Board index FlightGear Development

Blender 2.80 AC3D

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby C-FABP » Fri Sep 27, 2019 6:56 am

xDraconian wrote in Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:22 am:
Check our location, scale, and rotation values. Location should be (0,0,0) and scale/rotation should be (1.0,1.0,1.0).

Scott


All the pieces of the model have the same settings and they are as you have shown above.

I still think that it's strange that I can open the file in osgviewer and everything looks the way it should. It's just in FG that the pieces are misaligned.
C-FABP
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:43 pm
Location: Left coast of Canada
Callsign: C-FABP
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Manjaro Linux

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby Necolatis » Fri Sep 27, 2019 1:05 pm

Try to comment all animations of the needles in your model xml file. If it then looks correct, you probably have to update the animation centers.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby WoodSTokk » Fri Sep 27, 2019 1:06 pm

Can you upload the files everywhere so that i can look into it?
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.3.0
OS: Debian Buster

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby C-FABP » Sat Sep 28, 2019 1:50 am

Thanks everyone for your suggestions.

I'm not sure what was wrong, but I scrapped everything and started over and it works this time. Probably had something to do with using Blender for the first time without RTFM. :D

Now I'm off to learn how to break control things with nasal.
C-FABP
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:43 pm
Location: Left coast of Canada
Callsign: C-FABP
Version: 2019.2.0
OS: Manjaro Linux

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby Gijs » Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:03 pm

Hi guys,

Just wanted to thank you for working on this addon! I installed Blender 2.81 today (after previously using 2.79) and all seems to work fine so far :-) Well done!

Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9429
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby abassign » Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:36 am

Thank you guys! I installed AC3D-2.80 on Blender 2.8 Ubuntu 19.10 it works perfectly, I'm very happy to be able to use such a well-made drive.

A note, that has nothing to do with Blender but with Freecad.
It would be very nice to have the same drive for Freecad (also an open source program) which is also written in Python (https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Import_Export) would be very convenient.
abassign
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2018.3
OS: Linux Mint 19. x

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby dg-505 » Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:54 pm

Hi guys,

I've discovered that the export from Blender to AC3D is a bit inaccurate when the object is very detailed.
Here are two screenshots of the .blend file and the exported .ac file in AC3D.

Blender:
Image

AC3D:
Image

This edge was made with the bevel modifier in blender.

Are there any settings that I can adjust to make the exported .ac more accurate?

Thanks in advance
Jonathan
A mile of road will take you a mile, but a mile of runway will take you everywhere.

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Callsign: dg-505
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby Necolatis » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:35 pm

How big is that bevel?
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby wlbragg » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:39 pm

Or potentially something to do with "smooth" settings and blender.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby Necolatis » Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:54 pm

No, this is not to do with smooth. This is raw vertex position.

Any modifiers in use?
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby dg-505 » Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:37 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Necolatis wrote in Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:35 pm:How big is that bevel?

Image
The bevel is quite small.

Necolatis wrote in Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:54 pm:Any modifiers in use?

Nope, no active modifiers.
A mile of road will take you a mile, but a mile of runway will take you everywhere.

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Callsign: dg-505
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby Necolatis » Sun Mar 22, 2020 9:09 pm

Yeah, that is why.

Due to the output from Blender 2.79 was floats only instead of doubles, I limited the number of digits output.
Maybe 2.80 uses doubles and the digits can be increased.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby ludomotico » Sun Mar 22, 2020 9:49 pm

33 micrometers is about the diameter of a human hair, or a plant cell.

https://www.slideteam.net/media/catalog ... lide01.jpg

It is so tiny that the forum doesn't even allow me to use the symbol for micrometers in a post!

Are you sure you need a bevel of that tiny size? It is barely visible. You probably can save some vertices and enhance performance by not including that level of detail.
User avatar
ludomotico
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:01 pm
Version: git
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby xDraconian » Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:19 am

Well, he did say "very detailed" ;)
xDraconian
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:53 am
Version: Git
OS: Linux Mint

Re: Blender 2.80 AC3D

Postby dg-505 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 5:38 pm

ludomotico wrote in Sun Mar 22, 2020 9:49 pm:You probably can save some vertices and enhance performance by not including that level of detail

Well, maybe I'll do that.

Nevertheless, is there a way to increase the precision of the vertex coordinates in the exported ac file?
A mile of road will take you a mile, but a mile of runway will take you everywhere.

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Callsign: dg-505
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS

PreviousNext

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest