Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Honeycomb Bravo - Invert Axis

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Honeycomb Bravo - Invert Axis

Postby Olaf Rogat » Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:43 pm

Dear All,

I am new to FlightGear and to this Forum as well.

My System is an Ubuntu 21.10 Operating System running FlightGear 2020.3.6. Hardware is a HP Envy All in one Computer with a Nvidia-Card.

I am a lucky owner of "Honeycomb Aeronautical Alpha Flight Controls" and "Honeycomb Aeronautical Bravo Throttle Quadrant" and currently be working on specific xml-files to be used with the Cessna 172.
For now the xml-files seems to work fine with two exceptions (if somebody is interested I share the xml files). For these issues I am asking for help:

1. It seems to be that the number of switches is limited. Therefore, I cannot use all of them. In my opinion this is not an issue of Linux since I can identify all switches and axis using "jstest". Is there a trick to use all switches?

2. I would like to invert the axis of the Bravo Throttle Quadrant. I use the following code in my xml file to control the throttle-axis:

<axis n="0">
<desc>Throttle</desc>
<binding>
<command>nasal</command>
<script>controls.throttleAxis(1)</script>
</binding>
</axis>

The "1" in controls.throttleAxis(1) should have solved the problem but doesn't. It makes no difference to put "1", "0", "-1" or nothing as a parameter.

It would be nice to receive a hint how to solve this issue.
Thanks to everyone
Olaf
Olaf Rogat

Re: Honeycomb Bravo - Invert Axis

Postby SurferTim » Tue Jan 04, 2022 3:15 pm

The jstest calibration allows you to invert the input.
Select "Calibration", then check the "invert" box.
Edit: jscal should be kinda similar, except the min and max values will be inverted.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
SurferTim