Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Wheels always braked

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Wheels always braked

Postby rva1945 » Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:09 pm

Hi

I've just installed FG in a 12-04 Ubuntu system.

The wheels seem to be always braked. Tooggling the parking brake shows On/OFF state, applying brake with "b" shows the pedals braking and releasing, but to no avail. At full throttle it just points the nose down on the runway.

When landing (after manually setting the plane at altitude) I hear the wheels screeching and the plane stops quickly. In short, wheels are locked.

Please help!
Thanks,
Robert.
rva1945
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Wheels always braked

Postby wlbragg » Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:15 pm

If this is the c172p Cessna there is an issue that is not yet fixed. Cycle the "Allow Damage" choice in the GUI and it will free the brakes. Beware you still need to have the parking brake in the off position.

If this is a different aircraft we need to know which one and it wouldn't hurt to know your system specs and the version of FlightGear your running.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Wheels always braked

Postby rva1945 » Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:44 pm

Thanks for your answer.

I'm running FlightGear 2020.1.1
Yes it is the default plane, the C182.

What do you mean by
Cycle the "Allow Damage" choice in the GUI
?

How to?
rva1945
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Wheels always braked

Postby rva1945 » Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:47 pm

OK Shift+F10, done it and worked, thanks!
rva1945
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Wheels always braked

Postby jejaffe » Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:38 am

Training simulations, taxiing (where I am now), require to disengage parking brake (done, lever moved to horizontal), throttle up (did to 40%) and use brakes to stop aircraft (to confirm brakes work). No aircraft movement. Throttle to 100%. No movement. It appears brakes do NOT disengage despite change in lever position.

This appears to be the same Cessna 172P where shift-F10 fixes the problem. That fix does NOT work in the tutorial. At least I can't get it to work.

This is FlightGear 2020.1.3
Running under LinuxMint 20.0
on i5, 4core, 16GB machine

Vexing, OTOH at least I can't crash ... yet!
jejaffe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:23 am

Re: Wheels always braked

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:14 am

Turning damage off in the menu should fix it!
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Wheels always braked

Postby dilbert » Tue Sep 29, 2020 4:56 pm

I've encountered the problem in planes other than the Cessna.
When it occurs, I do a Control, Alternate, Delete; but click "Cancel" without terminating the program in the task manager. This usually puts me back in the program with brakes released.
dilbert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: KBFM, Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 220.3.2
OS: WIN 10


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests