Board index FlightGear Support Flying

F16 Cant take off

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

F16 Cant take off

Postby BjornGANGSTA » Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:05 pm

Hello, I have a problem when flying the F16. When I change the controls with tab, so you see the +. I can only go from left to right but I can't take off. Also when using the numbers. I can fly nomally in the cessna but the F16 doesn't work.
BjornGANGSTA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby J Maverick 16 » Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:50 pm

Hi, in the F-16 the arrows are used for slewing the cursor on the CRM page of the MFD. Therefore it would be better to use at least a mouse or better a joystick.
Regards, Mav
Breakin' the sound barrier every day!

Scenery designer, basic livery maker, aircraft developer (KC-137R, F-16, A330, C-32J, MH-60)
Flying with Thrustmaster FCS Flight Pack + MFD Cougar
Find me also on Instagram & Twitter @j_maverick16 and YouTube
User avatar
J Maverick 16
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:26 pm
Location: Northern Italy
Callsign: J-Mav16, REBEL84
Version: 2020.1.1
OS: macOS 10.12.6

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby BjornGANGSTA » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 pm

Well I have tried with the mouse and the arrow keys and I still cant get the F16 in the air.
BjornGANGSTA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:02 pm

Do you see a response of the elevons, when you move your pitch controls?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7675
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby Necolatis » Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:15 am

BjornGANGSTA wrote in Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 pm:Well I have tried with the mouse and the arrow keys and I still cant get the F16 in the air.


As Jmav said, arrow keys is used for the radar and cannot be used to control the plane with.

Use mouse or numpad keys.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby BjornGANGSTA » Wed Jul 29, 2020 4:33 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:02 pm:Do you see a response of the elevons, when you move your pitch controls?
Nope nothing is moving
BjornGANGSTA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby BjornGANGSTA » Wed Jul 29, 2020 4:35 pm

Necolatis wrote in Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:15 am:
BjornGANGSTA wrote in Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 pm:Well I have tried with the mouse and the arrow keys and I still cant get the F16 in the air.


As Jmav said, arrow keys is used for the radar and cannot be used to control the plane with.

Use mouse or numpad keys.

As i have said i've already tried numpad and mouse controls. :|
BjornGANGSTA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:15 pm

I assume your engine is running (i.e. the hydraulics are thus powered?)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7675
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby BjornGANGSTA » Wed Jul 29, 2020 7:20 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:15 pm:I assume your engine is running (i.e. the hydraulics are thus powered?)

Yep I have also tried a quick start.
BjornGANGSTA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby PH-JAKE » Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:10 pm

Okay, let's see, I'm flying this plane from the keyboard all the time, so it should be possible. Let's cover the basics first. I'm using the standard keyboard mapping, no tweaks other then this for the view. Make sure the numlock is on, because you need the numbers on the numeric keypad for flight controls.

Once the engine is running release the brakes and push the power up to 90% (using Keypad-9). Keep the heading using Keypad-0 and Keypad-Enter for rudder control. Once the speed reaches about 160 kts rotate the plane, using Keypad-2 repeatedly. Once rotate off the runway you probably need Keypad-8 to keep the nose under control. That's how it works here. You can see a video of it in the linked post.
PH-JAKE
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:53 pm
Callsign: PH-JAKE
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Debian bullseye

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:19 pm

also, make sure there are no other controllers connected which may send conflicting signals... we've seen this before when someone had their RC controller connected and were trying to use keyboard or joystick...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6497
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby BjornGANGSTA » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:04 am

PH-JAKE wrote in Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:10 pm:Okay, let's see, I'm flying this plane from the keyboard all the time, so it should be possible. Let's cover the basics first. I'm using the standard keyboard mapping, no tweaks other then this for the view. Make sure the numlock is on, because you need the numbers on the numeric keypad for flight controls.

Once the engine is running release the brakes and push the power up to 90% (using Keypad-9). Keep the heading using Keypad-0 and Keypad-Enter for rudder control. Once the speed reaches about 160 kts rotate the plane, using Keypad-2 repeatedly. Once rotate off the runway you probably need Keypad-8 to keep the nose under control. That's how it works here. You can see a video of it in the linked post.
Nope still nothing
BjornGANGSTA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:02 pm

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby PH-JAKE » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:30 am

BjornGANGSTA wrote in Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:04 am:Nope still nothing

Okay, this is getting weird. Assuming there are no other controllers interfering (as mentioned by others), we'll have to look further.

With the aircraft powered up and stationary on the ground, you can switch to helicopter view. Now have a sideways look at the aft section of the plane. If you operate Keypad-0 and Keypad-Enter you should see the rudder move. Operating the Keypad-8 and Keypad-2 you should see the stabilators move.

Some other thing I didn't verify is that the F-16 can incur damage, and I'm not sure it's persistent, so I don't know if it's relevant but trying the Repair option may be something as well.

After this we could look at the F-16 persistent settings XML file and nuke that, maybe it interferes somehow. Then have to find a way to test the control inputs in FG itself I guess.
PH-JAKE
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:53 pm
Callsign: PH-JAKE
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Debian bullseye

Re: F16 Cant take off

Postby Thorsten » Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:11 am

Then have to find a way to test the control inputs in FG itself I guess.


Just look into the properties under /controls - that contains what FG currently thinks you're providing as input. From there trace the input through the FDM (since that is a fly by wire system, it might be a more complicated venture...)
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests