Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

only sometimes the multiplayer works

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

only sometimes the multiplayer works

Postby sanni » Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:22 pm

Hey all,

I'm using archlinux on a Toshiba Notebook.
When I start Flightgear the multiplayer only works sometimes.
Sometimes it works after a few minutes or a little bit more. But everytime not for a long time.
The content of my rc-file (don't use fgrun):
Code: Select all
--fg-root=/usr/share/flightgear/data
--fg-scenery=/usr/share/flightgear/scenery/
--airport=KSFO
--runway=10R
--aircraft=uh1

--control=keyboard
--enable-game-mode
--disable-intro-music
--disable-hud-3d
--disable-horizon-effect
--disable-enhanced-lighting
--disable-distance-attenuation
--enable-ai-models
--fdm=yasim
--in-air
--random-wind
--enable-real-weather-fetch
--disable-clouds3d
--disable-fullscreen
--shading-flat
--prop:/sim/menubar/autovisibility/enabled=1
--geometry=1600x850
--visibility=25000
--bpp=24
--fov=65
--timeofday=noon
--fog-nicest
--disable-random-objects

--atlas=socket,out,5,localhost,5500,udp
--multiplay=out,10,mpserver03.flightgear.org,5000
--multiplay=in,10,archbook,5000
--callsign=sanni
--dme=nav1


btw: a message appears:
Cannot start scenery download. Local cache directory is undefined.

Can't find anything about the cache dir. How can I define it?

Any hints?
User avatar
sanni
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Germany
Callsign: D-Sanni
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: ArchLinux

Re: only sometimes the multiplayer works

Postby kuifje09 » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:27 am

No answer yet.. I will try a little bit.

Do you also run terrasync or atlas.
The errormessage you get makes me think so, but you did not tell.
Even more strange, I cannot find the error message in any of the executables. ( version 2.3 fg ,0.4.8 atlas/map, terrasync does not tell the version )
Maby your problem is version dependent ?
Could even be a network problem, do you use a proxy ?
( When I use a proxy i have also some problems. )
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: only sometimes the multiplayer works

Postby Blairdean » Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:44 am

Couple ideas...

Is archbook defined in your /etc/hosts file? You might also try using localhost or 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost. If multiplayer is intermittent, it could be a problem at the server. Have tried using another mpserver?

For your cache problem, does your user account have write access to the FG-SCENERY directory?

Blair
Blairdean
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 2:51 pm
Location: Fitzroy Harbour, Ontario
Callsign: CAblair
Version: GIT
OS: Ubuntu

Re: only sometimes the multiplayer works

Postby kuifje09 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:28 pm

When I read this again, I think you also need to setup a seperate dir for the scenery download.
That's recommended.
so create /usr/share/flightgear/scenery2 ( as example )
and add it to your startup :
--fg-scenery=/usr/share/flightgear/scenery/:/usr/share/flightgear/scenery2

Make shure you can write it....
kuifje09
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 pm


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest