Board index FlightGear Support Flying

How do I enable aircraft center?

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

How do I enable aircraft center?

Postby FL2070 » Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:58 am

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=28877

I read this forum, and it instructs me to do this:
- Start the Qt launcher
- Go to the settings tab
- Click a button called 'Configure Add-On Aircraft and Scenery'

But there is no such button under the settings tab.

Image

Did something change in 2016.2? I have that version, and this tutorial says it's for 2016.1.
All my sound work can be found here: http://www.thejabberwocky.net/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=416
User avatar
FL2070
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:55 pm
Location: The skies above
Callsign: FL2070
Version: 3.4 FGRun
OS: Windows 7 x64

Re: How do I enable aircraft center?

Postby elgaton » Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:53 am

Yes, the option was moved to the separate "Add-ons" tab. (Also, I think it is unnecessary to follow the tutorial you linked to - I believe that bug was fixed in 2016.2).
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: How do I enable aircraft center?

Postby Parnikkapore » Fri Jun 03, 2016 9:26 am

Is it? On Windows?

Gotta try it...
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: How do I enable aircraft center?

Postby FL2070 » Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:28 pm

Yes, I have 2016.2, but the aircraft center displays the blank page that was displayed in '16.1.
All my sound work can be found here: http://www.thejabberwocky.net/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=416
User avatar
FL2070
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:55 pm
Location: The skies above
Callsign: FL2070
Version: 3.4 FGRun
OS: Windows 7 x64

Re: How do I enable aircraft center?

Postby jaxsin » Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:36 pm

can you download aircraft in the Qt launcher? If so then the appropriate catalog has been found and the in-sim aircraft center should just work. But the main concern should be the Qt launcher as this is the future direction of this feature as I understand it.
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: How do I enable aircraft center?

Postby Hooray » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:24 pm

Update: As of yesterday, the built-in Canvas-based Aircraft Center has been entirely removed from the FlightGear GUI, and replaced with the Qt5-based GUI, the commit message saying:

https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fg ... 152d12c2a/
James Turner wrote:Needs a lot of testing, but aircraft can be installed / changed and
location adjusted from within the sim. After some number of times the
sim will crash.


Note that this means that Aircraft Center functionality will no longer be available to people if they don't also happen to use Qt5 and/or Phi (not sure if package manager functionality is provided there?), i.e. this is exactly the kind of "regression" we originally talked about, at which point we can safely dispense with the fiction that Qt5 is not going to become a required build-dependency, unlike the original statement made us believe.

Let's just hope that the removal of the Canvas-based Aircraft Center was coordinated with TheTom, especially given that the Canvas Aircraft Center -unlike its Qt5 replacement, wasn't exactly known for "crashing" FlightGear ...
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11321
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests