Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby LesterBoffo » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:29 pm

I'm finding that with "local" mp carrier players running the Nimitz near KSFO that when I try to select the carrier from the MP list it says that there are no mp carriers with range, even though the closest one is only 8 miles distant.

This feature used to work flawlessly in 2.4, what changed?
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby Gijs » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:47 pm

Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby AndersG » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:51 pm

FlightGear got more efficient with respect to loading AI models - MPCarrier relies on Nasal code attached to the MP/AI model - which now isn't loaded until you are within 10000m of the MP carrier player. Increase /sim/rendering/static-lod/ai-detailed to find carriers further out.

/Anders
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby LesterBoffo » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:54 pm

The Google discussion doesn't supply a clear answer though, does it? I'll check my console again.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby LesterBoffo » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:56 pm

AndersG wrote in Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:51 pm:FlightGear got more efficient with respect to loading AI models - MPCarrier relies on Nasal code attached to the MP/AI model - which now isn't loaded until you are within 10000m of the MP carrier player. Increase /sim/rendering/static-lod/ai-detailed to find carriers further out.

/Anders


I tried this while circling over the MP carriers 'spot' at about 1000' feet up and it still didn't load, so I'll check my lod settings again.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby AndersG » Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:05 pm

LesterBoffo wrote in Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:56 pm: I tried this while circling over the MP carriers 'spot' at about 1000' feet up and it still didn't load, so I'll check my lod settings again.


Hmm.. that must be another problem. Do you see any suspicious Nasal errors in the console?
See comment 12 here http://code.google.com/p/flightgear-bugs/issues/detail?id=555 for some information of what to expect in the console (the patch there should be in 2.6.0).

/Anders
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby LesterBoffo » Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:37 pm

Well I tried increasing my AI/MP lod distance to 28,000 meters and after about 5 minutes the more distant of the two carriers became available. Should they both be available to chose between?
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby AndersG » Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:11 pm

LesterBoffo wrote in Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:37 pm:Well I tried increasing my AI/MP lod distance to 28,000 meters and after about 5 minutes the more distant of the two carriers became available. Should they both be available to chose between?


Yes. Did you get the startup messages from one or both MP players in the console?

/Anders
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby sgofferj » Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:22 pm

I had another funny issue today. I was flying out of KSFO to the MP Nimitz CVN-76. Alltogether there were 3 (three) MP Nimitz online. 4.5NM away, I hit pause and selected the CVN-76. It appeared but when I tried to land, I went through it. Console showed a bunch of Nasal errors related to an F-14 but nothing about the Nimitz. I was using an EC135. I had this error once before.
FG 3.1 GIT / Opensuse 12.3 / Phenom II X4 / GForce GTX560
Stefan's little Flightgear corner | The Finnish Weather Center | Wolves in Finland

Working on: EFTP
COM: IAX2:home.gofferje.net/stefan (MO-FR 0700-2000 UTC, SA+SU 0900-2000 UTC)
sgofferj
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: EFTP
Callsign: OH-SW
Version: 3.1 GIT
OS: Opensuse

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby someguy » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:53 am

I've noticed that with 2.6, I have to wait a minute or so before pulling down the menu to select an MP carrier, or it will say there aren't any.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: Downloaded 2.6 MP Carrier, not available in MP?

Postby LesterBoffo » Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:34 pm

AndersG wrote in Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:11 pm:
LesterBoffo wrote in Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:37 pm:Well I tried increasing my AI/MP lod distance to 28,000 meters and after about 5 minutes the more distant of the two carriers became available. Should they both be available to chose between?


Yes. Did you get the startup messages from one or both MP players in the console?

/Anders


Yes I checked this after you asked and I'm getting what appears to be the correct console messages. But as Someguy has already mentioned it takes a few moments to link up to a working mp-carrier, sometimes it only selects the first one in the pilot's list if there is more than one online.
User avatar
LesterBoffo
 
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:02 pm
Location: Western USA
Callsign: LesBof
Version: 2016.1
OS: WinXP 32 bit


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests