Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer  Topic is solved

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer  

Postby Turbo » Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:46 pm

Hello

Since I updated my computer from Mac OS 10.5 to 10.7, I had to update my flight gear to 2.4. However now I am unable to connect to the multi-player. I can see other users on the MP Map but not on my pilot list. how do you find your command line on mac?
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Johan G » Mon Jan 02, 2012 5:26 am

Welcome to the forum! :D

As I'm not a Mac user, I can only guess. Have you re-entered any Multiplayer settings after you re-installed FlightGear? :wink:
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5480
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:04 pm

I am not sure what I did but its works now. I just played with my settings until it worked. It just might have been a glitch. Thanks for you help
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Jackson » Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:39 am

Turbo wrote in Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:04 pm:I am not sure what I did but its works now. I just played with my settings until it worked. It just might have been a glitch. Thanks for you help

What settings did you change. I'm having exactly the same problem.
Jackson
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:12 am

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:38 am

I am having the same problem again. It was working one minute now its not. It loads the MP map but I don't see myself onit nor do I have any users on my user list when I am in flight gear. I am on am Mac Book Pro using Mac OS 10.7.4. Any ideas on what to do?
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Philosopher » Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:47 am

Did you set your IP address? On the multiplayer tab of the Mac launcher, right above the FGCOM settings, there should be a field called "Your Mac:". On the Mac, go inside System Preferences to Network and find where it says: IP Address: [number here]. Copy that number and paste it into the previously-mentioned field in the Mac launcher.
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Mon Sep 03, 2012 4:12 am

IT WORKED Thank You

Can I suggest that you add this to a FAQ somewhere as I see this question pop up many times.
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Philosopher » Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:42 pm

Glad I could help, I've actually had this problem a few times myself :). As for the FAQ, you'll have to talk to Hooray or someone on that, I don't know the way around flightgear's help stuff enough (plus I don't have a wiki account yet :)).
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:12 am

Well I back to this problem. I already tried changing my IP but it still doesn't work. I know my IP changed for some reason. I keep fooling around with it.
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:39 pm

Update:
I am unable to open FG when I am not on MP. So there may be under lining problem.
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:06 pm

This is what I see in the log.

config file not found:Location"
Error reading properties:
Failed to open file
at preferences.xml
no aircraft specified
Config option parsing failed ...

Whats going on, can anyone help me?
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Philosopher » Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:15 pm

Do you have anything specified in the last tab of the launcher ("Others")?
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:02 am

Nothing written in that box. This is odd because one second i was able to play than I quit and try and play again and I cant play MP or by myself.
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Turbo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:33 pm

I was trying to uninstall FG so I could reinstall it to see what happen, however when I read the instructions I was unable to find the following files:

$HOME/Library/Preferences/net.sourceforge.macflightgear.plist
GUI Launcher's configuration file
$HOME/.fgfs/
Kind of like cache / configuration data for FlightGear

This is the source:

http://macflightgear.sourceforge.net/ho ... ments/faq/

Could this be the problem?
Turbo
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Unable to Conect to Mulitiplayer

Postby Philosopher » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:54 pm

For the .fgfs/ directory, that's in your home directory but it's hidden, so see my post here about it: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8157#p171127. However, I doubt that a complete reinstall will be necessary, I would start by looking in $FG_ROOT/preferences.xml and seeing if anything is amiss. Also, developers would be better at answering this question (ahem, Hooray ;)). I'll also get a moderator to split this, so it might get more views/responses.
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Next

Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests