Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:45 am

Thanks for all the tips

I will try out all the suggestions this weekend

Regards

Mathew
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby sim » Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:12 pm

If all else fails you could set the wind to a headwind of 50 plus knots. Hold the stick forward until you're ready for take off. When ready give full throttle and ease the stick back and :lol: Grit yer teeth!
Take care to land directly into wind so you land like a helicopter (with near zero ground speed) and don't tip on the nose. :!:
User avatar
sim
 
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:13 pm
Location: Shropshire England
Callsign: Fly4Fun
Version: 0.9.10 up
OS: 64 Win 10 HD6450

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:28 pm

Today after restoring the program defaults I could take off successfully from KBOS
After that I changed the location to OMDB Dubai International , the program is stuck at the loading scenery page
If I set the location to KBOS the program loads

What could be the issue?

Regards
Mathew
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby wlbragg » Fri Jun 30, 2017 4:18 pm

OK, something still doesn't sound right to me. You said ctrl+u from OMDB moved the aircraft to 100AGL and it fell. That doesn't sound like a frozen scenery load or frozen program.

What are your system specs? Windows, what version, 32 or 64 bit? How much ram? What graphics card and how much memory on it?

If it is working correctly at another less improved airport, it may be a lack of memory problem. Try some other heavy airports and scenery areas and see if you can determine a pattern of when it freezes up.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4547
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby wlbragg » Sun Jul 02, 2017 3:34 am

@Mjk6035

Another developer familiar with the C172P suggested the following if your still having trouble.

delete his c172p.xml file in the ~/.fgfs/aircraft-data folder on Linux (somewhere else on other OSes). I am thinking that perhaps this issue with the brakes is caused by a conflict of some old property saved in that configuration file (or an old file). In my experience, when someone is seeing some bugs that no one else can reproduce, deleting that file solves it in 99% of the cases :-)


It does make sense to me this could possibly fix this. It's worth a try anyway. That is a cache file that can get bugged under certain circumstances. If you delete it, it will be replaced with a current configuration.

Thanks gilbertohasnofb for the suggestion.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4547
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Sun Jul 02, 2017 9:31 am

Thanks for the suggestion.
Will try that and get back with the results
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Sun Jul 02, 2017 9:35 am

Also please note that after restoring the program defaults the program is stuck at the 'Loading scenery' page if a location like OMDB is selected. If KBOS is selected as the location then everything works as expected

I will try after deleting the C172p.xml file
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:40 am

I tried deleting the c172p.xml file. After that the program got stuck on the 'Initializing subsystems' screen
After I put the file back the program started loading again.

I tried going to the location KLGA and selecting 'Active runway' as the initial starting point.
But the aircraft seems to be located some distance away from KLGA as per the Equipment->Map(Canvas) option
I think that is why the aircraft fails to move even after applying full throttle. It does not seem to be located on the active runway

Also even if I select a runway say '22' in KLGA the message that appears on the top middle part of the screen says that the aircraft is on runway '13' whereas I selected the location as runway '22'

Regards
Mathew
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Flyngo » Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:06 am

Another possibility: Are you on multiplayer at start? Then the plane will be automatically moved to a position "hold short of runway". On less accurately built airports this sometimes moves the plane into a ditch, on grass, into the mud, and you have to apply full throttle and pray to get out of that. (Just happened to me at Cairo International, wanted to visit the pyramids onf Giza, FG put my small prop plane to hold short - into a ditch plus a steep hill between the ditch and the runway. Took minutes of carefull maneovering to get out of the ditch, over the hill and on the runway ...;-)
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:49 pm

Thanks for the suggestion
No iI am not on multiplayer
I am trying to take off from klga

Regards
Mathew
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby wlbragg » Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:04 pm

I tried going to the location KLGA and selecting 'Active runway' as the initial starting point.
But the aircraft seems to be located some distance away from KLGA as per the Equipment->Map(Canvas) option
I think that is why the aircraft fails to move even after applying full throttle. It does not seem to be located on the active runway

Also even if I select a runway say '22' in KLGA the message that appears on the top middle part of the screen says that the aircraft is on runway '13' whereas I selected the location as runway '22'

I don't understand why this is happening. I start on a paved runway using 'Active runway'. So if your seeing dirt or grass instead of pavement then that would explain why you can't move. Some of the material definitions of the land are such that the friction is too high to taxi the aircraft.
That is one of the reasons early on in this discussion I asked if when you started the aircraft in the air by using ctrl+u if it moved that way, and it did. So that tells us that it is the surface your sitting on that is the issue. I have never seen the aircraft not roll on any paved runway.

So the question is, why aren't you starting where you are suppose to be? Do you have any hand typed options in the Settings\Additional settings section. Options you typed in, ie: --longitude-deg=xxxx.xxxx

Posting screen shots to help explain what your seeing could help.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4547
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:42 am

The first time I ran the program the aircraft was positioned on the runway and was moving without any issue.
But after that the aircraft would never be positioned on the active runway. After restoring defaults the program ran once.
After that again it is not positioned on the runway when the program starts

I have not added anything in the Settings\Additional settings section
I had taken a screenshot to attach to this post but unfortunately could not find a way to attach the screenshot to this post
It seems I have to upload the screenshot to another server then include the url in the post


Regards
Mathew
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby wlbragg » Sat Jul 08, 2017 5:16 am

It seems I have to upload the screenshot to another server then include the url in the post

Yes, that is correct. That's OK, your explanation paints a pretty clear picture.

I tried deleting the c172p.xml file. After that the program got stuck on the 'Initializing subsystems' screen
After I put the file back the program started loading again.

The idea to delete this cache file was to address something that could be causing a problem. This is a cache file that each aircraft has once you have loaded it into the sim. I could envision a potential connection to this even more so with the explanation you gave of what is happening.
The cache file in Windows is located by default at C:/Users/Wayne/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/aircraft-data/c172p.xml.
There is no reason deleting that file should cause FlightGear to fail. It should simply recreate the file.
Is that the file you deleted?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4547
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby Mjk6035 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 5:29 am

I deleted the c172p.xml from the aircraft directory under the program files directory

I will try deleting from the directory you have. Specified.

Regards
Mathew
Mjk6035
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Cessna 172sp aircraft not moving

Postby wlbragg » Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:51 am

I deleted the c172p.xml from the aircraft directory under the program files directory

That is what I thought. Yes, deleting that file will cause trouble, you deleted the actual aircraft. This cache file has a ton a aircraft specific data. It has been known to get scrambled sometimes after upgrading FG versions or aircraft.
You can view the file contents in any word processor or ASCII editor.
This is the contents of mine for the c172p. As you can see it holds quite a bit of data.
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<PropertyList>
  <sim>
    <rendering>
      <shadow-volume type="bool">true</shadow-volume>
    </rendering>
    <model>
      <occupants type="bool">true</occupants>
      <c172p>
        <securing>
          <allow-securing-aircraft type="bool">true</allow-securing-aircraft>
          <pitot-cover-visible type="bool">false</pitot-cover-visible>
          <chock type="bool">false</chock>
          <tiedownL-visible type="bool">false</tiedownL-visible>
          <tiedownR-visible type="bool">false</tiedownR-visible>
          <tiedownT-visible type="bool">false</tiedownT-visible>
        </securing>
        <cockpit>
          <control-lock-placed type="bool">false</control-lock-placed>
        </cockpit>
        <brake-parking type="double">1</brake-parking>
        <enable-fog-frost type="bool">true</enable-fog-frost>
        <garmin196-visible type="bool">true</garmin196-visible>
        <save-state type="bool">false</save-state>
        <immat-on-panel type="bool">true</immat-on-panel>
      </c172p>
      <walker n="1">
        <animate>
          <enabled-triggers type="bool">true</enabled-triggers>
          <list>
            <sequence>
              <trigger-upon type="string">Standing</trigger-upon>
            </sequence>
            <sequence n="8">
              <trigger-upon type="string">Disabled</trigger-upon>
            </sequence>
          </list>
        </animate>
      </walker>
      <livery>
        <name type="string">Custom Callsign 1</name>
      </livery>
    </model>
    <walker>
    </walker>
    <time>
      <hobbs>
        <engine type="double">923.4583334</engine>
        <engine n="1" type="double">976.4166666</engine>
      </hobbs>
    </time>
    <view n="100">
      <enabled type="bool">false</enabled>
    </view>
    <view n="101">
      <enabled type="bool">false</enabled>
    </view>
    <view n="110">
      <enabled type="bool">false</enabled>
    </view>
    <view n="111">This is the content
      <enabled type="bool">false</enabled>
    </view>
  </sim>
  <engines>
    <active-engine>
      <carb_icing_allowed type="bool">false</carb_icing_allowed>
      <oil_consumption_allowed type="bool">false</oil_consumption_allowed>
      <oil-level type="double">8</oil-level>
      <complex-engine-procedures type="bool">false</complex-engine-procedures>
    </active-engine>
    <engine>
    </engine>
  </engines>
  <fdm>
    <jsbsim>
      <settings>
        <damage type="bool">false</damage>
      </settings>
      <bushkit type="int">2</bushkit>
      <running type="bool">false</running>
    </jsbsim>
  </fdm>
  <controls>
    <engines>
      <active-engine type="int">1</active-engine>
      <current-engine>
        <throttle type="double">0</throttle>
        <mixture type="double">0</mixture>
      </current-engine>
      <engine>
        <primer-lever type="bool">false</primer-lever>
      </engine>
    </engines>
    <climate-control>
      <overhead-vent-front-left type="double">0</overhead-vent-front-left>
      <overhead-vent-front-right type="double">0</overhead-vent-front-right>
    </climate-control>
    <lighting>
      <beacon type="bool">false</beacon>
      <instruments-norm type="double">0</instruments-norm>
      <radio-norm type="double">0</radio-norm>
      <landing-lights type="bool">false</landing-lights>
      <nav-lights type="bool">falseThis is the content</nav-lights>
      <strobe type="bool">false</strobe>
      <taxi-light type="bool">false</taxi-light>
    </lighting>
    <switches>
      <magnetos type="int">0</magnetos>
      <master-bat type="bool">false</master-bat>
      <master-alt type="bool">false</master-alt>
      <master-avionics type="bool">false</master-avionics>
    </switches>
    <anti-ice>
      <engine>
        <carb-heat type="bool">false</carb-heat>
      </engine>
      <pitot-heat type="bool">false</pitot-heat>
    </anti-ice>
    <flight>
      <flaps type="double">0</flaps>
      <elevator-trim type="double">0</elevator-trim>
    </flight>
    <circuit-breakers>
      <aircond type="bool">true</aircond>
      <autopilot type="bool">true</autopilot>
      <bcnlt type="bool">true</bcnlt>
      <flaps type="bool">true</flaps>
      <instr type="bool">true</instr>
      <intlt type="bool">true</intlt>
      <landing type="bool">true</landing>
      <master type="bool">true</master>
      <navlt type="bool">true</navlt>
      <pitot-heat type="bool">true</pitot-heat>
      <radio1 type="bool">true</radio1>
      <radio2 type="bool">true</radio2>
      <radio3 type="bool">true</radio3>
      <radio4 type="bool">true</radio4>
      <radio5 type="bool">true</radio5>
      <strobe type="bool">true</strobe>
      <turn-coordinator type="bool">true</turn-coordinator>
    </circuit-breakers>
  </controls>
  <environment>
    <aircraft-effects>
      <cabin-heat-set type="double">0</cabin-heat-set>
      <cabin-air-set type="double">0</cabin-air-set>
    </aircraft-effects>
  </environment>
  <consumables>
    <fuel>
      <save-fuel-state type="bool">false</save-fuel-state>
      <contamination_allowed type="bool">false</contamination_allowed>
      <tank>
        <level-gal_us type="double">19.99570875</level-gal_us>
        <selected type="bool">true</selected>
      </tank>
      <tank n="1">
        <level-gal_us type="double">19.99570875</level-gal_us>
        <selected type="bool">true</selected>
      </tank>
    </fuel>
  </consumables>
  <instrumentation>
    <save-switches-state type="bool">false</save-switches-state>
    <dme>
      <power-btn type="bool">true</power-btn>
      <switch-min-kts type="bool">true</switch-min-kts>
      <switch-position type="int">2</switch-position>
      <frequencies>
        <source type="string">/instrumentation/nav[0]/frequencies/selected-mhz</source>
        <selected-mhz type="double">115.55</selected-mhz>
      </frequencies>
    </dme>
    <kma20>
      <test type="int">0</test>
      <auto type="int">1</auto>
      <com1 type="int">0</com1>
      <com2 type="int">0</com2>
      <nav1 type="int">0</nav1>
      <nav2 type="int">0</nav2>
      <adf type="int">0</adf>
      <dme type="int">0</dme>
      <mkr type="int">-1</mkr>
      <sens type="int">0</sens>
      <knob type="int">-1</knob>
    </kma20>
    <comm>
      <power-btn type="bool">true</power-btn>
      <volume type="double">0</volume>
      <frequencies>
        <selected-mhz type="double">119.1</selected-mhz>
        <standby-mhz type="double">125</standby-mhz>
        <dial-khz type="int">0</dial-khz>
        <dial-mhz type="int">0</dial-mhz>
      </frequencies>
    </comm>
    <nav>
      <audio-btn type="bool">false</audio-btn>
      <power-btn type="bool">true</power-btn>
      <volume type="double">0.7</volume>
      <frequencies>
        <selected-mhz type="double">115.55</selected-mhz>
        <standby-mhz type="double">109.9</standby-mhz>
        <dial-khz type="int">0</dial-khz>
        <dial-mhz type="int">0</dial-mhz>
      </frequencies>
      <radials>
        <selected-deg type="double">170</selected-deg>
      </radials>
    </nav>
    <comm n="1">
      <power-btn type="bool">true</power-btn>
      <volume type="double">0</volume>
      <frequencies>
        <selected-mhz type="double">125.25</selected-mhz>
        <standby-mhz type="double">121.9</standby-mhz>
        <dial-khz type="int">0</dial-khz>
        <dial-mhz type="int">0</dial-mhz>
      </frequencies>
    </comm>
    <nav n="1">
      <audio-btn type="bool">false</audio-btn>
      <power-btn type="bool">true</power-btn>
      <volume type="double">0.7</volume>
      <frequencies>
        <selected-mhz type="double">114.85</selected-mhz>
        <standby-mhz type="double">110.5</standby-mhz>
        <dial-khz type="int">0</dial-khz>
        <dial-mhz type="int">0</dial-mhz>
      </frequencies>
      <radials>
        <selected-deg type="double">350</selected-deg>
      </radials>
    </nav>
    <altimeter>
      <setting-inhg type="double">29.49556063</setting-inhg>
    </altimeter>
    <attitude-indicator>
    </attitude-indicator>
    <heading-indicator>
      <offset-deg type="double">-2.028160446</offset-deg>
    </heading-indicator>
    <adf>
      <rotation-deg type="double">0</rotation-deg>
      <frequencies>
        <dial-1-khz type="int">0</dial-1-khz>
        <dial-100-khz type="int">0</dial-100-khz>
        <standby-khz type="int">473</standby-khz>
        <selected-khz type="int">367</selected-khz>
      </frequencies>
      <adf-btn type="bool">false</adf-btn>
      <bfo-btn type="bool">false</bfo-btn>
      <volume-norm type="double">0.5</volume-norm>
      <power-btn type="bool">true</power-btn>
    </adf>
    <transponder>
      <inputs>
        <knob-mode type="int">4</knob-mode>
        <ident-btn type="bool">false</ident-btn>
        <digit type="int">0</digit>
        <digit n="1" type="int">0</digit>
        <digit n="2" type="int">2</digit>
        <digit n="3" type="int">1</digit>
      </inputs>
    </transponder>
  </instrumentation>
  <systems>
    <electrical>
      <save-battery-charge type="bool">false</save-battery-charge>
      <battery-charge-percent type="double">1</battery-charge-percent>
    </electrical>
  </systems>
  <autopilot>
    <settings>
    </settings>
    <KAP140>
      <settings>
      </settings>
    </KAP140>
  </autopilot>
</PropertyList>
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4547
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

PreviousNext

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest