Board index FlightGear Development

Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Tue Jun 23, 2015 8:00 am

Hi all,

I was in the process of cloning fgdata and my modem decided to automaticaly reset after a download of 1.5Gb on a 2 megabit connection, this also gave my network a new IP address and git just hung. Is there any way to continue or do I have to delete and start over? This was going about 2 hours and most likely was nearly finished at ~30,000 objects of ~49,000. :|
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:45 am

as best as i can recall from when i had some really noisy lines, i just CTRL-C git and stopped it... then i just started it again and it went on... i don't know if it started fresh or resumed... i assume there's some sort of temporary file somewhere but haven't looked for it...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby Hooray » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:07 am

nope, git cloning cannot be interrupted and resumed currently - it is better to use the git bundle instead and download it as a torrent - you may want to ask somebody else to prepare an updated fgdata/fgaddon torrent containing a git bundle and post the URLs here
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:26 am

Thanks wkitty42, I just did the same and it seems ok. If there are any problems I'll just delete and try again tonight. I'll have to remember to update my router settings to not restart at 3am this time :|

@Hooray,
thanks for the info, the git clone indeed didn't continue, it just restarted when I entered the dir and did a pull. It's finished and it is in the process of pulling out the next release. If it has any errors I'll make the request as you mention. However, after going into the dir and pulling did seem to read the previously interupted data and continue where it left off, I was monitoring my network traffic and it wasn't active until the progress was arround the point where it was interrupted. Not sure if I should have done that but it seems to work.
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby Hooray » Tue Jun 23, 2015 11:18 am

yes, pulling does work incrementally of course
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:15 pm

Hooray wrote in Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:07 am:nope, git cloning cannot be interrupted and resumed currently - it is better to use the git bundle instead and download it as a torrent - you may want to ask somebody else to prepare an updated fgdata/fgaddon torrent containing a git bundle and post the URLs here

have the torrent bundles been recreated since the fgdata/fgaddon split? i haven't been back to look since i got them before the split and then my lines were repaired after the split so that i was able to just pull directly from the repo over my 3Meg DSL without problems... granted, fgaddon did take a huge amount of time since it is all the extra craft aside from the UFO and C172P...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby Hooray » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:37 pm

not sure about that either, but it would be a good project for someone definitely - obviously, that someone should have good bandwidth, and get a few more folks involved to ensure that the torrents remain available - i.e. FG users with a tendency to keep their boxes running for weeks... or someone with access to a Linux server would work, too obviously.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Wed Jun 24, 2015 4:01 am

I just noticed that the superbuild on windows wiki page is pointing to gitorious.org. I thought everything was moved to sourceforge.net.... After trying to pull from the master it eventualy failed so I deleted and tried again but with the SF.net instead of gitorious replacing

Code: Select all
git clone git://gitorious.org/fg/fgdata.git


with

Code: Select all
git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgdata.git


and it is at 39% right now. I am not sure if the next step will work with sf.net.

Code: Select all
git clone --recursive git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgmeta.git


is what I am hoping will work. Again you can see I replaced gitorious.org with sf.net. Should the wiki page be updated to reflect the sf.net git? Should I just request more info on the dev mailing list about the wiki instructions?
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Wed Jun 24, 2015 5:51 am

Well the following steps using sf.net instead of gitorious are woking fine, :

Code: Select all
$ git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgdata.git
Cloning into 'fgdata'...
remote: Counting objects: 49233, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (21176/21176), done.
remote: Total 49233 (delta 27544), reused 48057 (delta 26796)
Receiving objects: 100% (49233/49233), 1.41 GiB | 131.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (27544/27544), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Checking out files: 100% (11848/11848), done.


Then

Code: Select all
$ git clone --recursive git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgmeta.git
Cloning into 'fgmeta'...
remote: Counting objects: 1349, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (650/650), done.
lta 696)
Receiving objects: 100% (1349/1349), 254.47 KiB | 93.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (788/788), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule 'fgdata' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgdata) registered for path 'fgdata'
Submodule 'fgrun' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgrun) registered for path 'fgrun'
Submodule 'flightgear' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/flightgear) registered for path 'flightgear'
Submodule 'simgear' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/simgear) registered for path 'simgear'
Submodule 'windows-3rd-party' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/windows-3rd-party) registered for path 'windows-3rd-party'
Cloning into 'fgdata'...
remote: Counting objects: 49233, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (21176/21176), done.
Receiving objects:  16% (7933/49233), 13.57 MiB | 244.00 KiB/s


It is only at 16 percent but I think this will work fine. I'll follow the complete wiki build instructions replacing gitorious with the sf.net equivilent and post the progress here. I turned of the reset nightly of my modem so it shouldn't be a problem anymore.

If I am able to get a successfull build the wiki should probably be updated with new links, but thats not realy my call.
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby Hooray » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:15 am

yes, it would be greatly appreciated if you could help us update the wiki accordingly - we've been wanting to use templates for such things for all the reasons you mentioned.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Wed Jun 24, 2015 9:20 am

Hey it worked so far, onto the next step :D I see some sort of error in the 5th line, not sure what that is supose to be?? hopefully its nothing... Took about 4 hours just to get this on a 2 megabit connection. Total size on disk so far of the download is... 6.92 GB (7,437,680,640 bytes) :shock:

Before I do anything else I am going to tar and xz this to see how big the xz will be. I'll do the same for gz and zip and rar. If anyone wants me to upload these someplace I will have to wait till the weekend when I can use a faster connection at my local library. I will need to know any hosting sites for torrents. My upload speed is about 1/4 my connection speed so I won't be much help with torrents. I won't remove the maclauncher from this untill it is compressed if It can work like that.

Code: Select all
$ git clone --recursive git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgmeta.git
Cloning into 'fgmeta'...
remote: Counting objects: 1349, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (650/650), done.
lta 696)
Receiving objects: 100% (1349/1349), 254.47 KiB | 93.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (788/788), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule 'fgdata' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgdata) registered for path 'fgdata'
Submodule 'fgrun' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/fgrun) registered for path 'fgrun'
Submodule 'flightgear' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/flightgear) registered for path 'flightgear'
Submodule 'simgear' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/simgear) registered for path 'simgear'
Submodule 'windows-3rd-party' (git://git.code.sf.net/p/flightgear/windows-3rd-party) registered for path 'windows-3rd-party'
Cloning into 'fgdata'...
remote: Counting objects: 49233, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (21176/21176), done.
remote: Total 49233 (delta 27545), reused 48056 (delta 26796)
Receiving objects: 100% (49233/49233), 1.41 GiB | 201.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (27545/27545), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'fgdata': checked out '7b53516a9619f598721d7ee34d6a446367e9d9cd'
Cloning into 'fgrun'...
remote: Counting objects: 3920, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (926/926), done.
remote: Total 3920 (delta 2953), reused 3916 (delta 2951)
Receiving objects: 100% (3920/3920), 1.40 MiB | 269.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (2953/2953), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'fgrun': checked out 'a9b036105a7c519090dc8324f5a43ba89810451e'
Cloning into 'flightgear'...
remote: Counting objects: 98699, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (20321/20321), done.
remote: Total 98699 (delta 78807), reused 97691 (delta 78048)
Receiving objects: 100% (98699/98699), 34.28 MiB | 112.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (78807/78807), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'flightgear': checked out '1898a5fef8d4895c9b8e53b51083b03418c11f9d'
Cloning into 'simgear'...
remote: Counting objects: 32657, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (7126/7126), done.
remote: Total 32657 (delta 25399), reused 32372 (delta 25205)
Receiving objects: 100% (32657/32657), 9.29 MiB | 74.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (25399/25399), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'simgear': checked out 'e5995208a9e8e5b152147e1ec22d5a5ea45fbfd0'
Cloning into 'windows-3rd-party'...
remote: Counting objects: 15596, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (10489/10489), done.
remote: Total 15596 (delta 5038), reused 15497 (delta 4975)
Receiving objects: 100% (15596/15596), 117.97 MiB | 175.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (5038/5038), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Submodule path 'windows-3rd-party': checked out '522b07550b3170047e3a10f2b8e5e6d9910ca931'
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Wed Jun 24, 2015 2:40 pm

Since this topic is regarding an error I had with my modem reset I asked a moderator if I should create a new topic for the build process. The answer was yes so I will create a new topic and come back to point to it after it is created. I just don't know If I should post under Compiling in Support, or just make a new topic under this Development heading?
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby japreja » Wed Jun 24, 2015 4:01 pm

Well it seems that following the instructions for windows and VS2013 fails when the CMake script tries to find the windows dependancies which were downloaded with fgmeta. I also noticed that during download of fgmeta, it too downloads fgdata. I don't know if the two fgdata directories are the same, but it looks like it.

I am reverting to msys and gcc, personaly, which involves a whole different process. Aparently mingw32 and msys do not include the same files they once used to, for instance git and I have to set paths to certain files on my system which will differ on other systems. Since I have to do all these extra steps I am building a non-i686 -march and -mcpu so I won't be of much help with VS build versions.

If that fails then I guess I will wait for the next release. Too many cooks spoil the candy :/ so I am bowing out of this process.
japreja
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: MT, USA
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Re: Modem reset during git clone of fgdata

Postby Hooray » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:14 pm

regarding mingw, there is still some work to be done - for details, see: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Building_Fli ... _Compiling
(work in progress)
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am


Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests