Board index FlightGear Support Flying

IDG-A320 autopilot

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

IDG-A320 autopilot

Postby KIWI34 » Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:16 am

Good afternoon! its been a while since I've been flying and recently got back into it, I've found a soft spot for the IDG A320 with its advanced features and ease of use.

However, when trying to navigate via VOR, the CDU and screen don't seem to like it. I can type in a nav frequency for a VOR and the map then turns into a light blue arc usual, but i can't get it to fly radials etc. Also within the CDU it doesn't allow me to Enter a 3 letter VOR identifier or frequency so while the map says i have an active VOR i can't follow it.

Would anyone have any ideas why ? i mainly use VOR's for distance measuring but also navigating to and from airports.

cheers

KIWI
Callsigns : KIWI34 , CHT0054 ( seasonal )
Aircraft : 787-9 ( ANZ serving Asia, LAN serving South America )
Want to know where I'm flying ? i always file a flight plan for every flight on :
http://flightgear-atc.alwaysdata.net/index.php5
KIWI34
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:17 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Callsign: KIWI34
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.12

Re: IDG-A320 autopilot

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 27, 2019 7:43 am

Hi Kiwi,
The A320 does not have a radial feature - you'd need to use the DTO page which does allow you to enter a radial to any waypoint (not only vor or add)... But it's non-functional at the moment!

On the RADNAV page I assume you are entering the frequency in the proper place (VOR entry - not the ILS one) and are using a valid VOR frequency?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7325
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: IDG-A320 autopilot

Postby KIWI34 » Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:49 am

On the Radio Nav page i am entering the frequency in the proper place, either VOR 1 or VOR 2, while using a valid VOR, ill give it another go tonight.

Cheers
KIWI
Callsigns : KIWI34 , CHT0054 ( seasonal )
Aircraft : 787-9 ( ANZ serving Asia, LAN serving South America )
Want to know where I'm flying ? i always file a flight plan for every flight on :
http://flightgear-atc.alwaysdata.net/index.php5
KIWI34
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:17 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Callsign: KIWI34
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.12

Re: IDG-A320 autopilot

Postby V12 » Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:42 am

VOR Freqency and course in RADNAV page are suitable only for displaying "arrow" on navigation display, Bus have not function for VOR radial intercept. This procedure must be realized manualy with heading selector or manual piloting.
ILS frequency and course are suitable for ILS approach or ILS autoland
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: IDG-A320 autopilot

Postby KIWI34 » Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:31 am

thanks V12, that makes a lot of sense, for the meantime ill manually intercept/track VOR radials, i appreciate the reply :)
Callsigns : KIWI34 , CHT0054 ( seasonal )
Aircraft : 787-9 ( ANZ serving Asia, LAN serving South America )
Want to know where I'm flying ? i always file a flight plan for every flight on :
http://flightgear-atc.alwaysdata.net/index.php5
KIWI34
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:17 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Callsign: KIWI34
Version: 3.4
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.12


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests