Board index FlightGear Support Flying

707 engines 1 and 4 Goes off  Topic is solved

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

707 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:19 pm

What can i do, i can give more information, but i tried so much things, and the startup procedure is ok, IDK what is happening :(
Last edited by Johan G on Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed title spelling "/07" -> "707"
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby sim » Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:49 pm

Don't fret Bulldog. Some FG planes are quirky. Where did you download this one? :wink:
The 777 is pretty reliable though.
User avatar
sim
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:13 pm
Location: Shropshire England
Callsign: Fly4Fun
Version: 0.9.10 up
OS: 64 Win 10 HD6450

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:14 pm

It looks REALLY cool, but im watching for a low range aircraft with a super good desing, and the 777 is for long range, thank you anyways

PD. I donwloaded the 707 in the hangar of the launcher, you know, that addon, it's the official hangar
Last edited by bugman on Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby asr » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am

You're either overspeeding the engines or running out of fuel.
asr
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:55 pm

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:28 pm

asr wrote in Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am:You're either overspeeding the engines or running out of fuel.

Maybe your'e right, because the overspeed warnings apears a few seconds before the oil pressurization warning goes on, but, how i can avoid this?
Thank You
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:31 pm

avoid it by throttling back and slowing down :mrgreen:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:35 pm

Ok i'll try
Last edited by bugman on Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off  

Postby asr » Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:40 pm

Bulldog 1 wrote in Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:28 pm:
asr wrote in Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:37 am:You're either overspeeding the engines or running out of fuel.

Maybe your'e right, because the overspeed warnings apears a few seconds before the oil pressurization warning goes on, but, how i can avoid this?
Thank You


Just try to keep the speed on the safe side. I usually cruise at mach 0.82-0.83, which is a realistic speed for this aircraft at his time.

According to the flight manual (I have for 707-300), a speed of mach 0.87 should never be exceeded.

You can see your current mach speed indicator at the lower-left corner of the panel, just left of the pilot's joke.

When flying realistically you should be monitoring the speed continuosly and adjusting the throttle. If you get tired of it there is an autothrottle button in the generic autopilot controls (top center panel), but it works on KIAS not on mach speed, so you need to adjust it when changing your altitude (and is unrealistic as the 707 didn't have autothrottle)
asr
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:55 pm

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:24 pm

I usually cruise with a speed of 320 knots (0.43 Mach) I think the problem doesn't come from there
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby asr » Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm

Bulldog 1 wrote in Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:24 pm:I usually cruise with a speed of 320 knots (0.43 Mach) I think the problem doesn't come from there


320 kias is 0.43 mach only at a very low altitude.

320 kias is around M.82 at FL300 and probably M.85 or more at FL330.

Above FL290 you just ignore KIAS and monitor mach speed
asr
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:55 pm

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:24 pm

asr wrote in Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:45 pm:
Bulldog 1 wrote in Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:24 pm:I usually cruise with a speed of 320 knots (0.43 Mach) I think the problem doesn't come from there


320 kias is 0.43 mach only at a very low altitude.

320 kias is around M.82 at FL300 and probably M.85 or more at FL330.

Above FL290 you just ignore KIAS and monitor mach speed


Ah thank you, maybe your'e right, ill try it, but, can you help me with the mach indicator, i don't understand it :(
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Thorsten » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:29 pm

can you help me with the mach indicator, i don't understand it


If that is a problem, might I suggest learning to fly on a somewhat less complex aircraft, and once you master that, start with the complex ones?

Otherwise you likely won't be very happy...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10163
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby Bulldog 1 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:45 pm

Thorsten wrote in Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:29 pm:
can you help me with the mach indicator, i don't understand it


If that is a problem, might I suggest learning to fly on a somewhat less complex aircraft, and once you master that, start with the complex ones?

Otherwise you likely won't be very happy...


I'll try the a320 but is a very bad model, if you know a good aircraft, i will fly it
Training on the ground, to flight on the skies.
Road to be a pilot
User avatar
Bulldog 1
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: /07 engines 1 and 4 Goes off

Postby asr » Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:52 pm

I just realised (the hard way) there is a good reason for engines 1 & 4 to shutdown inflight.

Are you sure they are not running out of fuel?

In this plane, every engine has a separate fuel tank and 1 & 4 are the first to exhaust. You need to learn how to manage the fuel in the engineer panel, transfer fuel from reserves 1 & 4 and from main tank.
asr
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:55 pm


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest