Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:00 am

I have been encountering an issue, where I have been flying using just autopilot for things like altitude control and direction (HDG). What is happening is when I am on final I switch off HDG (uncheck box) and whilst the Yoke is working (checked in calibration) the plane refuses to change direction ultimately missing the landing. This has never happened when I have been flying VFR but has happened when I have been plying IFR, Anyone know of a tweak. It is intermittent.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:25 am

Autopilots are usually unique to the aircraft type. Which aircraft are you using?
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:41 am

It's the Robin DR 400 but it has happened on other planes. This is the generic AP in FG
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:47 am

The autopilots are different on the a/c I fly (B777-300, Citation-X, and the DHC6).

I had a problem on the Citation-X releasing the autopilot on an instrument approach, but it was the altitude control that would not release. I had to select the STBY button to disengage.
Edit: deselecting AP button did not release control. Only the STBY button. I have since programmed my Citation to go into STBY when I turn off the AP button.

If I get a chance, I'll fly it. Did you get it from the FG aircaft repository?
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:09 am

Yes I did to last question. As for STBY button there isn't one on the Generic AP. Not that I actually know what STBY stands for, I'm assuming standby .
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:14 am

STBY = standby.

I do not believe there is a "generic AP". Every a/c I have flown has a different setup for control. I can't even use the autopilot interface on all a/c. It fails to adjust the heading and altitude on the DHC6. The B777-300 always released control when disengaging the AP. The DHC6 has always released control.

I'll see about giving the DR400 a trip around the pattern later.

Edit: Just so I get the situation correct, this fail happens when the AP is tracking in on an approach like ILS?

Do I have the correct a/c? DR400-180? The panel is in French. http://mirrors.ibiblio.org/flightgear/ftp/Aircraft/
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:56 am

Thanks. When I say generic it's the one in the FG drop down menu. I know there are some planes with their own, and some like the Navion allows you to toggle between it's on board AP or the FG one. Problem Navions own is it's on the right seat part of the panel so is impossible to activate in flight easily.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:19 am

I just flew that a/c around the pattern at Guadeloupe, and it did fine, except it has no DME :( Flew the ILS rwy11 down to minimums.

The autopilot released ok and landed ok.

Edit: You should have opted for my UDP autopilot interface. Flying that a/c without it is a pain in the backside.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:24 am

Please explain your last comment. I am not good with a lot of flight acronyms.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:28 am

If you mean about the UDP interface, that is what I tried to talk you into on another post.

Without it, all input is keyboard. You gotta type everything in with your keyboard. The UDP interface is mouse oriented. Click to turn or climb/descend.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:34 am

yes I appreciate that however as I said without a blow by blow instruction, which I don't expect anyone to do I cannot do this interface. I looked at Python and their so called simple instructions which for me weren't.
Last edited by Robertfm on Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby SurferTim » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:36 am

No problem. I understand. But despite the keyboard stuff, the autopilot released fine and landed without incident.

Edit: That is why all my computers run Linux in one flavor or another. Repositories are a wonderful thing sometimes.
Fly low, fly slow, land on a dime. Twin Otter.
SurferTim
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby Robertfm » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:50 am

My son tried to get me to use Linux, but I very quickly realised my brain is not wired in that way. I guess I am the type of person Windows was designed for. Believe me I have tried and succeeded to a minor extent, but I simply don't get the reason for all the spaces, special characters etc when coding.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:46 pm

SurferTim wrote in Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:14 am:I do not believe there is a "generic AP".

that's the F11 one in the sim...

SurferTim wrote in Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:14 am:Every a/c I have flown has a different setup for control. I can't even use the autopilot interface on all a/c. It fails to adjust the heading and altitude on the DHC6.

because they're not tied into the generic AP properly or completely... some are, many are not...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5721
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Auto Pilot Settings Interface.

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:49 pm

Robertfm wrote in Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:50 am:My son tried to get me to use Linux, but I very quickly realised my brain is not wired in that way.

KDE comes the closest to the winwhatever presentation... my 84yo father was similar to you and he picked up the KDE interface quite easily... i did for him what your son does for you when it comes to computers and helping you do the things you want/need to do ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5721
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Next

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest