Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Yoke vs stick

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Yoke vs stick

Postby jbaniqued » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:37 pm

I'm new to Flight Gear and new to this forum. I am a licensed, single engine land, instrument rated pilot. I run Windows 10 on an Intel I7 processor. I just recently started flying with Flight Gear. I am using an old MS Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 Joystick, very imprecise! I mainly use Flight Gear for GA aircraft, particularly for ISL approach practice. I want to replace the joystick. What is the best yoke and what is the best stick for Flight Gear? Also, which is the best, yoke or joystick, for GA aircraft flying. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
jbaniqued

Re: Yoke vs stick

Postby hamzaalloush » Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:53 am

Hello and welcome to the Flightgear forum,

I've tried various joysticks and a couple of yokes for Flightgear, with feedback from a multi-engine commercial pilot who's also an advanced sim user and we actually cycled together the same hardware, for a consumer level yoke there's only a couple of options, the CH Products and Saitek,

While the Saitek is a more polished product with some bells and whistles, it was surprisingly the CH Products that offers the most precision and control, unlike the Saitek which has a known issue with sensor reading near the center[1][2][3], with the CH Products the elevator movement through the center is predictable, throttle, prop, and mixture levers all within finger reach and have really nice tactile feedback from small inputs, it's that simple there's no need for additional pieces of expensive hardware on your desk for those.