Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Octal450 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:24 pm

@dilbert you do know that people can add their own autopilots behind the generic dialog? For example, the F-15 autopilot has a custom one written either by Richard in early versions and a new one written by me in later ones (since sometime in 2018).
Who knows about the MB339 and T2C, if you link me I will tell you if they generic or not.

I'm talking about the control loop behind it not the dialog itself.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Don't ever contact me about FlightGear again.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby dilbert » Thu Aug 08, 2019 9:48 pm

Thanks, Josh. As you correctly stated the F-15C has a custom autopilot, which works well. Been awhile. It was the F 104, not the F 15 I used with the generic system for ILS approaches, as described above, which is a bear. Apologize for the confusion. :?

The MB 339 is available in the regular add-on hangar. The T2C is available at http://www.daveshangar.org. It and other of his
planes-A29B, F4J, S3B, etc.-lack custom autopilots, necessitating use of the generic system.

Respect and really appreciate the fine work you, Richard, and the development team do.

Thanks and Kind Regards
dilbert
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: KBFM, Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:57 am

Back to the original post, the Robin DR400 autopilot worked fine for me, even on an ILS approach down to minimums. My complaint was the interface between the autopilot and pilot was inadequate. It requires a keyboard to enter values. A mouse interface would be easier to use.

Edit: That is why I fired up my remote Python autopilot interface that I use on my Citation X. It is mouse oriented. Then all was well.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Octal450 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:49 pm

@dlibert
I'll check it out. I am also, if I ever get the time, to remodel the generic autopilot to take total weight and adjust coefficients for autopilot controllers based on that, so that aircrafts without a dedicated autopilot will actually be somewhat useful.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Don't ever contact me about FlightGear again.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:19 am

Well that went off on a tangent. Anyway it is still doing it, no matter the plane, the airport etc etc. I am also getting issues with speed control on some planes, then the next flight not a problem. It matters not which controller I use. I have a Yoke & Joystick. The mixer lever acts more like a throttle actually over riding the throttle control (Saitek Quadrant). Is there a fundamental problem with all interfaces in latest version of FG. Just asking.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:06 pm

Have you checked your joystick device with a calibrator?
Ubuntu has jstest-gtk available.
Windows uses (I think) https://www.howtogeek.com/241421/how-to ... indows-10/
Check that you are seeing the correct response from your hardware.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:02 am

Thanks for that, however there is another route to same calibrator RUN then joy.cpl enter I have used this to check calibration and I have the full range.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:04 am

The question was: Are the controls responding correctly? Does the throttle lever and mixture lever work independently? If so, you must have a software problem.

BTW, I used the Saitek yoke/throttle/pedals on the test of your Robin DR400, and it flew fine.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:36 am

As I have said, these issues are intermittent. The Quadrant, Yoke and Joystick are recognised by FG so no software downloads were required., which is why I posed the question is it FG. I fly my various planes without issue lots of times and then it just happens. I've switched the Axis on the quadrant and it does the same. So not likely to be the quadrant. I have had issues with Joystick not ascending the plane at low speed.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:42 am

I have intermittent "crashes", but I think they are related to weather changes, not the joystick.

Last crash was at Les Saintes on short final. Suddenly the weather changed (I have a METAR script), the DHC6 yawed right, pitched up, rolled hard to the right, and plowed in just right of the runway. No amount of input would stop it.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:47 am

I didn't think the live weather was working. That said as these issues are unpredictable I guess there's nothing to be done.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:02 am

There is always something that can be done. So you checked your throttle quadrant, and you are down to software.

As a test, I opened your Robin DR400, didn't start it.
From the menu
Debug -> Browse internal properties -> controls -> engines -> engine
Move the levers on your quadrant, and watch the throttle, prop and mixture values.
Does the throttle change when you move the mixture?

Just as a thought, you aren't experiencing any power or heat problems with your computer?
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:13 am

SurferTim wrote in Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:42 am: the DHC6 yawed right, pitched up, rolled hard to the right, and plowed in just right of the runway. No amount of input would stop it.


Sounds like you stalled, yasim stalls are... strange at times with rapid rolls. Not saying it's because of your piloting, just that the wind change was enough to reduce speed such that AOA was greater than stall AOA resulting in rapid loss of control. It's not really a fault of the aircraft, just of yasim's strange stalling. I think the JSBSIM one stalls better - but the stall horn doesn't work nicely (on all the time if you pull elevator at all!)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:15 am

Yes, it stalled. It went from 80 knots to stall in a matter of a second. When you are 100 feet off the ground, that is fatal.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:24 am

I am currently using the Navion, also I have removed settings from 2 of sliders. So only one is currently connected. I checked as you suggested and only throttle control is moving. Neither of the other two are activating anything as expected
Robertfm
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest