Board index FlightGear Support Flying

ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Postby Toric » Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:37 am

Using archlinux, installed from the AUR repository, Flightgear 2018.3.2

Problem occurs in all planes tested, at all airports tested.

I start up flightgear, and, on the runway, go the the AI tab and look at the ATC frequencies avalible. I tune to ATIS, and nothing comes over the radio. No text, no voice, nothing.
When I tune to the tower freqency and press ' to pull up ATC interactions, there are no options in the window.

Are either of these features supposed to be in a working state?
Toric
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:13 am

Re: ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:37 am

on the ATIS, are you using "real weather" which requires valid METARs?

on the AIATC, what airport are you at? AFAIK, some have it and some don't... unfortunately i can't test ATM...

they should be working as they always have... the only problem may be with the real weather getting the METAR since the gov site switched to https and there were some problems with the code following the redirect to get the actual METAR... those problems have been taken care of and if not available yet, should be soon when 2019.1 is released from RC status...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Postby Toric » Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:30 pm

Yah, using real weather, tried normal weather, ATIS works.

For ATC, I tested, to make sure, at the default PHNL, although I would like to to be functional at KFAR... Neither airport works.
Toric
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:13 am

Re: ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:06 pm

when you look at the METAR box in the weather settings in-sim, what does it say with real weather active? if it says "null" or similar, then you are a victim of the http-to-https change that that site made a month or so ago... the only proper fix is to upgrade to the next available FG version when it is available...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Postby Zilesio » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:17 am

Does it work now for everybody with 2019.1.1?

It may as well depend on the actual airplane (more properly, its radio stack / audio panel simulation)

On 2019.1.1 with real weather, valid METAR, at Hilo Apt. (HI) I hear ATIS on the Cessna 172, but hear nothing in the Velocity XL-RG (not the one in main repository, check wiki)
... and I'm struggling to find a way to make it work!

In my case, the 2 planes have 2 different audio panel sims.
Zilesio
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 5:40 am

Re: ATIS and AI ATC not working?

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:42 am

Turn on the radio, tune the frequency (PHTO ATIS 126.400) and set the volume up.
Works as expected.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Debian Buster/Sid


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FlugHund, YandexBot [Bot] and 4 guests