Board index FlightGear Support Flying

how to use ATIS

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

how to use ATIS

Postby NewsDude » Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:06 pm

So, now that I'm getting more into FlightGear, I've decided that I should start to figure out how to use the more advanced features in FlightGear.

For ATIS, I've never understood how it works. For some airports I'll tune to the ATIS frequency and hear nothing. And then for others I'll be getting the ATIS at the beginning of a flight and then it never shuts up.

Help?
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: how to use ATIS

Postby xDraconian » Thu Apr 02, 2020 10:07 pm

To silence the ATIS, you need to change the radio frequency.

Open you radio dialog (F12)
Toggle the COM2 radio via button <->
xDraconian
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:53 am
Version: Git
OS: Linux Mint

Re: how to use ATIS

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Apr 02, 2020 10:21 pm

aside from silencing the ATIS, the way to learn it is to learn and understand the phraseology...

https://www.faa.gov/air_traffic/publications/atpubs/atc_html/chap2_section_9.html

more information can be found with this search: https://www.google.com/search?q=aircraft+ATIS+phraseology
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: how to use ATIS

Postby NewsDude » Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:08 pm

@wkitty

I know the phraseology. I mean physically use the ATIS frequencies. For KSEA as an example, I start the flight already hearing the ATIS even though I'm not tuned to the KSEA ATIS frequency. And I keep hearing it, even when I am WELL, WELL out of range.
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: how to use ATIS

Postby Lydiot » Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:05 pm

NewsDude wrote in Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:08 pm:@wkitty

I know the phraseology. I mean physically use the ATIS frequencies. For KSEA as an example, I start the flight already hearing the ATIS even though I'm not tuned to the KSEA ATIS frequency. And I keep hearing it, even when I am WELL, WELL out of range.


I have noticed that too for some airports and planes.
Lydiot
 
Posts: 991
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: how to use ATIS

Postby NewsDude » Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:54 pm

I'm glad that I'm not the only one!
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: how to use ATIS

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:06 pm

OH! yeah, ok... the thing is that you are hearing the ATIS on the freq you are tuned to... modeling long distance radio and providing cutoff when out of range is something that has had a little bit of work but it will take more time and effort... i remember some squelch code was added but i don't recall what it actually did...

the key is when you want to hear it, tune it in and when you don't tune it out... i mean switch freqs, of course... but hopefully it will be better in the future... for now, it is what it is ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests