Board index FlightGear Support Hardware

Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Joysticks, pedals, monitors.

Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby vanosten » Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:39 am

Hi

I am struggling a bit to make the correct settings for Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB with latest drivers on Windows 10 64 bit with FlightGear 2017.3. Has someone found the "correct" settings?
vanosten
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:38 pm
Location: Denmark - but I am Swiss
Callsign: HB-VANO
Version: latest
OS: Win 10 and Ubuntu

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby N1V2GU » Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:42 pm

Hello vanosten

I use a GTX 1080 on Win 10 Pro running FG 2017.3.1 without any problems. It is a stock installation of the nVidia drivers from their site. I found the WHQL ones from Microsoft to be a little old, so I changed by updating from the nVidia site directly. I just let everything default to monitor defaults and, it works fine.

Maybe you could elaborate about what it is that you are trying to achieve, or fix. :)

Regards,
N1V2GU.
N1V2GU
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Win 10 Pro

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby aTazul » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:41 am

vanosten wrote in Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:39 am:Hi

I am struggling a bit to make the correct settings for Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB with latest drivers on Windows 10 64 bit with FlightGear 2017.3. Has someone found the "correct" settings?


What you could do is simple, just disable switchable graphics (located in the bios, depending on the company that made your pc). I have an Nvidia Quadro K5100M with 2GB. Having done the above, my scenery is beautiful (if this gets edited, it'll probably be with screenshots of what I mean).
-aTazul
aTazul
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:24 pm
Location: I fly in the London area (EGLL, EGLC, EGKK...)
Callsign: AT2017, BAW999
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 7

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby Wecsje » Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:25 pm

@vanosten

Easiest way is to go to the nvidia website, and download the latest drivers for your respective card (or update them via geforce experience). I am asuming you have a custom rig, so doing the switchable graphics thing will not work (even though you may have some intel hd stuff with your mobo). If you mean by "settings" the options in FG itself, depending on how much ram you have, FG should be able to run at max settings, including LOD ranges of 150+nm (make sure your cpu can handle it aswell).

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Regards,

Charlie (Wecsje)
-retired from FG and switching to P3D or Xplane-
Contact methods: Discord (Wecsje#6351), FG Community Discord (https://discord.gg/DW23dnf), Steam (Wecsje)
Track me on VATSIM: https://vatstats.net/pilots/1397313
User avatar
Wecsje
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:13 am
Location: The Closet, Under the Stairs, the Netherlands
Callsign: WS208J
Version: Newest
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby vanosten » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:17 am

Thanks for the replies. With "settings" I meant the program specific settings in the NVIDIA Control Panel.

I created a wiki article showing what currently works for me (but might not be optimal): http://wiki.flightgear.org/Nvidia_Windows
vanosten
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:38 pm
Location: Denmark - but I am Swiss
Callsign: HB-VANO
Version: latest
OS: Win 10 and Ubuntu

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:15 pm

FWIW: i don't change anything in the NVIDIA Control Panel... i see no need to when everything works fine out of the box ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 3513
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby Hooray » Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:22 pm

FlightGear isn't particularly optimized for any specific hardware backend - as a matter of fact, it receives much/most testing on nvidia based hardware because that's the hardware whose drivers work well enough on Linux/Unix-style OS, which is what most core developers are using anyway. But in general, there is hardly any need/benefit to tailor system-level nvidia driver settings for FlightGear specifically.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 10757
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Correct Nvidia settings for FG on windows 10 64bit

Postby Timi » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:23 am

I've found there's a significant FPS boost from setting the Threaded
optimization to off in NVIDIA Control Panel for fgfs.exe.

Also enabling CPU multithreading helps and setting the LOD ranges.
--prop:/sim/rendering/multithreading-mode=AutomaticSelection \
--prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/detailed=1500 \
--prop:double:/sim/rendering/static-lod/rough=6000 \

And the standard Windows build of FlightGear seems to be slower than what you
can get by making your own "release" build with Visual Studio.

Here's my Microsoft Visual Studio 2017 build. Built with the 2017.3.1 release
sources with enrogues YASim Static Friction patch which removes the drifting on
the ground for YASim based aircraft. You could just rename your bin folder and
drop the new bin folder in it's place for testing:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/72wx8m8eextpoi1/FlightGear%202017.3.1-MSVS2017-sfriction-bin.7z?dl=0

With the settings and the MSVS2017 build above you can pretty much max out ALS
settings with very high vegetation settings at 4k resolution with NVIDIA
TITAN X and expect to get around 30 FPS with the highest possible 3D mesh
complexity in the scenery. This is without antialiasing in my case though.

This means a mesh genarated with the following option out of SRTM-1 data:
terrafit -f -j 8 -m 1 -x 202500 -e 0.5 work/SRTM-1

I have a few 4k videos to check what kind of performance to expect:




Cheers,

-Timi
Timi
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:08 am
Callsign: Jaeger
Version: 2017.3.1


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest