, it instantly becomes '1' and I have to go quickly to the property tree to fix it until I fall...
Was not present in 2.4

Code: Select all
  <key n="97">
   <name>a</name>
   <desc>Aileron trim</desc>
   <binding>
    <command>property-adjust</command>
    <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
    <step type="double">-0.001</step>
   </binding>
  </key>

  <key n="100">
   <name>d</name>
   <desc>Aileron trim</desc>
   <binding>
    <command>property-adjust</command>
    <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
   <step type="double">0.001</step>
  </binding>
  </key>

  <key n="113">
   <name>q</name>
   <desc>Aileron trim</desc>
   <binding>
    <command>property-adjust</command>
    <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
   <step type="double">-0.01</step>
  </binding>
  </key>

  <key n="101">
   <name>e</name>
   <desc>Aileron trim</desc>
   <binding>
    <command>property-adjust</command>
    <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
   <step type="double">0.01</step>
  </binding>
  </key>
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby polly » Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:15 pm

They work OK here. Does adding:

Code: Select all
  <repeatable type="bool">false</repeatable>


help ?
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:27 pm

Thanks. I will try.
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:43 am

Doesn't seem to work - still aileron trim jumps to 1 any time I press 'a'...
By the way, anyone has any ideas about the multiplayer thing? Tried to reinstall, no effect...am I the only one with this problem?
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby godarklight » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:41 am

I have this problem too, However i run the release/2.8 git version. Ive only seen it with the 787 (or older 787-8?) though, however the 787-8 from 2.8 works.

I can see them on the multiplayer map, i cant see them in my pilot list but i know some other people can. Perhaps they ran an older version?.
godarklight
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 9:31 am
Callsign: DARK-L
Version: 2.12
OS: Linux

Re: Multiplayer problems in 2.8.0.5

Postby Alral » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:21 pm

Get the problem even on 2.9.0 nightly build number 751. Though another people can join with the problematic crafts (dhc2, e.g.), and I can see them. But I myself remain invisible in multiplay while using these crafts.
Usually it occurs this way: I join, the other client can see me for some time, but than I disappear. Nothing in console on either side.
Any possible explanations?
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest