Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Chat Message

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Chat Message

Postby GhostRider » Wed Feb 12, 2014 11:13 pm

What key gets you out of the "chat messaging" mode.

Thanks in Advance
GhostRider
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: KDFW
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Windows

Re: Chat Message

Postby Johan G » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:05 am

If you are referring to the ATC chat menu (orange text overlaid to the upper left in the FlightGear window), press the escape key.
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5278
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Chat Message

Postby GhostRider » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:02 pm

No, I was referring to deactivating "Chat Message" . There are times when I am in this mode that I can't escape out of it, e.g. when I press the keystroke "v" the screen brings up Chat Message:v in a "liitle black window". If I press aaaa to increase the speed of the sim, I get "Chat Message:aaaa". I want to get the sim out of that mode, otherwise I'll end up crashing.

Thanks in Advance
GhostRider
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: KDFW
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Windows

Re: Chat Message

Postby Berserker » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:14 pm

Try pressing ESC
Favorite Planes on FG: F-14, A-10, A-4, A-6, F-18, Cessna Skymaster, MiG-21, MiG-15, Mirage 2000, and the B-1B.

Only the dead have seen the end of war - Plato
User avatar
Berserker
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: U.S.A
Callsign: Ironman
Version: 3.2
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Chat Message

Postby chris_blues » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:42 am

I've also experienced this. Only sometimes.
You activate this feature by pressing _ . Then a small window opens where you can type a chat message. And sometimes this window won't close again. My guess is, that it looses the focus somehow. Sometimes pressing Enter helps, but releases some stupid chat message...
But since I've got myself a joystick, and I'm not as much on the keyboard, this hasn't happened anymore. :roll:
Don't hesitate to let me know if I'm incorrect or just annoying! As long as you do it gently! :)
Debian testing 64bit - Athlon II 2x2.6GHz - 8GB RAM - GeForce GTS 450
Citation II
User avatar
chris_blues
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: claws of real life
Callsign: chris_blues
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 8 64

Re: Chat Message

Postby Cpt Goosnen » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:37 am

in my case it happens often when i hasty need the third engine control "#" and i pressed "_" also
then the atc window come up where the close button never worked, and i first have to realize that i had pressed "_"

than press "_" again and it close!!!

but its not the chatwindow its the atc...
actually quite still naive
User avatar
Cpt Goosnen
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 5:08 am
Location: direct north of EDDF's rnwy18
Callsign: Arse
Version: 3.0
OS: atari

Re: Chat Message

Postby Johannes » Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:59 pm

Sometimes I have also these problem with the chat message. When I click on the icon left of the pilots name in the pilots list, then I get the box for the chat message for that pilot, but sometimes it won't disappear (as you already wrote). It's very annoying, because the only solution I know, is restarting FlightGear. So I hope that it will be fixed soon!
Johannes
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:41 am
OS: Arch Linux

Re: Chat Message

Postby GhostRider » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:31 pm

Thank you. I thought I was the only one who had these problems. Your solution was right. Drives you crazy after flying from KBOS to KSFO and you are close to landing, but the Chat Message window won't go away, e.g. If you press your flaps down key (]) you get the "Chat Message: ]" little black box window.

Later
GhostRider
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: KDFW
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Windows

Re: Chat Message

Postby Jeorje » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:14 am

My Chat Message Window does not receive messages from ATC and other players since August 2016.

What is the problem?

In the pilot list all pilots are shown with same distance something unusual.
Jeorje
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 8:14 am

Re: Chat Message

Postby it0uchpods » Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:30 pm

I can't get rid of it either.

Typing anything puts it into the thing, only fix I find is restart FGFS :(
it0uchpods/WTF411

Do not expect immediate responses. I do not log in often. I do not answer PMs from non-admins.
I only monitor IDG Development and Support Threads. Everything else is ignored.
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hanger
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3317
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Chat Message

Postby Lydiot » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:44 am

How can this still be a problem? It's so weird. I just encountered it as well..... :-(
Lydiot
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Chat Message

Postby Necolatis » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:06 am

One simple workaround:

Chat using "Menu->Multiplayer->Chat Dialog" instead. :)
Last edited by Necolatis on Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Chat Message

Postby Lydiot » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:25 am

That's what I always do, Necolatis. Unfortunately it's possible to activate this by mistake. My several-hour-long flight today ended with nothing because i couldn't even lower the gear....
Lydiot
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Chat Message

Postby Necolatis » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:26 am

Yeah, I agree, have done that myself also. :(
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Chat Message

Postby condab » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:40 am

Just came across this thread randomly.

I'm shocked to see that some people here have classed this as a 'problem' of all things in FlightGear. It is not a problem, and the feature is implemented to increase chat efficiency with one keyboard shortcut.

The fact that it is FG's fault that you missed the '_' key and hit another one just astounds me...

If you guys had read above, two users already suggested a solution to the problem, which was to press the escape key (ESC) :|
Callsign: DAL049 or AAL049
Aircraft I Fly: EC130, EC135, 777, 787, Grumman F-14B, Piper PA-34 Seneca II, Piper PA-32 Cherokee Six, Piper PA-28 Cherokee Warrior II, Piper PA-24 Comanche 250, Piper PA-18 Super Cub, Cessna 172P Skyhawk
User avatar
condab
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:49 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Callsign: condab / DAL049
IRC name: condab / treefrog
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11.6

Next

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests