Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

I see everybody in multiplayer !!!  Topic is solved

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby 439Tiger » Tue May 31, 2011 2:30 pm

Hi All,

I was wondering if there is a way to set some parameters in multiplayer? I would like to have the option of not seeing chatter from anybody I'm not likely to encounter in my flight...Something like if >500nm, don't show. Just a thought.
Last edited by 439Tiger on Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: Is it possible to set parameters in multiplayer ???

Postby Gijs » Tue May 31, 2011 2:46 pm

:?: FlightGear multiplayer chat is (or should be) limited to 100nm... Please check hte pilot list to make sure you don't have the distance-bug (where it shows aircraft from all over the world).
AFAIK it is hardcoded.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9392
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Is it possible to set parameters in multiplayer ???

Postby 439Tiger » Tue May 31, 2011 4:46 pm

Well, at the moment I see over 30 pilots, the closest to me is at over 800nm :?

Image
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: Is it possible to set parameters in multiplayer ???

Postby Gijs » Tue May 31, 2011 5:28 pm

What callsign did you use? If it starts with "obs" you will see/hear all aircraft on the server...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9392
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Is it possible to set parameters in multiplayer ???

Postby 439Tiger » Tue May 31, 2011 5:56 pm

I used my regular callsign C-CYSG
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: Is it possible to set parameters in multiplayer ???

Postby 439Tiger » Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:18 pm

I'm still seeing over 30 pilots, with nobody anywhere near me... :evil: I'm using the GIT version I don't have OBS as a call sign, just my own C-CYSG... :?
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby eekpo » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:17 pm

canceled
Last edited by eekpo on Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
eekpo
Retired
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 8:23 am

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby 439Tiger » Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:22 pm

I'm not the only one having this problem it seems :?
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby 439Tiger » Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:07 pm

Has anyone figured this one out, with 73 users on at the same time, it gets annoying. :evil:
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby Groucho » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:47 am

Did you try that one here: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=9856&hilit=+disable ?
_____________________________________
Callsign: D-HARP
Flight locations: TNCM, TKPK, EDNY, LOWI
Aircrafts
Helis: EC130, Bo105, UH-1, R22
Twins/Jets: Aerostar, CRJ-200
User avatar
Groucho
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Airborne Lake Constance/Germany
Callsign: D-HARP
Version: GIT
OS: Kubuntu

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby 439Tiger » Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:41 pm

Hi Groucho,

I just did a test, I started FG with --disable-ai-models then... --enable-ai-models and I still see everybody... :evil:

I'm using my own call-sign, not obs, this is what my start-up parameters are:

Image

any idea why I'm still seeing everybody??? :?
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby polly » Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:41 pm

I've tried all your settings except callsign and jpg-httpd and I cannot get the error. I noticed you have two atlas out sockets running and it looks like you are using port 5500 twice, once for httpd and once for one of the atlas sockets.
I you like I'll try your callsign but I don't think it's a problem.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby 439Tiger » Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:56 pm

Hi Polly,

The Atlas socket out 5505 is actually the Terrasync info that goes to Atlas. The 5500 socket out does have two thing on it though. :shock:

I do believe it has something to do with GIT as I didn't have that problem with version 2.0 :?
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!

Postby Omega » Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Hi Bob,

Today i installed the latest developers snapshot and i had the same problem too, actually the solution is very simple: switch to another server but stay away from 02 :wink:

P.S : 100th post! :mrgreen:
The engine is the heart of an aeroplane, but the pilot is its soul.
User avatar
Omega
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:46 pm
Callsign: Star,EHAA_CT,MIA0176
IRC name: Omega
Version: GIT
OS: Vista,7,Ubuntu 10.04

Re: I see everybody in multiplayer !!!  

Postby 439Tiger » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:47 pm

Yep, that did it!!! :D I switched from 02 to 05 and now I don't see everybody :D

Thanks Omega 8)
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Next

Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest