Board index FlightGear Development

running own aircraft

FlightGear is opensource, so you can be the developer. In the need for help on anything? We are here to help you.
Forum rules
Core development is discussed on the official FlightGear-Devel development mailing list.

Bugs can be reported in the bug tracker.

running own aircraft

Postby tmy1986 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:19 pm

Hi all.
I am trying to create a jet and air balloon model to run in flightgear.
So far I have done both ac3d models and put that in the different Aircraft/Models file.
And the aircraft.xml and engine.xml had already created by jsbsim.
I create a set.xml but it is not working when I run it in flightgear.
Since "Could not open thruster file:direct.xml"

Can someone please give me some ideas how to modify this issue?
Is there a easy way to modifty the set.xml file?
Last edited by tmy1986 on Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
tmy1986
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: running own aircraft

Postby tmy1986 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:01 pm

Here is my balloon set.xml file
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<PropertyList>
<sim>

<description>balloon</description>

<flight-model>jsb</flight-model>
<aero>balloon</aero>

<model>
<path>Aircraft/balloon/Models/balloon.ac</path>
</model>

</sim>
</PropertyList>
tmy1986
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: running own aircraft

Postby Hooray » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:01 pm

hi & welcome!

tmy1986 wrote:Is there a easy way to modifty the set.xml file?


XML files are just plain text files, they can be opened and edited in any text editor - you'll probably want to use a dedicated XML editor, though.
The aircraft-set.xml file is a conventional PropertyList/XML file: http://wiki.flightgear.org/PropertyList_XML_File

Otherwise, it's trivial to change/augment these files, see the following links for details: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Aircraft-set.xml


There's also a dedicated aircraft developer portal at: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Portal:Developer/Aircraft
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11375
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: running own aircraft

Postby tmy1986 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:15 pm

I had read though the wiki and still not figured that out my mistake (I am really not good at programming):(
Is there a minimum way to run that jsb model?
Or please correct my mistake on the code:(
tmy1986
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: running own aircraft

Postby Gijs » Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:14 pm

Hi,

A turbine engine needs a "direct" thruster, in the form of a Engines/direct.xml file, instead of a propeller. Take a look at any JSBSim airliner (eg 747-400) for an example.

This is explained at http://wiki.flightgear.org/JSBSim_Thrusters#FGDirect (scroll up to see a table of matching engines and thrusters).

Cheers,
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9384
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: running own aircraft

Postby tmy1986 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:11 pm

Thanks for help. It can run in simulation now.
But what should I do next to make it fly?
tmy1986
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: running own aircraft

Postby Hooray » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:13 pm

please see the links I posted, and spend some time reading the various docs. :D
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11375
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: running own aircraft

Postby tmy1986 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:09 pm

Can you please give me some hints on it?:(
As I read through the links you posted and I want to try a simple way to fly an own aircraft but it is still too hard for a beginner I reckon.:(
I did add a autopilot system in set.xml but it is still not flying when I pressed S or 9. Can you please tell me which section it control the aircraft flying?
tmy1986
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: running own aircraft

Postby hvengel » Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:46 pm

Probably the easiest way to get this going is to find another JSBSim aircraft that is similar to yours and look at how it is setup. Even easier would be to copy that models configuration and then start making modifications to suit your aircraft. JSBSim can be complex depending on how advanced your aircraft is but using the copy and modify approach will allow you to get started and give you a platform to learn new stuff as you make modifications to the configuration.
hvengel
Retired
 
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:35 am
Location: Minden Nevada


Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest