Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Free Air Map

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Free Air Map

Postby hmt1 » Wed May 27, 2020 8:32 am

WoodSTokk wrote in Wed May 27, 2020 12:36 am:
hmt1 wrote in Wed May 27, 2020 12:21 am:I note that if I have "--generic=socket ..." as opposed to "-generic=socket ..." it does not run and complains of error. So, I am launch FlightGear with "-generic=socket ..." on all three lines plus "-launcher" at the end.

No luck, however.

HMT1


You need two dashes, because its a long parameter.
If you use only one dash, every character stays for one parameter.

As example
Code: Select all
fgfs --help

means the long parameter 'help'.
Where as
Code: Select all
fgfs -help

is equivalent with
Code: Select all
fgfs -h -e -l -p

where every character is a different parameter.

In your case, you need two dashes so that the program read the string up to the next white space.
If you receive a error message, please post it here. There are enough high experienced users on this forum to help you.


_____________________________________________________________________________________

Hi WoodSTokk,

Thanks for that pointer. I did not know that - learnt a new thing for today.

It seems there were two dashes there all along. They were too small for me to see that there were two.

Nevertheless, Free Air Map does not seem to sync to Flight Gear for me. It asked for an internet connection which I allowed

HMT1
FG Call Sign : HMT1
Base Airport: London Gatwick EGKK.
Planes: Cessna 172P & 182RG, Piper PA-28 Cherokee II & PA-34 Seneca II.
hmt1
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: East Anglia, England
Callsign: HMT1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Wed May 27, 2020 8:42 am

You haven't confirmed what I have asked you twice. Did you save the program to Protocol in your FG Program file. If you didn't it won't talk to FG.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby hmt1 » Wed May 27, 2020 9:18 am

Hi Robert,

I thought I had replied to your earlier question. I had assumed that setting the command line values for launching FG were what you meant by setting things in Protocol. From your question, however, I presume the Protocol is something else, am I correct?

If so, how does one set any values in Protocol?

HMT1
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please, do not quote the entire preceding post. It is right above your post.
FG Call Sign : HMT1
Base Airport: London Gatwick EGKK.
Planes: Cessna 172P & 182RG, Piper PA-28 Cherokee II & PA-34 Seneca II.
hmt1
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: East Anglia, England
Callsign: HMT1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Wed May 27, 2020 9:36 am

When you down load FAM there is an elongated empty box in the box you put your FG program file reference from your C drive Programs double click your FG version in the list then double click data then scroll down to protocol single click on that you will see the empty box populated then press next/load. The download will load, then you may or may not get a 'load Direct x' box, do that then another box about Microsoft click repair then finish (depending on your system you may or may not get the last two stages.

Try FAM again. Start FG and see if it syncs. If not go to protocol as I stated earlier. One last tip. Restart your computer.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby hmt1 » Wed May 27, 2020 3:06 pm

Hi Robert,

Thank you for explaining this bit about the install process. I had gone through the steps suggested by the manual and the install process is now directly placing the required three XML files (the three you noted earlier) in both Protocol sub-directories:

1. within C:\Program Files\FlightGear 2018.3.2\bin\data\Protocol (ONLY the three freeairmap xml files)
2. within C:\Program Files\FlightGear 2018.3.2\data\Protocol (many files in addition to the three freeairmap xml files)

Thanks to your tip about restarting, however, and it dawned on me that the machine may need a reboot for all the bits to take hold and integrate. The restart worked.

Happy to say it works very well now. It is quite an advantage to "see" the tracks of ones flying especially IF you are doing patterns and flying circuits.

HMT1.
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please, do not quote the entire preceding post. It is right above your post.
FG Call Sign : HMT1
Base Airport: London Gatwick EGKK.
Planes: Cessna 172P & 182RG, Piper PA-28 Cherokee II & PA-34 Seneca II.
hmt1
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: East Anglia, England
Callsign: HMT1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Wed May 27, 2020 4:34 pm

Klaus at FAM has been very helpful and there are some bugs being ironed out. I will post the new install link which will just overite the existing. The various settings take a bit of getting use to but it is a good program.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby bioscz » Wed May 27, 2020 6:49 pm

sorry, this software work on FG for MAC ?
thank u
bioscz
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:56 am

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Wed May 27, 2020 7:19 pm

Not according to the manual I will ask Klaus and get back to you
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Sat May 30, 2020 3:00 pm

bioscz wrote in Wed May 27, 2020 6:49 pm:sorry, this software work on FG for MAC ?
thank u


I checked with Klaus and the answer is sadly no.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Sat May 30, 2020 3:04 pm

hmt1 wrote in Wed May 27, 2020 3:06 pm:
Robertfm wrote in Wed May 27, 2020 9:36 am:When you down load FAM there is an elongated empty box in the box you put your FG program file reference from your C drive Programs double click your FG version in the list then double click data then scroll down to protocol single click on that you will see the empty box populated then press next/load. The download will load, then you may or may not get a 'load Direct x' box, do that then another box about Microsoft click repair then finish (depending on your system you may or may not get the last two stages.

Try FAM again. Start FG and see if it syncs. If not go to protocol as I stated earlier. One last tip. Restart your computer.


Hi Robert,

Thank you for explaining this bit about the install process. I had gone through the steps suggested by the manual and the install process is now directly placing the required three XML files (the three you noted earlier) in both Protocol sub-directories:

1. within C:\Program Files\FlightGear 2018.3.2\bin\data\Protocol (ONLY the three freeairmap xml files)
2. within C:\Program Files\FlightGear 2018.3.2\data\Protocol (many files in addition to the three freeairmap xml files)

Thanks to your tip about restarting, however, and it dawned on me that the machine may need a reboot for all the bits to take hold and integrate. The restart worked.

Happy to say it works very well now. It is quite an advantage to "see" the tracks of ones flying especially IF you are doing patterns and flying circuits.

HMT1.


There is a new version going up on the site shortly it has sorted out a number of bugs and added additional functionality like GPWS data which allows you to set you own transition altitudes. I did the final test flights today so it should be up in a couple of days, again thanks to Klaus.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Fri Jun 05, 2020 11:15 am

bioscz wrote in Wed May 27, 2020 6:49 pm:sorry, this software work on FG for MAC ?
thank u

This from Klaus: Good Day Robert,

a few days ago you ask me whether FreeAirMap can be used with a Mac. The
correct answer is that it cannot run on a Mac but if FlightGear runs on
a Mac and FreeAirMap on a Windows pc then it will work. In this case a
client/server installation is required. In a client/server configuration
the 3 files

freeairmap.xml
freeairmpaai.xml
freeairmaptime.xml

must be copied manually to the data\protocol folder on the Mac because
the FreeAirMap installer cannot be run on the Mac. In a client/server
installation these files can be found on the windows pc in the
airmap\system\flightgear\data\protocol folder.

FG has to be started on the Mac with the following parameters:

fgfs --generic=socket,out,10,127.0.0.1,12347,udp,freeairmap
--generic=socket,out,1,127.0.0.1,12348,udp,freeairmapai
--generic=socket,in,1,127.0.0.1,12349,udp,freeairmaptime --launcher

On the pc the Airmap.ini file must also be modified with the following
parameters:

[FlightGear]
Port=12347
AIPort=12348
timevar=12349
IPAddress=0.0.0.0


This is described in chapter "FlightGear and FreeAirMap runon separate
pc in the local network"

So if you have access to a Windows laptop it will work.

Best regards
Klaus
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Free Air Map

Postby Robertfm » Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:45 pm

New version now on FAM website now includes a terrain Profile function.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Previous

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest