Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instruments

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instruments

Postby BETELGEUSE58 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 am

Hi

I am trying to set up FlightGear as follows.

I have dual monitors. In MS FSX I like to use one monitor (the smaller of two) as the instrument panel. The other larger monitor I have as the view outside the cockpit straight ahead. (IE: I have a dedicated instrument panel and do not want to span across with the outside view, or the instruments.) I do this by undocking the instrument panel and moving to another screen and then resizing and full screening in MS FSX.

I have found where to do this in Flight Gear from a bit of reading. I need to edit the preferences.xml file in \FlightGear\data

I see the code I need to put in and where in relation to the tags.

I do not know how to edit the file to do what I am looking for though. Every example I find spans across multiple monitors (with both inst and outside view). I want my instruments separate from my outside view.

If anyone has done this successfully I would greatly appreciate the code.

Having a look at the sim, I am basically after cockpit view without the instruments showing on one screen and maybe 2D cockpit showing only on the other screen. Something similar to that.

I am using Win 7 64, nVidia GTS250 and nVidia 6150.

I can connect the monitors both to the 250 or leave them on separate video cards, either way is fine if someone can help.

Any help appreciated as I like the way this sim runs (smooth) and the flight physics feel more real to me.

I haven't flown in a few years and have GFPT (Australia). I am about to go back and get my full PPL and really like using sims to reinforce procedures.

Thank you
BETELGEUSE58
BETELGEUSE58
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:53 am

Re: Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instrument

Postby ranger8 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:52 pm

did you ever find a way to do this? Thats what I want too!
ranger8
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:11 pm

Re: Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instrument

Postby Talmid » Tue May 31, 2011 5:32 pm

BUMP

Me too... :wink:
Rules are made for the guidance of the wise and the blind obedience of fools.
Talmid
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 4:14 am
Location: Gulf Plains of Texas
Version: v2.6.0.1
OS: Windoze 7 x64

Re: Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instrument

Postby Talmid » Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:03 am

This becomes ever more interesting since I purchased a 32" HDTV Monitor. So, is there multiple monitor support in FG?
Rules are made for the guidance of the wise and the blind obedience of fools.
Talmid
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 4:14 am
Location: Gulf Plains of Texas
Version: v2.6.0.1
OS: Windoze 7 x64

Re: Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instrument

Postby Talmid » Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:39 am

OK, now I'm certain that FG supports multiple monitors and views (at least in Linux/Unix). 8) This photo is from the FlightGear Newsletter May 2011. About 3/4 of the way down the page under the heading, LinuxTag 2011. Now all we need to know is how to configure multiple monitors and views for Windoze. :wink:

Wow, I am sooooo envious.

Image
Rules are made for the guidance of the wise and the blind obedience of fools.
Talmid
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 4:14 am
Location: Gulf Plains of Texas
Version: v2.6.0.1
OS: Windoze 7 x64

Re: Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instrument

Postby Gijs » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:17 am

It's pretty simple to do (though finetuning it can take a while). You do need a "strong" computer though, as it needs to render twice, thrice or even more as much...

For more info about Torsten's setup (the one in your pic), see http://wiki.flightgear.org/FSweekend_20 ... tion_files
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9381
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Dual Monitor - 1 view outside (ahead), 1 view instrument

Postby Talmid » Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:13 am

Thanks Gijs,

I get what you are saying about a strong computer. As it stands, running multiple programs along with FG (including VLC streaming video) with two monitors has been OK. I suspect I will get a little hesitation from time to time, but I'm willing to chance it.

Thanks for the links. It seems like all I do is study since I installed FG. Still, this is BIG fun. Thanks again!
Rules are made for the guidance of the wise and the blind obedience of fools.
Talmid
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 4:14 am
Location: Gulf Plains of Texas
Version: v2.6.0.1
OS: Windoze 7 x64


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests