Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

USS VINSON MP problem.

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby abc123 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:40 am

Hi, I have been flying flight gear for a while now and i have had this same question fr about a year now. When someone is flying a nimitz or Vinson how do i see them while they are controling then ship. I have the demo file, just how do i make it "active''?

Thanks,
James
abc123
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 9:50 pm
Callsign: abc123

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby jack » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:43 am

When you want help, don't flood the topic feed with 12 topics concerning the same question. This is called spamming, and nobody is going to help a spammer. :o I'd suggest you delete your other topic(s), and then maybe someone will help you.(Yes, I will help you once you delete the other topic.) :wink:
For Military Aircraft, Scenery, and more, visit http://alphashangar.co.nr/

'Retired' from FlightGear as of July 2011. You can contact me via my website if you'd like to pick up any old projects.
User avatar
jack
Retired
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Location: KLVK
Callsign: Alpha-J, Rescue1
Version: GIT
OS: Mac OS X

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby abc123 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:46 am

jack wrote:When you want help, don't flood the topic feed with 12 topics concerning the same question. This is called spamming, and nobody is going to help a spammer. :o I'd suggest you delete your other topic(s), and then maybe someone will help you.(Yes, I will help you once you delete the other topic.) :wink:


Im really sorry i hit back on my web browser and i looked at my post and it said i had 2 out. i will delete the other one. honest mistake. :D
abc123
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 9:50 pm
Callsign: abc123

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby jack » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:53 am

Ok. I'll offer my help in that regard.

First, to activate the Vinson scenario, on Mac, go to the "Others" Tab on the Flightgear launcher.
Image

Now, in the Box labeled "Command-line options",
Image

Type this in:
Code: Select all
--ai-scenario=vinson_demo


Start Flightgear, and the USS Carl Vinson scenario will be activated.(You must leave that code in the command line box for the scenario to stay active.)

Image

There ya go. :)
For Military Aircraft, Scenery, and more, visit http://alphashangar.co.nr/

'Retired' from FlightGear as of July 2011. You can contact me via my website if you'd like to pick up any old projects.
User avatar
jack
Retired
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Location: KLVK
Callsign: Alpha-J, Rescue1
Version: GIT
OS: Mac OS X

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby abc123 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:55 am

now with that code in the box will the mp vinson be visible?
abc123
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 9:50 pm
Callsign: abc123

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby jack » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:56 am

It should be visible. :)
For Military Aircraft, Scenery, and more, visit http://alphashangar.co.nr/

'Retired' from FlightGear as of July 2011. You can contact me via my website if you'd like to pick up any old projects.
User avatar
jack
Retired
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Location: KLVK
Callsign: Alpha-J, Rescue1
Version: GIT
OS: Mac OS X

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby abc123 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:58 am

jack wrote:It should be visible. :)

Alright thatnk you i will try it to see if it works
James
abc123
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 9:50 pm
Callsign: abc123

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby skrlxmau5 » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:11 am

Thanks for your help Jack, this really helped! :D
User avatar
skrlxmau5
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:04 am
Version: 2
OS: Mac OS X

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby Ronnoc » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:24 pm

Okay so im using Windows and im using Version2.4 and i am trying to be able to be chosen for the MPCarrier Selection but it will show for a minute then disappear how do i get people to choose me and let it just stay to where they can land on me and see me?
Ronnoc
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 2:40 am

Re: USS VINSON MP problem.

Postby someguy » Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:38 am

That sounds like a problem with the continuity of the MP network itself, not something under your control. It's similar to the lag you see in MP that makes other planes stop and go, except the hiccup clears the mpcarrier checkbox so the ship is invisible when it returns. It happened to me several times today. You can try connecting to a different mpserver, but I doubt it'll make much difference.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11


Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest