Board index FlightGear Support Multiplayer

METAR is not working.

Trouble getting online, setting up a server?
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- copy&paste your commandline.

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby xsaint » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:34 pm

I just retried...

I can confirm that it works... and i was on fgserver01

Just ensure u have these two entries
--proxy=58.17.71.121:8080
--httpd=58.17.71.121:8080


Ensure there are no other duplicate --proxy and --httpd entries

cheers
FlightGear Add Ons Can Be Be Downloaded From http://www.unitedfreeworld.com
Get Latest Updates Via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/unitedfreeworld
xsaint
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:59 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: xsaint
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows, Linux

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby redneck » Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:02 pm

The proxy I was using turned out to be bad. I'd say what it was, but I forgot to note which one I switched from.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby Chrison » Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:54 pm

redneck wrote:The proxy I was using turned out to be bad. I'd say what it was, but I forgot to note which one I switched from.


That was why I bit the bullet and installed the Squid proxy on my Linux system... I hunted for a working proxy on the Internet but found more non-working ones than working ones. And, the ones that I found that worked today maybe wouldn't work tomorrow. So, in the end, it was easier (for me at least) to just install Squid and be done with it.

It's been working just fine ever since. ;)

Regards,

Chris
"Even if you win the rat race, you're still a rat!" (Jackie Gleason)
My final approach announcement: "Seats up... Trays locked... Articles stowed... Seat belts on... And may God have mercy on your souls!"
Chrison
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: North America (Full-time RV'er)
Callsign: Chrison, AVA0066

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby Buckaroo » Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:40 pm

Thanks to all who contributed for the fix, and to Jomo for posting the how-to. Worked like a charm. :)

-Buck
Callsign: Buckaro(o)
Author: Lockheed 1049H Constellation, Grumman Goose, MD-81, Edgley Optica, Velocity XL RG, YASim Guide
User avatar
Buckaroo
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:45 am
Location: Bloomington IN USA
Callsign: Buckaro(o)
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows & Linux

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby m@RV » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:54 am

Seemed to have stopped working again. Tried some more proxies with no joy

ADD: 4th one on the list works. Ping is your friend
m@RV
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:47 pm

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby MAKG » Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:06 pm

I suspect the METAR source has changed. Look at the current METAR for Palo Alto, CA:

METAR KPAO 041547Z VRB05KT 30SM BKN180 05/00 A3041


This is from the airport itself, not from FG. Notice anything different? I've never seen "30SM" before; it always topped out at "10SM."
MAKG
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:11 pm
Location: California Central Coast

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby Alral » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:56 pm

Cannot make any proxy work - quite many are pingable, but that which can be pinged, cannot be reached by FG, happening all day today...Is it a problem specific for me or anyone else has the same?
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby someguy » Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:32 am

No, same here. I've given up on METAR, at least until 2.2 arrives.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby Alral » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:36 pm

Could anybody tell what proxy is/are workable now in FG (not just pingable - some proxies I can ping, but in FG they don't work).
Thank you.
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby redneck » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:24 pm

I've had results with 58.19.176.201:8080.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby Alral » Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:52 pm

Seems to work now. Thank you a lot.
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9312

Over borders that divide the earthbound tribes
No creed and no religion...
(Iron Maiden, "Coming home")


Constellation in the night sky
Alral
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:52 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Callsign: Alral
Version: 2.8
OS: Windows Vista

Re: METAR is not working.

Postby xsaint » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:30 pm

Yes...

Please select Proxy with port of 8080
It seems some other ports are blocked

cheers
FlightGear Add Ons Can Be Be Downloaded From http://www.unitedfreeworld.com
Get Latest Updates Via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/unitedfreeworld
xsaint
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:59 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: xsaint
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows, Linux

Previous

Return to Multiplayer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest