Board index FlightGear Support Installation Windows

Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Installing FlightGear, scenery, aircraft etc. on Windows.

Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby Rimpeltje » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:56 am

L.S,

Yesterday I installed version 2017.3.1. on my computer. I use Windows 7.
It started up with the Cessna, but there was no terrain, no airport, only sea. And three airplanes standing in the water.
What could have gone wrong?


greatings,

Rimpeltje.
Rimpeltje
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:19 pm

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:55 pm

what airport did you choose?

flightgear comes with a default airport... you have to download other scenery for other airports... to do this, flightgear provides terrasync which downloads the scenery on-the-fly as you need it... this works for most cases but some may elect to use a scenery manager and download the areas in which they fly...

so, when you start the launcher, check the settings and enable terrasync... it may take some time for your area to download so be patient...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby Rimpeltje » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:12 am

L.S,

Thanks for your reaction;
I looked at the FGviewer and there seemed to be another problem, probably the fg_root was not properly set.
So I created a new icon(shortcut) directly from fgfs( exefile), and now I have terrain and an airport, and no wet feet anymore.

Thanks for your help.

Rimpeltje.



"When you finally reach Mars, what do you hope to find?

Well I don't know, I just grew tired of the view in my own backyard".
Rimpeltje
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:19 pm

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 4:36 pm

you have terrain and an airport because the simulator is starting at the default location with the default craft... you still need terrain for other parts of the world where you expect to fly... it won't take long for you to fly right out of the default tiles and into nothingness as if The Langoliers had been around and cleaned up the past...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:54 pm

May I add wkitty42 to this thread please, I have a fast broadband connection (42Mbps) and when ever I have activated terrasync it downloads painfully slowly, I opted to use Terramaster (By Portreekid) many months ago, I am lucky to have a large amount of free disk space so I could download the world. Maybe this member might consider this option? I can see by "his" date of joining he is not "Still wet behind the ears" and is a seasoned F/G user. So maybe putting all the scenery options on the table so he can try all options? Please don't take this as critisism because it isn't. It's just I wanted to say there is more than one option when it comes to scenery downloads!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:32 pm

you don't need to ask my permission, clive :)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:45 pm

Just good courtesy seeing as you were main contributor to the post!!! Just thought it was a good idea to put other scenery download methods out there in case the member was un-aware
Last edited by bugman on Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby Rimpeltje » Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:51 am

L.S,

I managed succesfully to enable TerraSinc in the settings, and now the program is downloading scenery when needed.
Downloading is a bit slow, but I'm satisfied with the results.
In the future I can consider to use Terramaster, but for now I'm happy the program works fine.

Tanks for all your support,

Rimpeltje.
Rimpeltje
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:19 pm

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:16 pm

there is also terrasync.py which is a command line scenery management tool... i say "management" but all it does is download updated items and delete removed ones just like the built in terrasync... i think it has a capability to download a range of tiles, too... kinda like terramaster, which is graphical...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby Karl W Lehmann » Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:51 pm

I need help, installed FG 2017.3.1, I only received 2.4 GB - advised where 4,5 GB. Don't have any aircraft, only the Cessna. FCCom don't work - reports always SIMError. I can fly around with the 172 - very poor performance. Uninstalled it and renewed the setup - have the same problems?
I run W10/Home EditionX64/ NVIDIA 388.71 graphics. Has anyone an idea what I did wrong? The previous version 2016.1. didn't run either.

Karl W Lehmann
Karl W Lehmann
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:49 pm

Re: Installing Flightgear 2017.3.1

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:00 pm

FlightGear now only comes with the Cessna 172. Other aircraft must be downloaded.

I'd reccomend you clear your FlightGear cache, then reinstall. To do that go to C:/Users/USERNAME/AppData/Roaming/ and delete the folder named flightgear.org

What is your graphics card, specifically? What do you mean by poor performance?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5584
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest