Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby HUD » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:02 am

one day, i was using tracking view to view Thorium's landing on the nimitz.
it seemed like it was not going to be successful, but he landed on nothing !
he said that he had already landed , but i cant see that he landed !
these might simply just because of a multiplayer problem.
did FG v2.2.0 fixed this problem ?
User avatar
HUD
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:36 pm
Location: Kota Damansara, Selangor Darul Ehsan
Callsign: HUD
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Thorium » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:28 am

even I agree with HUD, many times he saw me like i was in mid-air and he was on Nimitz and it happened vice-versa also ! i saw him many times in mid air
please can anyone solve this problem on V2.0 ? :(

Thanks in advance by Thorium :)
Last edited by Gijs on Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No useless quoting please.
Callsigns
In General: Thorium
BRT Airlines: BRT0056(Site: http://www.brtvirtualairlines.com)
Thorium
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Callsign: Thorium
Version: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby HUD » Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:54 am

do you think we need a new Nimitz ? :P
User avatar
HUD
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:36 pm
Location: Kota Damansara, Selangor Darul Ehsan
Callsign: HUD
OS: Windows Vista

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Thorium » Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:18 pm

HMM... Just can't say Anything until professionals find any solution :roll:
Callsigns
In General: Thorium
BRT Airlines: BRT0056(Site: http://www.brtvirtualairlines.com)
Thorium
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Callsign: Thorium
Version: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Gijs » Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:28 pm

Might look like a stupid question, but are you absolutely sure that you landed the special "multiplayer carrier" and not the per-computer AI one?
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9391
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby someguy » Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:33 am

To expand on that: by default, each user's AI Nimitz starts in the same location, but immediately starts cruising away at 10 knots. Its location at any given time is a function of the time passed since the user spawned. Unless two users happen to spawn at exactly the same moment, their Nimitzes will not be in the same place, and each user will see only his own ship.

The way around this, which many of us prefer since we can share the Nimitz, is to set the ship's speed to zero in the nimitz_demo.xml file. However, that reportedly causes visibility problems with the mpcarrier Nimitz, and of course you can't practice landing on a moving ship.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Thorium » Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:27 am

Guys, how to differentiate between our computer's AI Nimiz and the Multiplayer Nimitz because, i see only 1 Nimitz crusing all the time ! :?: :!: :?
Callsigns
In General: Thorium
BRT Airlines: BRT0056(Site: http://www.brtvirtualairlines.com)
Thorium
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Callsign: Thorium
Version: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby snipey » Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:35 am

the mp nimitz is a special airplane that one of you needs to "fly" on a second pc, if i'm correct it is intstalled by default. to see it both of you also need to have the AI nimitz scenario on.
User avatar
snipey
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:05 pm
Location: Netherlands
Callsign: snipey
Version: GIT
OS: Ubuntu 11.04, Vista

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby someguy » Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:30 pm

MPNimitz will appear on mpmap, while AINimitz won't.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Thorium » Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:04 pm

someguy wrote in Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:30 pm:MPNimitz will appear on mpmap, while AINimitz won't.

Thanks dude :D ! before this, I NEVER saw Nimitz on MP map ! :oops: (shame to say this)
please can you even say how to deactivate our own AI Nimitz ? :)
Callsigns
In General: Thorium
BRT Airlines: BRT0056(Site: http://www.brtvirtualairlines.com)
Thorium
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Callsign: Thorium
Version: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby AndersG » Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:09 pm

Thorium wrote in Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:04 pm:
someguy wrote in Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:30 pm:MPNimitz will appear on mpmap, while AINimitz won't.

Thanks dude :D ! before this, I NEVER saw Nimitz on MP map ! :oops: (shame to say this)
please can you even say how to deactivate our own AI Nimitz ? :)


You shouldn't since MPCarrier will synchronize it with the MP pilot once you select him in the MPCarrier dialog.
If you do not have the corresponding AI carrier enabled MPCarrier will not work.

/Anders
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2454
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Thorium » Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:46 am

But the problem is,,, many of MP pilots cannot see the MP nimitz ! :( they think they land on MP nimitz, but they land on AI nimitz ! :| and even if they guy who uses MP nimitz, cannot be seen as happened day before yesterday ! many of us saw a MP pilot as MP Nimitz but when we reached to him, only some could see the MP Nimitz
Callsigns
In General: Thorium
BRT Airlines: BRT0056(Site: http://www.brtvirtualairlines.com)
Thorium
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Callsign: Thorium
Version: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby AndersG » Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:22 pm

Thorium wrote in Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:46 am:But the problem is,,, many of MP pilots cannot see the MP nimitz ! :( they think they land on MP nimitz, but they land on AI nimitz ! :| and even if they guy who uses MP nimitz, cannot be seen as happened day before yesterday ! many of us saw a MP pilot as MP Nimitz but when we reached to him, only some could see the MP Nimitz


Presumably those who saw him had selected him in the Multiplayer->MPCarrier dialog and those that didn't hadn't.

/Anders
Callsign: SE-AG
Aircraft (uhm...): Submarine Scout, Zeppelin NT, ZF Navy free balloon, Nordstern, Hindenburg, Short Empire flying-boat, ZNP-K, North Sea class, MTB T21 class, U.S.S. Monitor, MFI-9B, Type UB I submarine, Gokstad ship, Renault FT.
AndersG
 
Posts: 2454
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Re: Nimitz multiplayer problems. again.

Postby Thorium » Fri Apr 15, 2011 12:25 am

If you mean Network > MP Carrier Selection>and keep a check in the name of MP carrier then we all did it, including myself :( ! even out AI models were checked ! still we couldn't see that guy. Then I tried using UFO and pilot list to locate him Exacly ! :twisted: i moved with a speed of 20-30 KTS, still I couldn't see that Big carrier even though it was 0.5Nm in front of me ! :cry:

Thanks in Advance,
Thorium :wink:
Callsigns
In General: Thorium
BRT Airlines: BRT0056(Site: http://www.brtvirtualairlines.com)
Thorium
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Callsign: Thorium
Version: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest