Board index FlightGear Support Flying

no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1  Topic is solved

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby dilbert » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:20 am

Radar, weapons, and arming all working correctly, no lock-on. with single target displayed on HUD, but to one side.
However, when tried again with target nearer HUD center, rocket fired, so the closest to center function seems to be working. :)
assume you lose lock if target moves out of shooting area. Is that correct?
Last edited by dilbert on Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dilbert
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby Necolatis » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:18 pm

Yes, each missile has a cone it front and if the target moves out of that cone you lose the lock. The size of the cone is different size for each missile.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby dilbert » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:44 pm

Thanks. A small circle around the target icon when locked would be helpful. Best Regards :)
dilbert
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:25 pm

dilbert wrote in Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:34 pm:In my case, the one and only error I'm consistently seeing in fgfs_0 is as follows:
\fg_os-osguviewer.cxx:203:PNG lib warning:iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile.

don't worry about this... it is nothing and only relates to using a different PNG library that whines about this... i forget what the fix to the graphic file is but it requires editing the graphic file... in any case, the warning you are seeing is just whining from newer PNG libraries...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5211
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby Richard » Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:04 am

just added the lights to the canopy.

Image

Will investigate changing the hud symbol when locked.
Richard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby dilbert » Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:09 pm

second square attached 45 degrees to the first would probably be more appropriate than the circle I mentioned. However, the tone variation works fine and may be more realistic for early AIM versions. also wonder about
aiming reticle being displayed when in AA with master arming switch on. Best Regards
dilbert
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby Richard » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:44 pm

Now added into the development repository: Image

Also the AIM-9 aiming reticle should now function; it had been broken along the way with all of the weapons systems upgrades.
Richard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby dilbert » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:51 pm

:D Fantastic. Deeply appreciate all your work in making such a great model. Best Regards

P.S.Is there a revised link to the latest version?
dilbert
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby Richard » Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:21 pm

the previous link should be updated to contain the latest versions.
Richard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby dilbert » Sun Sep 24, 2017 11:14 pm

Target icon looks great on HUD. also canopy lock-on lights. Unfortunately, missiles, which fired on previous rendition, no longer firing now. Previous rendition with tone versus above added features functions well-would stick with it for time being. Since the real bird was never fitted with an AIM-120, but depended on an RIO instead, it's a pretty good compromise.The reason for suggested target locked icon was erroneous assumption multiple bogeys would still be displayed, despite lock-on to a particular one, which doesn't appear to be the case here. Sorry if I confused the issue.
dilbert
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby Richard » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:05 pm

I've just tested the in-dev version (which should be the same as yours) and I can confirm that all of the missiles fired (2xAIM-9, 2xAIM-7, 4xAIM-54) and I came back with empty racks.

The F-14 may soon get the ability to identify and track multiple targets; the main stumbling block (for me) is to understand how this was implemented in the aircraft; I don't really want to do something that is just wrong.

However you cannot lock on to, or shoot ground or stationery targets with AA missiles.
Richard
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: no f14 radar display in 2017.2.1

Postby dilbert » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:44 am

Thank you Richard. For some reason I had gotten away with firing while on the deck using the first version. That no longer works, I guess because the target is insufficiently centered. Followed one into the air, got the canopy lights,
pickled, and fired. Love it. :D Thanks again. Best Regards
dilbert
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Previous

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest