Board index FlightGear Development AI Traffic

Rwyuse file  Topic is solved

Intelligent, computer controlled vehicles that drive/fly over the planet!

Rwyuse file

Postby jtprophet » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:59 pm

Good morning,

I've searched the forums for this one and found multiple references but couldnt determine the right procedure for understanding where FG reads the rwyuse.xml file. Currently I have it in my Custom Scenery file same location my groundnet is and currently that file name is rwyuse.xml. Is this the right file name or should it be named KCLT.rwyuse.xml?
I guess my confusion started when I located the KLAX rwyuse file example under a totally different directory.

Thank-you.

John
jtprophet
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: Rwyuse file  

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:10 pm

Same location as groudnet and named from ICAO ie KCLT.rwyuse.xml if it sits in \K\C\L and the groudnet is KCLT.groudnet.xml

Cheers
Ian
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Win10

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby jtprophet » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:44 pm

Thank-you Ian for the clarification, and I have beer money for that Delta livery!...lol.

John
jtprophet
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:46 pm

I love bribes. Just reluctant to add a livery which won't be used, trying to keep the AI folder size under control. Let's revisit once we have a traffic update
Cheers
Ian
Last edited by Johan G on Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please, do not quote the entire post directly above your post.
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Win10

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby jtprophet » Fri Jul 17, 2020 2:38 pm

My traffic refuses to go South, they refuse to take off on the 18 runway; winds are 170@5 they go straight to 36C for takeoff, can someone clarify that I have the right file structure please?

Image
jtprophet
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby pb321 » Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:12 pm

Your placement of the rwyuse file looks correct. I have never understood exactly how the wind interacts with the rwyuse file, but it is this section of the rwyuse.xml:
Code: Select all
 <gen> <!-- General Aviation -->
    <wind tail="7"
          cross="20"/>
    <time start= "00:00"
          end  = "24:00"
          schedule = "general"/>
  </gen>

The above is just for the General Aviation section of the rwyuse. There would be another for the Com or Commercial Aviation section.

I am not sure, but the wind tail and cross parameters may indicate tolerances (in knots?). In other words, your 5 mph would be within the tolerance, so the "normal" runway assignment would be used. Outside of this "tolerance", the runway assignment would change to the next runway specified. I could be way off base here but have tried to get an answer as to how this part of the rwyuse affects the behavior and so far have not been able to. I would suggest first checking your rwyuse to see if it reads the same as above. If so, then set the wind to a stronger value, say more than 20 knots, then try again. I've never experimented myself but have seen changes in the runway used when the wind direction changes. I'd be interested in the results if you try it.
pb321
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:08 pm
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby jtprophet » Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:11 pm

Thank-you for that, I most certainly will try it. The funny thing is if you tune the Com1 radio to ATIS it reports them using the 18 runway but they still take off and land on the North end.

John
jtprophet
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby gooneybird » Fri Jul 17, 2020 8:38 pm

Can you post the contents of your rwyuse file here, it would make it easier to see what is going on.
My Github repository (mostly AI stuff) https://github.com/gooneybird47
User avatar
gooneybird
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 2:57 pm

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:11 pm

be sure to wrap it in code tags, too! ;)

eg:
Code: Select all
[code]your contents here[/code]
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9165
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 22.04

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby jtprophet » Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:15 pm

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rwyuse> <!-- Times are in UTC -->
  <com>  <!-- Commercial Traffic-->
    <wind tail="7"
          cross="20"/>
    <time start = "00:00"
          end   = "24:00"
          schedule = "day"/>
  </com>
  <gen> <!-- General Aviation -->
    <wind tail="7"
          cross="20"/>
    <time start="7:00"
          end  = "19:00"
          schedule = "outbound"/>

  </gen>
<!-- commercial schedule -->
<schedule name= "day">
  <takeoff>36C, 36R, 18C, 18L</takeoff>
  <landing>36L, 36C, 18R, 18C</landing>
</schedule>
 
</rwyuse>
jtprophet
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby gooneybird » Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:40 pm

As far as I can see that looks ok, just missing the GA schedule.
Try this one, it should give you take off on 2 runways and landing on 1.

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rwyuse> <!-- Times are in UTC -->
  <com>  <!-- Commercial Traffic-->
    <wind tail="7"
          cross="20"/>

    <time start = "00:00"
          end   = "24:00"
          schedule = "day"/>

  </com>

  <gen> <!-- General Aviation -->
    <wind tail="7"
          cross="20"/>
    <time start= "00:00"
          end  = "24:00"
          schedule = "general"/>

  </gen>
<!-- commercial schedule -->
<schedule name="day">
  <takeoff>18L, 36R, 23, 05</takeoff>
  <takeoff>18C, 36C, 23, 05</takeoff>
  <landing>18R, 36L, 23, 05</landing>
</schedule>

<!-- general schedule -->
<schedule name="general">
  <takeoff>18L, 36R, 23, 05</takeoff>
  <landing>18L, 36R, 23, 05</landing>
</schedule>

</rwyuse>


How do you change the wind direction when testing, I usually grab a METAR from here and just change the wind direction.
https://en.allmetsat.com/airports/index.html
My Github repository (mostly AI stuff) https://github.com/gooneybird47
User avatar
gooneybird
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 2:57 pm

Re: Rwyuse file

Postby jtprophet » Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:31 am

Thank-you so much I'll initiate it tonite!

John
jtprophet
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464


Return to AI Traffic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests