Board index FlightGear Support Flying

172 spinning to the left

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

172 spinning to the left

Postby Giungla Bob » Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:44 pm

I am new to this simulation. I can't get the Cessna 172 to stop spinning to the left even using the rudder controls. I am using a Logitech Attack 3 Joystick. Can't even get off the ground.
Giungla Bob

Re: 172 spinning to the left

Postby tdammers » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:29 am

This is "by design" - as a single-engine prop aircraft, the C172P has a tendency to bank and yaw during takeoff, due to torque effect (prop blades pushing against air at a high angle of attack, producing a banking momentum) and P factor (prop blades on one side of the prop producing more thrust than on the other due to differences in angle of attack, producing a yawing momentum). In order to maintain straight and level flight during / after takeoff, you need to input some rudder and aileron. This is true for the real aircraft as well, though from what I gather, the effect is a bit too strong in the FG simulation. It takes some time to master, but it can most definitely be done, at least with a joystick/yoke and proper rudder controls.
tdammers

Callsign: NL256
IRC name: nl256

Postby ORZMUD » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:33 pm

It takes time, keep practicing.
ORZMUD

Callsign: ORZMUD
Version: 2019.2.0

Postby wlbragg » Tue Apr 23, 2019 4:35 pm

though from what I gather, the effect is a bit too strong in the FG simulation

From what I understand that is really subjective and I have heard it both ways by pilots experienced in the c172p. It also would make a huge difference how this pull affected you if you were using a yoke and rudder peddle system on your simulator and how it was calibrated.
I fly the c172p all the time with the mouse as the control and I have no problem keeping it straight.
If your not using auto coordination then maybe it is harder to keep straight, although I don't think I am.