Board index FlightGear Support Flying

777 Latest version - Autopilot

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby alba-69 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:00 pm

Does anyone know how to switch on the Autopilot? It keeps disengaging!
alba-69
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 1:46 pm
Location: Near to EGPF and EGPH.
Callsign: alba-69
OS: Windows 10

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:25 pm

Do you have flight control input at the time? If so I think that would prevent you engaging the autopilot.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7778
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby Isaak » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:24 pm

You have to make sure that all controls are neutral when engaging the autopilot of the 777. If you move the yoke the autopilot will disconnect. If you don't use a joystick or yoke, you 'd best enable the hud so you can see if the controls are neutral.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby Octal450 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:31 pm

Exactly. You MUST centralize the controls to engage it. There is a slight deadzone for prevent loose sticks (without dead-band set) from accidentally killing the A/P.

If it won't stay, you need to use the trim keys, which will adjust the "trim-ref" speed of the FBW System.

Kind Regards,
Josh

Src: I designed this FBW and A/P
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby alba-69 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:13 pm

Thanks all.
alba-69
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 1:46 pm
Location: Near to EGPF and EGPH.
Callsign: alba-69
OS: Windows 10

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby MalleusMaleficarum » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:57 am

i've had the same problem using mouse control (i don't have a joystick yet :roll: ). so i assigned the 'Home' button of my keyboard to reset all controls to neutral. it works like a charm! :wink:

anyways, great job on the new updated version guys! butter smooth auto-landing guaranteed! :P
User avatar
MalleusMaleficarum
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:35 am

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby Octal450 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:40 am

Thank you!
Glad to hear it!

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:54 pm

For what its worth, you can use the 5 key if you want to do that ;) Might be best not to touch the "Home" button, since that is by default elevator trim - which is especially important, as the 777 is speed-stable, not pitch-stable - the trim command actually changes the commanded trim speed, making it very difficult to fly if you don't have a trim control :P
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7778
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby MalleusMaleficarum » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:17 am

no worries. i already re-assigned the trim controls to other keys just in case i have to go manual (no ILS available) :wink: which i rarely do since the autoland function works well even for CAT-I airports. mouse users tend to use the 3D HUD to get precise maneuvering control and when changing view direction (eg: accessing the control panels) the center point of the mouse cursor would change as well. assigning a key to resetting both the controls and the view direction has proven to be pretty handy :)

any chance of adding a shake effect (such as the ones applied for the IDG aircrafts) in the near future? :P
User avatar
MalleusMaleficarum
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:35 am

Re: 777 Latest version - Autopilot

Postby Octal450 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:16 pm

Nope, sorry.

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4705
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests