Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Newbie question - joystick/steering sensitivity?

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Newbie question - joystick/steering sensitivity?

Postby claes » Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:51 pm

Hi,

I am quite new to flight simulators. I tried the XPlane demo and now I have tried Flightgear, with the Cessna airplane. I am using the Thrustmaster HOTAS X Joystick.
I find that in Flightgear the steering is very sensitive, and it is really difficult to do the small adjustments I think is needed to control the airplane in a stable way.
It seems the needed joystick movements are so tiny that it is almost impossible to perform without overdoing it.
Granted, I have not much experience but I wonder if this is a realistic or expected behaviour, or if I should look into the joystick sensitivity.
I don't want to make it easier than it really is but I also do not want to make it harder.

Claes
claes

Re: Newbie question - joystick/steering sensitivity?

Postby danielHL » Wed Jun 10, 2020 8:19 pm

Welcome to FlightGear and the forum :-)

The expected control inputs are very tiny, that's correct - but realistic, in most cases. Some people say the C172 (which I suppose you are flying since it's the default aircraft) is too "twitchy", but others say that's realistic. If you want an easier novice-pilot friendly aircraft I'd recommend the "Piper PA28-161 Warrior II (160HP)" which you can get from the default hangar. That one isn't so sensitive...

Cheers,
Daniel
danielHL / D-FMPW
danielHL

Callsign: D-FMPW
Version: next

Postby claes » Wed Jun 10, 2020 8:28 pm

Thanks for replying. If this is the correct experience, I will persist and see if I can get better at it. This is the same plane as in the Xplane demo I tried so seems like a popular one in flight simulators and maybe a good one to become familiar with. But it is harder than I thought.
claes

Postby Knüppelrührer » Wed Jun 10, 2020 8:53 pm

Welcome and good luck with getting better!