Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Stop crashing, fgfs.exe  Topic is solved

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:59 pm

I just got a new computer, since then, I've only completed 2 flights - the other flights have crashed during decent, right before final approach. I am using the standard approach, so I don't think the waypoints are too close. This is getting increasingly frustrating as I cannot complete any flights. I'm not sure if it's because my new computer, or FG 3.0, or the new version of the 777 I'm using.

Basically what happens is in the middle of decent, FlightGear stops responding for about 10 seconds and then it says "fgfs.exe has stopped working..." What known problems are there besides waypoints being to close?
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:01 am

By the way, I have Windows 7 2.9 GHz processor with an AMD Radeon 8540 graphics card.
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby J Maverick 16 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:25 am

MasteroftheSKIES wrote in Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:59 pm: [...] FlightGear stops responding for about 10 seconds and then it says "fgfs.exe has stopped working..." What known problems are there besides waypoints being to close?


Hello Masterofthe SKIES,
I've just read your post and I often got your same problem too: while I am flying, FG crash and says "fgfs.exe has stopped working..." :( and I can't find or fix the problem.
Somebody could help us? :idea:
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (current project: F-16).
Using Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack.
Follow me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16, Google+ and YouTube.
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 758
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, OPFOR96
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: macOS 10.12

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:02 am

I have just switched to my old computer, running no programs except FG, and it has crashed, once again, on decent. This is definitely a bug - I'm not sure if it's with the plane or if it's with FG 3.0. This problem just started happening recently.
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:13 am

Check issue 1379 for more information. Just submitted that bug report.
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:41 am

Probably the best image I could have gotten:


Image


I hope someone can help me & the other people with this! FlightGear is unflyable with this glitch...



BTW, please don't mind the tooltip in the bottom right hand corner, I'm using my nephew's Internet, it's slow and he's obsessed with GTA 5...
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby Philosopher » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:00 am

I've gotten a similar problem, but it was with the A6M2 a short time before, so maybe more of an issue with the scenery 2.0 than the aircraft. It does freeze for a little bit before giving up. Quite annoying :P

Even though I use Git, I can't give bracktraces (AFAIK, can't find any tutorial on how), so developers don't find that helpful ;). But I'm running *just* an iMac, with 4GB RAM max, and 2GB normally.

But there's a log file in [url=wiki.flightgear.org/$FG_HOME]$FG_HOME[/url] (called fgfs.log, don't use fgfs_0.log) which has more output than printed in the console. Posting that would be helpful, and I'll also post mine in the bug report. Hopefully it might lead somewhere. Hopefully the next scenery releases are also lighter ;).
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:00 pm

About the scenery problem you suggested, seems convincing, but I've had this same problem in England and in California. Is it just a coincidence? Today I'm going to do another flight using my own waypoints, and not the DEFAULT approach - as you can see from the console, it looks like it may have something to do with the route.

Anyway, here is some log data:

environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\fgmetar.cxx:153:2014/03/04 01:53 KLAX 040153Z 26010KT 10SM FEW012 BKN150 BKN200 15/11 A3005 RMK AO2 SLP174 T01500111
environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\fgmetar.cxx:157:METAR from weather.noaa.gov
instruments:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Instrumentation\gps.cxx:592:sequenced final leg, end of route
nasal:5:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Scripting\NasalSys.cxx:408:'end of flight-plan'
nasal:5:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Scripting\NasalSys.cxx:408:'end of flight-plan, deactivating'
autopilot:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Autopilot\route_mgr.cxx:756:deactivating flight plan
instruments:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Instrumentation\gps.cxx:397:GPS::route deactivated, switching to OBS mode
autopilot:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Autopilot\route_mgr.cxx:778:route manager, current-wp is now -1

environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\environment_mgr.cxx:271:FGEnvironmentMgr::updateClosestAirport: selected:KHHR
environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\realwx_ctrl.cxx:367:NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): nearest airport with METAR has changed. Old: 'KLAX', new: 'KHHR'
environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\realwx_ctrl.cxx:457:NoaaMetarRealWxController::update(): spawning load request for station-id 'KHHR'
io:4:..\..\simgear\simgear\io\raw_socket.cxx:666:isNonBlockingError: WSAGetLastError():10035
environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\fgmetar.cxx:153:2014/03/04 01:53 KHHR 040153Z 26008KT 10SM CLR 16/11 A3005 RMK AO2 SLP174 T01560106
environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\fgmetar.cxx:157:METAR from weather.noaa.gov
terrain:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Scenery\tilemgr.cxx:199:scheduling needed tiles for -118.25 33.9708, curr_bucket:w120n30/w119n33/1007355
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:488:Loading tile 1023736.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Objects/w120n30/w118n33/1023736.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Terrain/w120n30/w118n33/1023736.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:488:Loading tile 1023728.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Objects/w120n30/w118n33/1023728.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Terrain/w120n30/w118n33/1023728.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:488:Loading tile 1023744.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Objects/w120n30/w118n34/1023744.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Terrain/w120n30/w118n34/1023744.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:488:Loading tile 1023720.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Objects/w120n30/w118n33/1023720.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Terrain/w120n30/w118n33/1023720.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:488:Loading tile 1023752.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Objects/w120n30/w118n34/1023752.stg
terrain:3:..\..\simgear\simgear\scene\tgdb\ReaderWriterSTG.cxx:256:Loading stg file C:/Program Files/FlightGear/scenery/Terrain/w120n30/w118n34/1023752.stg
environment:3:..\..\..\flightgear\src\Environment\environment_mgr.cxx:271:FGEnvironmentMgr::updateClosestAirport: selected:KCPM



-------------------

I've bolded 3 lines that say that my route has been deactivated. Not sure if this has anything to do with the error. Also, on my other computer that I tested this on, I got many scenery errors as well, so it looks like your suggestion is more and more likely.
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby Philosopher » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:47 pm

Yeah - those errors shouldn't crash it, and nor should any particular route, so I'm left to believe that it's scenery causing it: distance from start and position and such. Maybe it's more likely to happen closer to the ground - since my second flight crashed earlier and I was half as "high" (aka 5000 feet then?). Aircraft doesn't seem to matter, the 777 and Zero are as different as one can be ;).
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby Johan G » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:08 pm

What happens if the end of the route is above an area that you does not have scenery for? If FlightGear would crash then as well it would definitively point towards the route manager or something related to it.
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5480
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby Philosopher » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:14 pm

I wasn't using the route manager, so I don't think it's related to that.
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby adrian » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:16 pm

Johan, I highly doubt that it could be an issue with the route manager in this case. All I see is a typical memory overload issue caused by duplicated vertexes in the scenery and the behaviour of the tile cache. I've repeatedly posted my proposal to solve this problem for short term, so I won't get into the details anymore.
adrian
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:15 pm

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby Hooray » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:20 pm

you can remove/rename the offending scenery and see if the problem persists or not, you could also use the old scenery for comparison.

re: backtraces (maybe we should copy this over to the wiki?), you need to install "gdb" and then run fgfs via gdb (or attach gdb to the process afterwards)

Subject: FlightGear Crashes Occasionally
Hooray wrote:gdb backtrace:
apt-get install -y gdb
Code: Select all
gdb fgfs
run fgfs --aircraft=ufo --airport=koak
bt

or if that's not conclusive, run "thread apply all bt full" instead of bt



Subject: [CLOSED] Fg 3.1 continues crashing
Hooray wrote:the log file in $FG_HOME would help - use --log-level=debug to get all the info - use a gdb backtrace with "thread apply all bt full" to get a more useful backtrace, and then please use the issue tracker to post the backtrace.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11326
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby Thorsten » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:47 pm

For everyone running 2.0 scenery, the first diagnostics in case of crashes should at present be to revert to 1.0 scenery and see if the problem persists. As Adrian said, memory is the first suspect at this time.

The communication policy with the release announcement about this has been... less than optimal despite preceding discussion on the mailing list. Perhaps we could get at least a sticky forum post 'Try this first when experiencing crashes?'
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10839
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Stop crashing, fgfs.exe

Postby MasteroftheSKIES » Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:14 pm

Thanks for all the responses, how can I go back to the 1.0 scenery? I use the graphical interface for my scenery.
I would use FSX but I use FlightGear because it's a project with goals.

Windows 7; Processor: 8 core 4 GHz; 8GB RAM; Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (a pretty good graphics card if you're wondering)
MasteroftheSKIES
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:10 am
Version: 3.2
OS: Windows 7

Next

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests