Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Config of keybindings on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Config of keybindings on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Postby vedoge » Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:23 am

Hello, I am completely new to Flightgear, and I find that I want to change a couple of keybindings. Any idea on how to do this?
vedoge

Re: Config of keybindings on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Postby Johan G » Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:09 pm

vedoge wrote in Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:23 am:Hello, I am completely new to Flightgear [...]

Hi and Welcome to FlightGear and the forum! :D

vedoge wrote in Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:23 am:I find that I want to change a couple of keybindings. Any idea on how to do this?

Some keyboard bindings are defined in a configuration file that loads with FlightGear, some are defined in aircraft configuration files.

The bindings that always load are defined in $FG ROOT/keyboard.xml. Do not change the bindings there, as that file might be overwritten when you update your FlightGear version. Instead overlay those bindings in a file that you load with a --config switch. Settings in such a file will replace any other settings.

The bindings that are aircraft specific are typically defined in the <Aircraft>-set.xml file. You can define them there or, using conditions and IIRC the /sim/model property, in the file mentioned above.

These FlightGear wiki articles should be a good starting point (see also related articles at the bottom of these ones):

Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Some YouTube videos
Johan G

Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 2020.3.4

Postby vedoge » Fri Jul 24, 2020 6:23 am

Alright, thanks so much! WIll check it out.
vedoge

Postby vedoge » Fri Jul 24, 2020 6:38 am

Also, for some reason uncommenting line 39 does not seem to give me the keycodes, are they ASCII-standard or are they different?