Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Not able to fly due to location/scenery?

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Not able to fly due to location/scenery?

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:07 am

wlbragg wrote in Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:36 pm:There is a possibility the space between Application and Support in "Application Support" is causing the issue. Try removing the space in the path and changing the folder structure.

unless i'm mistaken, that's a mac... removing that space would likely be very hazardous as it is a system folder...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4949
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Not able to fly due to location/scenery?

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:15 pm

removing that space would likely be very hazardous as it is a system folder...

Good point, my point was put scenery in a location that doesn't have a space in a path name. That may no longer be an issue, but I have had it cause issues in the past, with what I don't remember for sure.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4303
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Not able to fly due to location/scenery?

Postby rmvanderspek » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:44 pm

Well I have finally been able to load scenery through terrasync and this does work. It does seem odd to me that the Application\ Support folder should give trouble. If that were the case everyone with a OSX and default installation would have the same issue...

Anyhow, I can fly (or at least try to). Thanks for helping me out everyone.
rmvanderspek
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:50 am

Re: Not able to fly due to location/scenery?

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:49 pm

Might we ask what your solution turned out to be for anyone else that might come across this problem?

It does seem odd to me that the Application\ Support folder should give trouble.

I don't know that it does. But if it were me, I would rule it out.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4303
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Previous

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests