Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Haze

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Haze

Postby Robertfm » Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:21 pm

I use live weather but no matter what Meta says I am getting a haze effect when flying. It does clear when I get within 4 or 5 miles but it seems strange. I have checked various different settings in rendering, I have moved FG to another monitor but it is the same. Any advice would be helpful.

Image
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Haze

Postby Thorsten » Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:17 am

Yes.

So, looking at the image you post, we see a hazy day. They occur in nature just as well as in FG - so there's nothing wrong with the picture. What we don't know are all the settings you supposedly checked, the METAR string that was rendered here, what weather system was active etc.

In other words, we don't know any of the relevant things.

How often have you been asking for advice in this forum so far? And how often have you been told in response to provide the relevant information because otherwise questions can't be answered? I can recall such conversations more than once with you.

So please go and read up on how to make a useful bug report, and then make it - it'll improve your experience massively.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11748
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Haze

Postby V12 » Sun Sep 13, 2020 10:33 am

Robertfm :
Best results are with ALS Render and advanced weather with reasonable visibility limit setting.

Please post METAR report for that haze screenshot and Your weather config.

Default FG config has very limited visibility. I used AW visibility on 250 km and bare LOD 270 km, but for this setup You will need plenty of RAM, minimum is 16 GB, for long flight over Europe covered with dense CLC scenery is 32 GB reasonable value. Then in good weather You can obtain very nice visibility :
Image
without crazy swapping memory to the HDD.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2047
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Haze

Postby Robertfm » Sun Sep 13, 2020 10:49 am

I will try those settings . I don't have the meta data but from memory it was clear skies and 25km visibility. I was flying across the US over 1000 knm So it wasn't just one place.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Haze

Postby V12 » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:23 am

IMHO, 25 km visibility limit is Your problem.
This screenshot is from normal FL :

Image

Again, visibility limit is 250 km, but advanced weather scaled it down to 50 - 60 km, based on atmospheric conditions. And high altitude over Himalaya :

Image
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2047
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Haze

Postby Robertfm » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:32 am

I am flying in the UK at the moment with 250km setting in AW seems OK. Thanks. Is there a Wiki explaining AW.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Haze

Postby V12 » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:37 am

AW can depict nice limited visibility with haze :

Image

Wiki is very old but still usable : http://wiki.flightgear.org/Advanced_weather
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2047
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Haze

Postby Robertfm » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:48 am

Thank you.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests