Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

CH flightsim yoke and throttle

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

CH flightsim yoke and throttle

Postby shoes » Fri Dec 18, 2020 9:10 pm

Hi folks, This will be rambling ,my computer and fltgear recognized my yoke and most things work ok, however the rich/lean lever does not work ,when I am on the joystick settings menu and I move the lever the numbers change but the lever on the plane does not. I am not very tech savvy, but any help would be appreciated.
p.s. I know I can assign other buttons but being and old guy and former pilot I want to keep it as real as possible. Thanks ,shoes
shoes

Re: CH flightsim yoke and throttle

Postby Michat » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:28 pm

Hi shoes, welcome to FG. I made some investigation over the xml code that should command your CH yoke in FG.

The file which is called pro-yoke-usb.xml resides in flightgear/Input/Joysticks/CH folder.

Please go to that folder and open the pro-yoke-usb.xml with a code/text editor of your preference.

Once is open you'll see a lot of xml code tags. No worries, just go to line 28-36, and you''l find this code fragment:

Code: Select all
LINE 28
<axis n="2">
  <desc>Throttle</desc>
  <binding>
   <command>nasal</command>
   <script>controls.throttleAxis()</script>
  </binding>
 </axis>

LINE 36
 <axis>
  <desc>Mixture</desc>
  <number>
    <unix>3</unix>
    <mac>3</mac>
    <windows>4</windows>
  </number>
  <binding>
   <command>property-scale</command>
   <property>/controls/engines/engine[0]/mixture</property>
   <offset type="double">-1.0</offset>
   <factor type="double">-0.5</factor>
  </binding>
  <binding>
   <property>/controls/engines/engine[1]/mixture</property>
  </binding>
 </axis>

Notice that in line 28 the axis is assigned to <axis n="2"> <desc>Throttle</desc>

However, in line 36 the axis mixture is defined but not assigned,to any axis number that
for windows must be <axis n="4"> (assuming you are using windows)

<axis>
<desc>Mixture</desc>
<number>