Board index FlightGear Development AI Traffic

Flightgear Airports

Intelligent, computer controlled vehicles that drive/fly over the planet!

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby gooneybird » Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:12 pm

I don't have a screen shot of the original but it looked like this, just an orphaned pushback hold point that should be a normal hold point
:
Image




Thanks.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby portreekid » Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:07 pm

Ok that'll be checked in 0.0.15. Takes 2 Minutes
portreekid
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Leipzig
Callsign: PORTREE
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby jtprophet » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:51 pm

Can someone please explain to me what the error means when it displays after a groundnet check the error message "no way to pushback holdpoint"?

Thank-you,

John

Image
jtprophet
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby portreekid » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:05 pm

That means there isn't a route between a parking and a pushback hold point.
portreekid
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Leipzig
Callsign: PORTREE
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:41 pm

first time user... i'm confused about what the directories should be set to... is there a basic first time use set of instructions somewhere?

i don't know where to point the Airports Directory to...

i'm not sure where to point the Flightgear Directory to...

apparently Traffic Directory and APT File are not yet used?

not sure where to point Export Directory to...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6556
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby portreekid » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:58 pm

http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGAirports

I have changed a few things, but still largely correct.

  • Airports Directory - The directory with all/most airports. Must conform to Airports/A/B/C/ABCD.groundnet.xml form. Best is a GIT clone of https://github.com/terrasync/main
  • Flightgear Directory - Flightgear directory. apt.dat and traffic is read from here during the scan.
  • Export Directory - Work in progress can be copied here for test purposes. You can set it as an additional FG Scenery directory.
portreekid
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Leipzig
Callsign: PORTREE
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:08 pm

thanks... i've set those, now... i was close with my guesses ;)

so ummm... how long does it take to Scan APT file?

ahhh... it seems that i can't point Flightgear Directory to my ~/flightgear-dev/fgdata-ng directory... the tool wants to tack "data/" onto the end of it before "Airports/apt.dat.gz" or "AI/Traffic" and that's not right, of course... hummm...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6556
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby portreekid » Thu Jul 02, 2020 5:14 am

Maybe I'll put in a "expert" mode for the sub directories tehn.
portreekid
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Leipzig
Callsign: PORTREE
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:18 pm

yeah, i don't know... the problem, in my case, is that FGData is in directory "fgdata" not directory "data"... my FG is built with the dnc script... my quick solution was to create a link from "data" to "fgdata"... perhaps the settings screen where you define these directories can render the path in red if the directory is not right and in green or black when it is good? perhaps green or black up to the point of failure and the rest being red?

eg: pointing to my ~/flightgear-dev/release/install/flightgear directory without the "data" link as shown below...
~/flightgear-dev/release/install/flightgear/data/Airports
~/flightgear-dev/release/install/flightgear/data/AI/Traffic

that tells me immediately where the path is failing... then, after adding the "data" link and restarting the appimage...
~/flightgear-dev/release/install/flightgear/data/Airports
~/flightgear-dev/release/install/flightgear/data/AI/Traffic



FWIW: this is my directory structure from my "stable" build (2020.2 IIRC)...
Code: Select all
~/flightgear-dev/release/install/flightgear$ ls -la
total 20
drwxrwxr-x  5 myuser mygroup 4096 Jul  2 10:08 .
drwxrwxr-x  4 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 19 11:57 ..
drwxrwxr-x  2 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 19 13:09 bin
lrwxrwxrwx  1 myuser mygroup    6 Jul  1 19:15 data -> fgdata
drwxrwxr-x 33 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 19 12:48 fgdata
drwxrwxr-x  7 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 19 12:03 share


this is my directory structure from my "next" build... it does not have a link from "data" to "fgdata" and it is using my ""main"" fgdata...
Code: Select all
~/flightgear-dev/next/install/flightgear$ ls -la
total 16
drwxrwxr-x  4 myuser mygroup 4096 Feb 11  2018 .
drwxrwxr-x 14 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 28  2018 ..
drwxrwxr-x  2 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 18 18:51 bin
lrwxrwxrwx  1 myuser mygroup   39 Feb 11  2018 fgdata -> /home/myuser/flightgear-dev/fgdata-ng
drwxrwxr-x  7 myuser mygroup 4096 Jun 18 18:51 share


i have to have two different FGDatas... one for next and one for the stable build... i tried to link both to my main one (fgdata-ng) but the stable build complains and refuses to use it so... i was really hoping to be able ot have only one fgdata and all my FGs would use it but alas that's not to be...

for now, i guess i'll be using my stable build for my development stuff... i do still have more questions, though... i'll post them in another topic, though...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6556
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:40 pm

"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6556
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby pb321 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:12 am

The coordinates for a parking position are those of. 1) the node on the nose side of the position icon or 2) the red circle within the icon?
Should these coordinates be the position marked on the ground closest to the terminal or the "middle" position if there are three or four markings for different aircraft sizes?
pb321
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:08 pm
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby portreekid » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:47 am

Middle. I plan to add a edit for the nosewheel position so you can just take that instead of judging. In PDFS you usually have the centre though
portreekid
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Leipzig
Callsign: PORTREE
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:01 pm

portreekid wrote in Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:47 am:Middle. I plan to add a edit for the nose wheel position so you can just take that instead of judging. In PDFS you usually have the centre though


Most AIPs PDF actually give the lat/lon of the stop bar (nose wheel)

See below SBGR INS Lat/Lon list ingested into Taxidraw showing such stop bars.
This is the driver behind my "where do I put my parkpos so that my nose wheels align" reference guide, to reconcile INS and parkpos centres coordinates

Cheers
Ian


Image
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2.12
OS: Win10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby portreekid » Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:32 pm

I added https://github.com/Portree-Kid/flightge ... /issues/42 so we can discuss the workings. My idea was to deduct the heading from center & nosewheel. With SAT imagry and the posibility to get coords you can have both points and the heading would adapt. But that means what is the rotation center if you edit the heading? -> Ticket
portreekid
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Leipzig
Callsign: PORTREE
Version: 2020.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightgear Airports

Postby jtprophet » Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:10 pm

I am having this strange behavior happen when I attempt to scan my groundnet file the scanning hangs as seen below I have to close the application to stop the process; perhaps it is a corrupt xml file. I just grabbed version .20 and i am loving this application really makes the airport come alive.

Thanks,

John

Image
jtprophet
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

PreviousNext

Return to AI Traffic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests