Board index FlightGear Development

Entangled in Git and Gitorious  Topic is solved

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Necolatis » Mon Dec 02, 2013 11:20 pm

Code: Select all
Nikolai@NIKOLAI-HP /g/Games/FG/Git/fgdata (master)
$ git fetch origin master
remote: Counting objects: 20158, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (9833/9833), done.
rRemote: Total 16632 (delta 7646), reused 14056 (delta 6098)eceiving objects:  98% (16300/16632), 979.79 MiB | 1.96 MiB/

Receiving objects: 100% (16632/16632), 980.93 MiB | 1.89 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (7646/7646), completed with 1760 local objects.
From gitorious.org:fg/fgdata
 * branch            master     -> FETCH_HEAD

Nikolai@NIKOLAI-HP /g/Games/FG/Git/fgdata (master)
$ git checkout origin/master
error: pathspec 'origin/master' did not match any file(s) known to git.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Philosopher » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:17 am

Shoot, I guess I'm just used to git pull magic. Sorry :oops:.

For lack of testing on my end, I'm going have to leave off here... but git checkout FETCH_HEAD might work...
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Hooray » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:18 am

git checkout master
git reset --hard origin/master
git pull origin master
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11569
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Philosopher » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:25 am

Yeah, but he doesn't have a origin/master, which is normally something taken care of by git pull? That's how remotes are handled: I can checkout a "disconnected head" branch (that is my computer's knowledge of what a remote branch looks like, e.g. origin/master), but I don't know how to get to that representation for Necolatis.
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious  

Postby Hooray » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:29 am

this can all be fixed/resolved, the main problem is that we're responding when he's not around and vice versa - or I would not have missed the missing origin/master thing.
he can add a new origin via "git add remote origin URL" and then fetch things, I don't know if there are other problems - but so far this is NOT a difficult git problem at all.

git remote set-url origin git@gitorious.org:fg/fgdata.git

google: how to change origin of git repo
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11569
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Necolatis » Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:16 am

Hooray wrote in Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:29 am:this can all be fixed/resolved, the main problem is that we're responding when he's not around and vice versa


I am sorry about that, has been caught up the last hours with doing sound work on aircraft, forgot to check forums.

Code: Select all
Nikolai@NIKOLAI-HP /g/Games/FG/Git/fgdata (master)
$ git remote set-url origin git@gitorious.org:fg/fgdata.git

Nikolai@NIKOLAI-HP /g/Games/FG/Git/fgdata (master)
$ git checkout master
Already on 'master'

Nikolai@NIKOLAI-HP /g/Games/FG/Git/fgdata (master)
$ git reset --hard origin/master
fatal: ambiguous argument 'origin/master': unknown revision or path not in the working tree.
Use '--' to separate paths from revisions, like this:
'git <command> [<revision>...] -- [<file>...]'
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Necolatis » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:33 am

Okay, I managed to create patch files for all my commits.

I then started from fresh following the wiki procedure step by step.

However the first thing that pops up is:

Code: Select all
$ git status
# On branch master
# Changes not staged for commit:
#   (use "git add <file>..." to update what will be committed)
#   (use "git checkout -- <file>..." to discard changes in working directory)
#
#       modified:   Aircraft/ju52/Models/Liveries/D-AQuI.xml
#
#
# It took 2.35 seconds to enumerate untracked files. 'status -uno'
# may speed it up, but you have to be careful not to forget to add
# new files yourself (see 'git help status').
no changes added to commit (use "git add" and/or "git commit -a")



I think that's probably a bug and revert the change.

However it is still changed, only now the file is in lowercase.

I revert changes again, and now the file is changed again, but spelled as above.

It just keep switching case when I revert it.

What does this mean, and how do I get rid of this problem?
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Gijs » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:14 am

That's not your fault. This happens whenever someone on a case sensitive system forgets that there are people on case insensitive systems :evil:
I just removed the affected duplicated file from Git, so please pull again.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9401
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Necolatis » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:28 pm

Works, thank you.


Does this come from commiting a renamed file? (then I will try to avoid doing that)
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Gijs » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:32 pm

To rename files, it's best to run "git mv oldfilename newfilename". That will ensure the file is not only moved on your local system, but also in Git.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9401
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Entangled in Git and Gitorious

Postby Necolatis » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:37 pm

Alright.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Previous

Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot] and 1 guest