Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Waypoint addition

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Waypoint addition

Postby jtprophet » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:27 pm

Hey fellow simmers,

I am trying to create a flight plan through the route planner in FG and coming to a situation that the some of the waypoints after departure are not there when you try and add it. For example my flight begins at KCLT and uses the JOJJO3 departure; the sid calls for WAYDS next for the flight following and it apparently is not in the database; can I add this manually to one of the files on my pc?

Thank-you,

John.
Last edited by Gijs on Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No need to capslock your title ;-)
jtprophet
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm

Re: WAYPOINT ADDITION

Postby tdammers » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:58 pm

This is because FG uses a very old dataset; a lot of navaids, airports, fixes, etc., have changed IRL since, so if you plan in, say, skyvector, you will frequently get mismatches like these.

IIRC, fixes are in FGDATA, under /Navaids/fix.dat.gz, in a format that should be very easy to figure out.

BTW., if anyone knows of a free source from where to pull up-to-date fix data, and ideally also SIDs and STARs I'm all ears.
tdammers
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:35 am
Callsign: NL256
IRC name: nl256

Re: WAYPOINT ADDITION

Postby jtprophet » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:34 pm

Ah, of course it is editable awesome! Thanks so much for the quick reply.

John.
jtprophet
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm

Re: WAYPOINT ADDITION

Postby it0uchpods » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:37 pm

Also, if you download a gpx from skyvector with them in, they will work.

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3522
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: WAYPOINT ADDITION

Postby CaptB » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:42 am

Couldn't we just amend the dataset with information published by respective AIPs?
CaptB
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:36 pm
Callsign: EKCH_AP
IRC name: CAPTB
Version: 2018.1
OS: Xubuntu, Win7 64

Re: Waypoint addition

Postby jtprophet » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:17 pm

so Josh are you saying if I import the gpx the A320 will follow the route even without the missing fixes? What does the gpx add perhaps the gps coordinates?

Thank-you.

John
jtprophet
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm

Re: Waypoint addition

Postby PINTO » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:48 pm

Yes, the .gpx uses lat/lon instead of relying on FG's internal database.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (link to repo) (link to thread)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests