Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Noob Help

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Noob Help

Postby ruoccop » Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:17 am

Hello,
Apologies, but I'm stuck.

I'm completely new to this and have been trying to fly the default Cessna.

After following the tutorials, I, of course, managed to crash the plane in the grass near the runway.
Now, every time I try and start up, I am stuck in the grass.

I can auto-start the engine, but the plane will not move (brakes are off, everything is on according to what the tutorial said to do, but just won't budge).
I reset the damage, too, but still no movement.

Heck, I've even tried uninstalling and then re-installing Flightgear (including deleting the settings) but I always find myself in the same green patch unable to move.

Change the airport? Same thing.

I'm trying to be positive because this looks like it will be a lot of fun - but not right now!

Can anyone suggest what the problem might be? Apart from the pilot, I mean!

Thanks!
ruoccop
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:08 am

Re: Noob Help

Postby ludomotico » Wed Sep 16, 2020 8:41 am

My suggestions:

- Check you are really changing the airport! This might be a bug specific to the airport you are testing.
- You can spawn on the runway or on a parking spot. Parking spots may be problematic: they may be occupied, or slightly off the apron, or on grass. Spawn on a runway, not a parking spot, at least until you have some experience controlling the aircraft on ground.
- On grass, you need extra power to start moving. Like, much more power.
- In the external view (press v), check the wheels are free and the aircraft is not tied to the ground.
- Finally... check other aircraft! The C172P is a very detailed modeled aircraft specially regarding starting procedures and systems. Maybe there is something you are missing, you can try other aircraft for starters and come back when you are ready! The DR-400, the Cub or the Piper PA28 are very nice alternatives, among many others.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Noob Help

Postby wlbragg » Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:22 pm

After following the tutorials, I, of course, managed to crash the plane in the grass near the runway.
Now, every time I try and start up, I am stuck in the grass.

How come your still starting up in the grass?You should ne starting back up at the location you choose at startup not where you left off.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5655
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Noob Help

Postby ruoccop » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:55 pm

I've tried changing airport, but to no avail. I even tried changing the runway.
I've tried ramping up the throttle - still won't move.

I would like to reset the game, but uninstalling/re-installing left me in the same position.

Are the settings something that can be wiped manually, maybe?
ruoccop
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:08 am

Re: Noob Help

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:21 pm

Any chance we can see a picture of what it is you see? What your describing is not something I have not ever heard of happening.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5655
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Noob Help

Postby ludomotico » Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:23 pm

ruoccop wrote in Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:55 pm:Are the settings something that can be wiped manually, maybe?


If you are using Windows, delete folder "C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\flightgear.org\"

In Linux, it is in "$HOME/.local/something/fgfs" (fixed) "$HOME/.fgfs"

Anyway, I agree with wlbragg and you are the first I remember reporting that "the aircraft is always on grass" even after changing the airport. Are you sure it is grass? Have you checked with the external view that chocks are not installed and the aircraft is not tied to the ground?

Chocks:

Image

Tie-downs:

Image

What happens if you don't tie down the aircraft during the windy season: https://twitter.com/4cast4you/status/11 ... 7881438208

The C172P is one of the few aircraft in FlightGear with these options, but they are unset by default (as far as I know) You can activate or deactivate chocks and tie-downs in the "c172p" menu or just by clicking on them in the external view (press "v")
Last edited by ludomotico on Sat Sep 19, 2020 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Noob Help

Postby ruoccop » Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:24 am

No chocks.

Even weirder. It appears I'm not on the grass - though it looks that way, I'm just stuck in mid-air (with the parked planes)!

Unfortunately can't figure out how to post a pic on here (probably a valid reason to disqualify me from flying, frankly!), so will try deleting the settings.


Genuine thanks for trying to help me!
ruoccop
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:08 am

Re: Noob Help

Postby Gijs » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:32 am

See viewtopic.php?f=19&t=8873 for instructions on how to post images to the forum.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9444
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Noob Help

Postby danielHL » Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:41 am

Any chance that the simulation is paused after reset? try hitting "p" on the keyboard.

Another thing: if you have multiplayer enabled and you start the sim with initial position on a runway, you will instead be spawned on a "hold-short" position next to the runway. On some airports, this hold-short position is wrong and you will be on the grass next to the runway.

Cheers,
Daniel
danielHL / D-FMPW
danielHL
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 6:23 pm
Callsign: D-FMPW
Version: next
OS: Linux

Re: Noob Help

Postby V12 » Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:25 am

For MP spawn please on the parking position.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1870
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Noob Help

Postby wlbragg » Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:16 pm

It appears I'm not on the grass - though it looks that way, I'm just stuck in mid-air (with the parked planes)!

What version are you using?
What launcher are you using?
What are you selecting in the startup menu for your starting location?
Can you provide a step-by-step of what you do to start up?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5655
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Noob Help

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:16 pm

ludomotico wrote in Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:23 pm:
ruoccop wrote in Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:55 pm:Are the settings something that can be wiped manually, maybe?


If you are using Windows, delete folder "C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\flightgear.org\"

In Linux, it is in "$HOME/.local/something/fgfs"

on linux, the actual location is $HOME/.fgfs (aka ~/.fgfs)...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6551
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest