Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Routeplanner STAR SID

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Routeplanner STAR SID

Postby Sarith » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:33 pm

Hey is there a free way to get mor e SID STAR for the routeplanner in fg
Last edited by Johan G on Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed misspelled title to make it easier to find in the future
Sarith
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Parnikkapore » Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:12 pm

Make some yourself. Charts are easy to find and a quick search will find you the syntax.

This is what FlightGear is all about; doing it yourself and sharing it to others.

A quick search would also find existing packages...
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Sarith » Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:34 pm

how can i make them by myself?
Sarith
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Clive2670 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:15 pm

Sarith wrote in Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:34 pm:how can i make them by myself?

Suggest seeing "Parnikkapore" post above!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Sarith » Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:59 pm

mend how I can save may selfmade SID STAR so i can choose them in the trop down menu
Sarith
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Parnikkapore » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:53 pm

Something like
<scenery directory>/Airports/I/C/A/ICAO.procedures.xml
Where ICAO is your airport code.
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Sarith » Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:23 am

I dont have this folder i can just go to <scenery directory>/Airports/I/
and i was searching in the scenery dir for icao but nothing was found
Sarith
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Parnikkapore » Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:14 pm

Ugh.
So, for example if you want to import a sid/star file for VTSP, you name the file VTSP.procedures.xml and put it in <scenery directory>/V/T/S/ . In there you will likely find VTSP.twr.xml but not an existing *. procedures.xml file.

Substitute VTSP for your airport code.
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Sarith » Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:34 pm

thanks and in whiche Format do I write the xml do i just enter the waypoints?
Sarith
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby eric » Sun Jul 02, 2017 1:22 pm

Sarith wrote in Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:34 pm:thanks and in whiche Format do I write the xml do i just enter the waypoints?


The following is only a guess at the format... but a pretty good guess based on actual SID/STAR files I've seen.

Notes:

In the explanation below, the name like "ProceduresDB" is the tag - so it's actually <ProceduresDB> in the XML file.
The subsequent parameters, like "build" are attributes - so it's actually <ProceduresDB build=""> in the XML file.

Code: Select all
ProceduresDB [build] (one of these per file)
    |
    Airport [ICAOcode] (one of these per file)
        |
        Sid [Name, Runways (comma separated - example: "08L,08R")]  (many of these per Airport)
            |
            Sid_Waypoint [ID (unique sequential integer)] (many of these per Sid)
                |
                Name
                Type
                Latitude
                Longitude
                Speed
                Altitude
                AltitudeCons
                AltitudeRestriction (one of "above" or "below" or "at")
                Hdg_Crs (optional. example value = "1")
                Hdg_Crs_Value (optional. heading degrees)
                Sp_Turn (optional. example value = "Auto")
            ...
            Sid_Transition [Name] (just one of these per Sid)
                |
                SidTr_Waypoint [ID] (many of these per Sid_Transition)

        Star [Name] (many of these per Airport)
            |
            Star_Waypoint [ID] (many of these per Star)
            ...
            Star_Transition [Name] (just one of these per Star)
                |
                StarTr_Waypoint [ID] (many of these per Star_Transition)

        Approach [Name] (e.g., ILS08L - uses IL, if appropriate, and the runway name by convention)
            |
            App_Waypoint [ID]
            App_Transition [Name] (just one of these per Approach)
                |
                AppTr_Waypoint [ID] (many of these per App_Transition)


Here is a link to an example to show how to implement what I've outlined above: https://github.com/fgx/fgx-airports/blo ... s/KATL.xml

Hope this helps!

Edit: I also found this bash script to help deploy all of the SID/STAR xml files - I recall I had to edit it a tad go make it work but it's a handy script: viewtopic.php?f=25&t=29036#p280561
Control tower to a 747: “United 329 heavy, your traffic is a Fokker, one o’clock, three miles, Eastbound.”
United 239: “Approach, I’ve always wanted to say this… I’ve got the little Fokker in sight.”
User avatar
eric
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:38 pm
Location: KATL
Callsign: WJT103
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Sarith » Sun Jul 02, 2017 2:33 pm

Thank you thats exactly I ment. Great Help!!
Sarith
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Johan G » Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:10 am

This maybe should be documented on the wiki.
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5284
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby Hooray » Sun Aug 06, 2017 3:28 pm

I agree: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Adding ... te_manager

Please feel free to get involved - e.g. by adding screenshots, videos and/or reviewing/extending the contents
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11100
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby eric » Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:57 pm

Hooray wrote in Sun Aug 06, 2017 3:28 pm:Please feel free to get involved - e.g. by adding screenshots, videos and/or reviewing/extending the contents


I just did some minor editing and added my explanation in a new section.
Control tower to a 747: “United 329 heavy, your traffic is a Fokker, one o’clock, three miles, Eastbound.”
United 239: “Approach, I’ve always wanted to say this… I’ve got the little Fokker in sight.”
User avatar
eric
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:38 pm
Location: KATL
Callsign: WJT103
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: routeplanner stir sid

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:50 pm

now i see what that previously mentioned script is for that renames and moves the xml files into the proper directories... it will have problems for any airports that have only three letter ICAO codes but i suspect that they are generally small airports and don't have such procedures... it wasn't very long ago that we moved a huge number of ICA related xml files up one directory in the scenery/Airports tree to put them in their proper place...

eg: the files for airport 00C (Animas Air Park, Durango, Colorado, USA) go in Airports/0/0, not Airports/0/0/C...

FWIW: the only *.procedures.xml file i find distributed by flightgear is [...]/Terrasync/Airports/L/F/R/LFRB.procedures.xml... the only thing i see comparing it to others found from the wiki links is that the others are missing the
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
line at the top of the file... not sure what problems may arise from the lack or existence of that line, though...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4539
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Next

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mgc and 7 guests