Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Just a comment

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:04 am

Yes I did save it - and I can see it.
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby Gijs » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:06 am

macnab wrote in Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:07 am:Might I suggest a Support->JoystickGUI sub-forum?

I'm under the impression that the Hardware subforum is sufficient for now. There's no clear border between the Joystick GUI and other hardware related items, because the GUI cannot handle everything (yet). For that very same reason we don't have a Hardware subforum under Development, because the use and development of hardware pretty much coincide.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9380
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:13 am

@Gijs. I see your point.
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby Hooray » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:16 am

are you sure that you uploaded the right key ? Is your ssh setup working properly?
are you able to push to other repos, or is that a general problem with any of your git repos at gitorious ?
In case of doubt, add me to the project so that I can give it a try
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11345
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:33 am

are you sure that you uploaded the right key ?

I posted the contents of fgJoystickGui.pub. Git can see my country and PC name.

Is your ssh setup working properly?

Not sure how to test.

are you able to push to other repo

I don't push anywhere. I only have a shallow clone of fgdata so I can stay up to date. Otherwise this is my first attempt with git.

In case of doubt, add me to the project so that I can give it a try

Explain how. :)
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:55 am

It was the wrong SSH key. Added correct one and success!!
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 12:06 pm

@hooray Added you as collaborator with commit privilege

@Philosopher What is your user name at Gitorious so I can add you?
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby Hooray » Sat Jul 13, 2013 12:20 pm

thanks, working for me - tested by pushing a test branch: https://gitorious.org/fgjoystickgui/fgj ... mmits/test
FAQs: https://gitorious.org/about/faq

PS: to delete the test branch, just push an empty branch:

git push origin :test

We should probably update the wiki, and copy the git setup instructions there.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11345
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 12:37 pm

We should probably update the wiki, and copy the git setup instructions there

I'll do it tomorrow - while the incorrect info given by Gitorious is still in my mind. They say use your Full name, when they mean your email address. Found it in a blog.
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby Philosopher » Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:05 pm

I'm not cool enough to have a Gitorious account yet, but I'll get one in a couple days...
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:11 pm

OK.
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:55 pm

I need a bit of help getting my head (no pun intended) around Git.

Branches:
All the files are there in the one folder.
You want to work on all the files called flyXXXXX and also all the files called dogXXXX.
You create 2 branches, one called fly and the other called dog.
How do you link the specific files to the branches? After all, you edit the files outside git bash.

I need to know this before I can ask more questions. :D
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby Hooray » Sat Jul 13, 2013 4:23 pm

How do you link the specific files to the branches? After all, you edit the files outside git bash.


I am not sure I understand your "fly/dog-workflows" here, but I'd suggest not to start using branches until you understand the basic concepts, so why not use a single "master" branch for starters and just add all your stuff to different folders. Note that BRANCHES are generally about related stuff, that is either intended to be eventually merged back together, or for stuff that has a common/shared root and that start's to differ at some point.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11345
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Just a comment

Postby macnab » Sat Jul 13, 2013 4:31 pm

OK. Makes life easier.
macnab
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:20 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Callsign: ZS-ILH
Version: Git
OS: Win7Pro 64bit SP1

Re: Just a comment

Postby Philosopher » Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:07 am

Lol, like how this is more than "just a comment" :?: ;)

Anyways, I worked hard and long and now I basically have a functioning gui (basic mode); one bug that I can fix in 5 seconds and some work to do on the axis settings/behavior popup (currently doesn't do anything & needs sliders tied to properties). I'm going to experiment with Tom's FGData to see if the classes help me and if I can expand them (i.e. integrate my Combo class, add a slider), but that'll be later. I'll push what I have to Gitorious if time allows :), perhaps 18UTC tomorrow.

Edit: take that back, disn't realize we were going biking so soon, so later today (possibly, I'll quit making promises)...
Last edited by Philosopher on Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests