Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Kaosiia » Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:52 pm

Hello,

I am currently trying to create a dual monitor display. I would like the bigger monitor to contain the 'outside world view' and the smaller monitor to contain the 'instrument panel'. I have been trying for a bit and I cannot seem to get this to work. What I have done so far is create an another 'preference.xml' file than editing the 'preference.xml' file. I have used --config in my batch file so that I can open flightgear with this new camera configuration in the new 'preference.xml'. My only problem is creating the configuration that shows one dispay as 'outside world view' and the other as 'instrument panel'. Please if anyone can help with a configuration code or steps that will be super helpful.

My small monitor has a resolution of 1920 x 1080 and the bigger monitor has a resolution of 3440x1440. Thank you. !

PS; I have added what I have currently. Thank you guys so much!


<PropertyList>
<sim>
<rendering>
<camera-group>
<camera>
<window>
<name type="string">secondary</name>
<host-name type="string"></host-name>
<display>0</display>
<screen>1</screen>
<fullscreen type = "bool">false</fullscreen>
<decoration type = "bool">true</decoration>
<x>1920</x>
<y>0</y>
<width>1920</width>
<height>1080</height>
<overrideRedirect type="bool">true</overrideRedirect>
</window>
</camera>
<camera>
<window>
<name type="string">main</name>
<host-name type="string"></host-name>
<display>0</display>
<screen>2</screen>
<decoration type="bool">true</decoration>
<fullscreen type="bool">false</fullscreen>
<overrideRedirect type="bool">true</overrideRedirect>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<width>3440</width>
<height>1440</height>
</window>
</camera>
<camera>
<name type="string">top</name>
<window>
<name>main</name>
</window>
<view>
<heading-deg type="double">0.0</heading-deg>
<roll-deg type="double">0.0</roll-deg>
<pitch-deg type="double">0.0</pitch-deg>
</view>
<viewport>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<width>3440</width>
<height>1440</height>
</viewport>
</camera>

<camera>
<name type="string">bottom</name>
<window>
<name>secondary</name>
</window>
<view>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<heading-deg type="double">-20.0</heading-deg>
<roll-deg type="double">0.0</roll-deg>
<pitch-deg type="double">0.0</pitch-deg>
</view>
<right-of-perspective>
<parent-camera>top</parent-camera>
</right-of-perspective>
<viewport>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<width>3440</width>
<height>1440</height>
</viewport>
<physical-dimensions>
<width>0.528</width>
<height>0.298</height>
<bezel>
<top>0.013</top>
<left>0.013</left>
<bottom>0.018</bottom>
<right>0.013</right>
</bezel>
</physical-dimensions>
</camera>


<gui>
<window>
<name type="string">main</name>
</window>
</gui>
</camera-group>
</rendering>
</sim>
</PropertyList>
Kaosiia
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:06 am

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Hooray » Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:50 pm

Kaosiia (via PM) wrote:Hello,

I have been reading the forums and i am wondering and hoping you can assist me. I honestly do not know what to do anymore.
I am trying to have my instrument panel on flight gear displayed on one separate monitor and the outside world view displayed above on another separate monitor.

I tried toggling the 2D instrument panel on flightgear but it is too small and when i enlarge it it becomes to big it doesn't fit on the screen. What i want is for the 2D panel to be at the bottom and the outside world view on the top. I also want the HUD display to be seen on the outside world view when it is activated.

I have tried posting on the forums, but nobody seems to respond to me.

Please any sort of help and assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.



For starters, I'd suggest to check out the following wiki pages:

http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGPanel
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Phi
http://wiki.flightgear.org/FlightGear_TQPanel
http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGQCanvas
http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGCanvas

This should provide a fairly comprehensive overview about the options available, so that you can compare the pros & cons of different approaches.
Please feel free to get in touch after evaluting those - ideally, using the public forum.

It would be great if you could document your journey, e.g. by creating a wiki page with a table to provide a comparison - so that people interested in similar efforts, can more easily see what's available already.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Puffergas » Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:41 am

This WebPanel looks interesting. The big plus is a working example.

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Create ... instrument

I am a Raspberry Pi fan so FGPanel looks interesting. Will it display the aircraft panel of the plane that is flying?
Puffergas
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:09 am

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby SurferTim » Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:06 am

I developed a Python/PyGame panel not long ago that will run on the FG computer or a remote.
You can changed a bunch of stuff easily. Size, background, instrument position, different airspeed indicators (100kt, 200kt, 400kt max)
Windows 10 or Debian/Ubuntu. I'm testing this morning on my RPi3.
Image
I haven't completed the VOR/ILS instruments yet.
http://www.prolectron.com/flightgear/PiratesPanel.zip

Correction Edit: Runs on RPi3. I gotta spend more time reading the display. Sometimes I am an idiot.
top reports
27% CPU when connected.

The artificial horizon is good for multiple rolls and loops as long as the aircraft outputs correct attitude data.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Hooray » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:45 pm

Hey, that looks pretty cool - if you haven't already, you should definitely consider adding a corresponding article to the wiki, and maybe a heads-up to the newsletter - possibly in conjunction with a few more screen shots or videos (youtube).

Also, we might want to come up with a dedicated category for such software panels
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby SurferTim » Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:40 pm

It's pretty simple. Runs like Windows, or multiple Arduinos. Each instrument is a "window" on a "screen".
Each instrument module (window) has a setup and loop function. Setup is run once, and the loop is iterative run in turn.
It ran fine for me all morning on my RPi3.

Actually, this started as an attempt to get Air Manager to allow me to write an interface for their product.
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=36560
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby SurferTim » Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:10 am

If somebody in charge would set up a section in the wiki for me where you think it belongs, point me there and I'll publish a manual.

I have the capability of producing YouTube videos, and set up for live streaming.

Easy to add instruments. As an example, here is the code for the 200kt airspeed indicator:
Code: Select all
#!/usr/bin/env python

import pygame,sys
import gvars

lxpos = 0
lypos = 0

def init(xpos,ypos):
   global font, lxpos, lypos, bezel, airspeed, pointer
   lxpos = xpos
   lypos = ypos

   pygame.init()

   try:
      bezel = pygame.image.load("./airspeed200/ring.gif")
   except:
      print("ring.gif not found")
      sys.exit()

   try:
      airspeed = pygame.image.load("./airspeed200/airspeed2.gif")
   except:
      print("no airspeed4.gif")
      sys.exit()

   try:
      pointer = pygame.image.load("./airspeed200/longpointer.png")
   except:
      print("no longpointer.png")
      sys.exit()


def loop(num):
   global font, lxpos, lypos, bezel, airspeed, pointer

# Change display to new data here

   speed = float(gvars.newdata[gvars.AIRSPEED])

   if speed > 220.00 :
      speed = 220.00

   rot_airspeed = pygame.transform.rotate(pointer,360 - (speed * 1.50))

   rot_airspeed_rect = pointer.get_rect()
   rot_airspeed_rect.center = rot_airspeed.get_rect().center
   rot_airspeed = rot_airspeed.subsurface(rot_airspeed_rect).copy()

   gvars.screen.blit(airspeed,(int(lxpos)+1,int(lypos)+2))
   gvars.screen.blit(bezel,(int(lxpos),int(lypos)))
   gvars.screen.blit(rot_airspeed,(int(lxpos),int(lypos)))


Edit: The main disadvantage is no anti-aliasing. I'm working on it.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Hooray » Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:43 pm

you can simply create a new article, we will help you review/refine and rework/update the article as needed - for instance, see the stub created at: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Portal:Embedded

To get started, refer to: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Help:Contents
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby SurferTim » Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:11 pm

Thanks. I'll check it out.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Kaosiia » Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:31 am

Hooray wrote in Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:50 pm:
Kaosiia (via PM) wrote:Hello,

I have been reading the forums and i am wondering and hoping you can assist me. I honestly do not know what to do anymore.
I am trying to have my instrument panel on flight gear displayed on one separate monitor and the outside world view displayed above on another separate monitor.

I tried toggling the 2D instrument panel on flightgear but it is too small and when i enlarge it it becomes to big it doesn't fit on the screen. What i want is for the 2D panel to be at the bottom and the outside world view on the top. I also want the HUD display to be seen on the outside world view when it is activated.

I have tried posting on the forums, but nobody seems to respond to me.

Please any sort of help and assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.



For starters, I'd suggest to check out the following wiki pages:

http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGPanel
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Phi
http://wiki.flightgear.org/FlightGear_TQPanel
http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGQCanvas
http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGCanvas

This should provide a fairly comprehensive overview about the options available, so that you can compare the pros & cons of different approaches.
Please feel free to get in touch after evaluting those - ideally, using the public forum.

It would be great if you could document your journey, e.g. by creating a wiki page with a table to provide a comparison - so that people interested in similar efforts, can more easily see what's available already.



Ok...I looked at the documentation and I think using the fgpanel is best. But the wiki does not give much or any information on how to implement the fgpanel. I have two monitors and I just want one of the monitors to show the instrument panel only and the other monitor the outside view. Please do you have any idea how to implement this? Ive been trying to figure it out with the little information provided in the wiki.

Thank you so much.
Kaosiia
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:06 am

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Gijs » Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:55 am

Did you look at the readme that's linked on the FGPanel wiki? It provides some details in how to set it up: https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fl ... nel/README Feel free to ask if that's not sufficient to get you going.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9548
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: dual monitor display. instrument panel on one monitor

Postby Kaosiia » Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:57 pm

I have set up the 3 files needed. But I don't know how to run fgpanel itself.

fgpanel --fg-root=/path/to/fg/data --panel=Aircraft/c172p/Panels/MyCessnaPanel.xml

does not work for me.
Is fgpanel an application like flightgear is?
Becausw when I search for it in the flightgear directory, it is a json file and html file that opens up on internet explorer but does not display anything.
Kaosiia
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:06 am


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests