Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Route Manager /AP

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:03 pm

As I said there is no Directional Giro. The HSI has a knob to set ILS/loc heading. and the HDG knob.

Sorry I forgot you can switch from HSI to DG in the planes control panel. I will try that when I land. Thanks.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby D-ECHO » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:11 pm

You can adjust the hdg on the hsi. Shift+right knob
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:19 pm

Oh, with CTRL and mouse wheel on the PA28. Nice ;)
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:57 pm

Hang on I'm getting confused. What we were talking about is syncing the Magnetic Compass with the Directional Giro. D-Echo are you saying this can be done by using shift and turning the HDG on the HSI to the heading on the Magnetic Compass and that syncs it.

Edit: I tried that but it does nothing different on the scroll wheel then it does without shift.

Edit 2: Tried Ctrl/Scroll HDG and it enable me to alter to Magnetic heading then it switched back to correct heading on Heading bug. I take it was supposed to do that.
Last edited by Robertfm on Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Knüppelrührer » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:09 pm

how hard can it be... use CTRL, mouse wheel and right knob on the HSI.
With shift the same is high-speed-turning mode. You will find out by trying.

Good to know!
User avatar
Knüppelrührer
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:06 pm
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: ubuntu 18.04

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:14 pm

Easy when you used the correct key CTRL not Shift. Thank you. Mind you it still hasn't altered the discrepancies in various headings/tracks etc.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby D-ECHO » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:02 pm

Yes sorry ctrl
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:19 pm

Nice to know how to do this. The control panel won't allow to switch HSI to DG in flight. Thanks again.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby D-ECHO » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:12 am

You can switch in flight but not with AP on
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:50 am

Thanks.

Edit: Sorry to return to this. This morning when setting the Magnetic Compass using the CTRK/HDG I noticed CARD Offset and a number. Should I alter this number to the reading on the Magnetic Compass. I ask because it then makes the HSI heading totally different to what should be the Airport Heading. Although it still flies the correct airport heading when I activate AP/HDG
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:08 pm

I read this on another sim forum and it actually got me thinking and is something I don't quite grasp. I know if I try to fly GPS approach/AP I hve to enter runway heading in HSI, but why,

'He's right -- the OBS has no effect whatsoever on the localizer needle. This misconception seems to abound in the sim world, but the NAV radios are designed such that when tuned to an ILS/localizer frequency they change operating modes and the OBS is disabled, plus the needle is much more sensitive than when tuned to a VOR.

A lot of folks, though, will set the OBS to runway heading just as a convenient reminder, but it's not necessary for ILS operation.'
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby D-ECHO » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:29 pm

Robertfm wrote in Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:50 am:Thanks.

Edit: Sorry to return to this. This morning when setting the Magnetic Compass using the CTRK/HDG I noticed CARD Offset and a number. Should I alter this number to the reading on the Magnetic Compass. I ask because it then makes the HSI heading totally different to what should be the Airport Heading. Although it still flies the correct airport heading when I activate AP/HDG

The card offset has basically no meaning. Use it to set the indicated heading on the HSI/DG to match the magnetic compass reading.
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:47 pm

I understand that however then the Heading bug can't be used to reset the HSI to the correct heading when it defaults to the heading Bug pop up.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby D-ECHO » Sat Apr 11, 2020 4:06 pm

I dont understand what you are trying to say/do
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Route Manager /AP

Postby Robertfm » Sat Apr 11, 2020 4:24 pm

I am trying to sync the Magnetic Compass with the HSI/DG. When I set the MC with HSI using the Ctrl HDG, when I release Ctrl it reverts back to standard hdg heading on the pop up, however it it does not match runway heading as I assume is the object of the exercise.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 3 guests