Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Joystick Button Configaration  Topic is solved

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:29 pm

Hi all I have just come across a great bit of software to configure your joystick. I have been trying to configure a button for reverse thrust for the 777 by trying (ALWAYS unsuccessfully) to re-write the xml codes. STOP trying guys and download this little bit of software https://sourceforge.net/projects/antimi ... p_redirect . Start it click on any spare button on your joystick then click the highlighted box it will come up with a keyboard click on "delete" key for say reverse thrust on the 777 save the config' and hay presto all done reverse thrust now works on the key you set on your joystick!!!! Better than numerous times (and failing) of trying to re-write and bind keys in the xml codes of your joystick!!! It will save you hours if like me you really aren't too sure about coding, also if you do know how to code it saves you the hassle!!! :D :D :D :D
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
Clive2670
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby sim » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:15 pm

When it will write code to do as many things that a single button can do, we'll give it a go!
Will it write code to reverse thrust, open speedbrakes or airbrakes, apply brakes and even lock tailwheel (if fitted)
and then reverse all those actions once button is released? 8)
THIS ONE DOES >>
Code: Select all
<button n="5">   <desc>T2  024-ReverseThrust, X_BRAKES           13-Tailwheel, 5-AirBrake, X-CUT:POWER</desc>
 <binding>
 <command>property-assign</command> <property>/controls/gear/brake-left</property> <value type="double">1.0</value> </binding> <binding> <command>property-assign</command> <property>/controls/gear/brake-right</property> <value type="double">1.0</value> </binding> <repeatable type="bool">false</repeatable>
 <binding>
 <command>nasal</command>
      <script>
props.setAll("/controls/engines/engine", "reverser", 1);setprop("/controls/flight/speedbrake", 1);setprop("/controls/gear/tailwheel-lock", 1);</script>
 </binding> <binding>
 <command>nasal</command>
 <script>
props.setAll("/controls/engines/engine", "throttle", -1);</script> </binding>
 <mod-up>
 <binding>
   <command>nasal</command>
 <script>
props.setAll("/controls/engines/engine", "reverser", 0);setprop("/controls/flight/speedbrake", 0);</script>
 </binding>   <binding> <command>property-assign</command> <property>/controls/gear/brake-left</property> <value type="double">0.0</value> </binding> <binding> <command>property-assign</command> <property>/controls/gear/brake-right</property> <value type="double">0.0</value> </binding> 
</mod-up>
</button>
User avatar
sim
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Shropshire England
Callsign: Fly4Fun
Version: 0.9.10 up
OS: 64 Win 10 HD6450

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:42 pm

Not sure about "all" the actions you quoted as I have had no need to try these but it will "release" the actions that you map from your keyboard by pressing the same button again, also it has the ability to set a delay on any button if it's required so you have to hold that button for say 50ms before it will respond, this saves accidently bringing in say reverse thrust in the air!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
Clive2670
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby sim » Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:04 pm

I agree as a bit of a fumbly myself having written off several FG planes by accidentally pressing the wrong button, that a button delay might have saved the day! :lol: There is a better way to prevent reversers activating in the air. WOW property can ensure reversers can only be activated when wheels are on the ground.
Even more devastating I recall once setting up a button script setprop(2/controls/engines/engine[1]/rpm",0); to stop Mosquito engines rpm dead in mid air. Now that really was fun! :wink:
Start the video 1:45min in to miss the boring bit.
User avatar
sim
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Shropshire England
Callsign: Fly4Fun
Version: 0.9.10 up
OS: 64 Win 10 HD6450

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Robertfm » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:26 pm

Clive2670 wrote in Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:29 pm:Hi all I have just come across a great bit of software to configure your joystick. I have been trying to configure a button for reverse thrust for the 777 by trying (ALWAYS unsuccessfully) to re-write the xml codes. STOP trying guys and download this little bit of software https://sourceforge.net/projects/antimi ... p_redirect . Start it click on any spare button on your joystick then click the highlighted box it will come up with a keyboard click on "delete" key for say reverse thrust on the 777 save the config' and hay presto all done reverse thrust now works on the key you set on your joystick!!!! Better than numerous times (and failing) of trying to re-write and bind keys in the xml codes of your joystick!!! It will save you hours if like me you really aren't too sure about coding, also if you do know how to code it saves you the hassle!!! :D :D :D :D


I came across this and I know it is a while ago. I have looked at the software and tried it out. I pressed a key and a keyboard didn't pop up. There were boxes shown as no key. Pushing on them opened a keyboard. I thought the idea was to change the key with a button but it doesn't show any assigned keys. If you are still around could you explain a little more.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
Callsign: RFM1
Version: 2020.3.11
OS: W10 v 19041.746

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby V12 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:46 am

AntiMicro is very usefull tool, I used it for actions like A/T engage/disengage, AP disable, reversers and Concorde specific Reheat engage/disengage. Worked perfectly, on Ubuntu 20.04 (still daily build) AntiMicro is in standard repositories. For older Ubuntu You must manual download and install it.
Now, in P3D I'm plaing with voice commands for basic functions like increase / decrease flaps, gear up/down etc. It will be nice to have voice command in FG...
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Robertfm » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:45 am

Thanks for the advert but you didn't explain how it works. I open it my Joystick is recognised. I press quick , then the button and then the keyboard shows. I guess at this stage I need to know the key I need to assign to the JS button and then save. Is that it. Does it have to be open when in use.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
Callsign: RFM1
Version: 2020.3.11
OS: W10 v 19041.746

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby V12 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:59 am

I'm in the office now, at evening will make some screenshots for explanation. Antimicro must run in background.

EDIT :

In very basic :
1. make buttons assignement
2. save profile
3. in the Options set Close to Tray, start in Tray, set autoload last known profile
4. add antimicro into the Start Up group for automatic start
Last edited by V12 on Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Robertfm » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:04 pm

Thanks. I got it to work on Quick set but the whole thing has disappeared now, as in the main panel. It is open but heaven knows where
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
Callsign: RFM1
Version: 2020.3.11
OS: W10 v 19041.746

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby V12 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:05 pm

I edited previous post.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby V12 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:06 pm

Are You on Win or Linux ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Robertfm » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:07 pm

Win10
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
Callsign: RFM1
Version: 2020.3.11
OS: W10 v 19041.746

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Robertfm » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:50 pm

V12 wrote in Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:06 pm:Are You on Win or Linux ?



I think is sometimes a W10 oddity even though I have a desktop short cut it wouldn't open obviously because it is open. I went to start menu and attached it to task bar now it opens.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
Callsign: RFM1
Version: 2020.3.11
OS: W10 v 19041.746

Re: Joystick Button Configaration

Postby Robertfm » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:54 pm

V12 wrote in Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:59 am:I'm in the office now, at evening will make some screenshots for explanation. Antimicro must run in background.

EDIT :

In very basic :
1. make buttons assignement
2. save profile
3. in the Options set Close to Tray, start in Tray, set autoload last known profile
4. add antimicro into the Start Up group for automatic start



When you get a moment (no urgency). perhaps you could explain that with screen shots as you suggested. Thanks.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 5:56 pm
Callsign: RFM1
Version: 2020.3.11
OS: W10 v 19041.746

Re: Joystick Button Configaration  

Postby V12 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:26 pm

OK, here is short manual for AM. Ignore please blue highlight on Axis 3 - I have zero deadzones on my joystick
1. start AntiMicro (AM), You will see window :

Image

2. press button on controller and observe blue highlighted button in AM, release button, click on previously highlighted button, You will see keyboard

Image

If You need key combination - in this case left CTRL and D, click on Advanced and select CTRL, then D, then CLOSE and CLOSE

3. in the AM main window You will see assigned controller button (in this case CTRL+D :

Image

4. from menu Options select Settings :

Image

5. Click OK
6. click on Save as, enter profile name and SAVE
7. close AM, it should be minimized to tray
8. DONE :)
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
V12
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests