Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Disabling Flight Director  Topic is solved

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:58 pm

how are you trying ti engage the AP? via the F11 or by using the one that may be in the craft?

some developers disable the default built-in AP in craft that don't have one in real life...

also, you may need to check your ~/.fgfs/aircraft-data directory and remove any saved settings files for the citation... sometimes if things are changed, these saved settings get out of whack and can cause problems... make sure you are out of the sim and then delete that/those files... when you restart you should be in the craft's default configuration...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby tfreriks » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:04 pm

By the way, FG is WAY slow now. Jerky. And downloading planes takes forever. And there are two instances of each plane, too. Should I uninstall FG 2018.3.1?
tfreriks
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:55 pm

Are you using Rembrandt?
Also, how did you download aircraft - did you use the catalog? Maybe if you added the aircraft directory via both the catalog and via 'additional aircraft paths' that would happen?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7183
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby tfreriks » Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:06 pm

A followup: The checkbox is OFF when the FD light is it. And vice versa. When I turn the FD button off on the instrument panel, the checkbox is checked.
tfreriks
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby WoodSTokk » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:26 pm

tfreriks wrote in Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:06 pm:A followup: The checkbox is OFF when the FD light is it. And vice versa. When I turn the FD button off on the instrument panel, the checkbox is checked.

You misunderstood the light as I have at the beginning.
The first button/light on the FD panel in the Citation II is titled as 'FD OFF'.
If the first button/light is lit, the FD is disabled. If the first button/light is dark, the FD is enabled.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby tfreriks » Thu Apr 25, 2019 6:28 pm

Hello again. I figured out why my installation of 3.2 failed and I got FG running again. Now, I tried to add the hangar as per your instructions above. I clicked on 'update' but it's stuck on 'downloading' and an error box occurred, reading: "An error occurred installing the aircraft Cessna 550/551 Citation II: A local file-system error occurred".

How do I get my Citation back? It seemed like when I did the hangar thing some of the problems were fixed.
tfreriks
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby bugman » Thu Apr 25, 2019 8:19 pm

FlightGear 3.2 was released on October 15, 2014, so you may wish to update to a newer version ;)

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1719
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:26 pm

If you have the trunk hangar added, then you will see every aircraft two times in the browser.
To look where the aircraft came from, hold Shift and click on it.
I have made a screenshot how it looks on my computer (also FG 2018.3.2).
Image
You can see the hangar on the URI (i have placed my cursor under the important part).
I downloaded it today, so i can say the download works normal.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:47 pm

WoodSTokk wrote in Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:26 pm:If you have the trunk hangar added, then you will see every aircraft two times in the browser.

this cannot work with the ancient 5 year old FG 3.2 that the OP appears to be talking about ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby tfreriks » Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:00 pm

Is there a way to simply disable the Flight Director in the Citation? On approach, the plane crashes when the FD clicks on. I'm sure there's an XML file that handles that somewhere. Right?

Thanks in advance.
tfreriks
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby WoodSTokk » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:54 pm

You can set the DH on radar altimeter (per default it is 200 ft).
If your height is lower than the DH, the FD/AP will be automatically disabled.
You can see that on the DH light at the radar altimeter is lit and the button 'FD OFF' is lit on the FD panel.

PS: older versions of this aircraft have a fixed DH of 500 ft, doesn't matter where the DH setting is.
Last edited by bugman on Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby tfreriks » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:56 pm

Let me try that. Hmmmmm. How do I change the DH in the radar altimeter?
tfreriks
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby WoodSTokk » Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:59 am

In front of you is the ADI (top) and the HSI (bottom).
Right of it is Altitude (top), Radar Altimeter (middle) and VSI (bottom).
The radar altimeter has a red marker on the face (normaly on 200) showing the DH (Decision Height) and a knob in the right bottom corner.
Rotating this knob set the red marker to a new DH.
If the aircraft is below DH, a yellow light will lit in the upper left corner and the FD/AP disengage it self.
As long as the aircraft is below of DH, the FD/AP can not engaged.
Last edited by bugman on Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby Octal450 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:51 am

I want to point out the FD is modelled total wrong now.
FD doesn't actually exits on the aircraft right now. The AI mesh has it not, look for yourself:

Image

Instead, the FD buttons switches on A/P. That is a wrong behaviors. It should only toggle the FD bars on the AI. This is why people are so confused in this thread I think!

I am working with Sascha to correct this :) I have some single cue director bars I made originally for the 727 (before I switched him to dual cue) we might be able to add too.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Disabling Flight Director

Postby WoodSTokk » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:00 am

Hi Josh,

I have worked over the most instuments. Last two instruments remaining are HSI and ADI.
I think i have found the right one. It look like a Sperry AD600.
Will attempt to correct the 3d model, but it takes time.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid

PreviousNext

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest